Carissa's Wierd
Songs About Leaving


4.5
superb

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (90 Reviews)
April 19th, 2014 | 223 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ugly but Honest

Carissa's Wierd is a depressing band, like really depressing. The short lived,but extremely influential band's formidable blend of minor key guitar arpeggios, softly played stacatto piano, subtle violin parts, and complimenting male and female vocals manage to create a somber, melancholy atmosphere that is almost unparalleled. Songs About Leaving almost feels like a distant, fleeting memory played out over twelve beautifully crafted songs. Every track feels like a piece belonging to a larger puzzle, with strong feelings of regret, loss, rumination, and depression interweaving each track. From the opener "You Should Be Hated Here's" painfully slow tempo that barely manages to climb to a mid tempo during its climax, to "Ignorant Piece of shit's" infectious guitar parts, and reserved, yet powerful drums, Carissa's Wierd showcase their ability to make you feel like shit even when their music is catchy and infectious beyond belief. Carissa's Wierd's music is a perfect metaphor for depression: it brings you down, it makes time seem slower, it's unsettling, it's isolating, and when you're already knee deep in it, you wouldn't have it any other way.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
user ratings (216)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Axel (4.5)
Heaven's a distance, not a place....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 18th 2014


50500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been on a Carissa's Wierd kick lately

Choice cuts:

Farewell to All These Rotten Teeth:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1tSK_nk-pw&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Ignorant Piece of Shit:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sdl6V5otgoY&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Cygnatti
April 18th 2014


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

superhero is fucking goat

Funeralopolis
April 18th 2014


11545 Comments


great review for being so short. Got the message across. Catchy, atmospheric and depressing sounds like a good combination.

Digging: Pyrrhon - The Mother of Virtues

LordePots
April 18th 2014


7402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring

Digging: ODESZA - In Return

Avagantamos
April 18th 2014


2196 Comments


short, just like my attention span for reading reviews

Digging: Autechre - Move Of Ten

YakNips
April 18th 2014


11911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Kind of lame taking an album title from the band as the summary. Nice plugging Farewell To All Those Rotten Teeth though. My fave song here.

Digging: Makara - Discography

SnakeDelilah
April 18th 2014


7850 Comments


wah waaaaaah

Digging: Sun Kil Moon - Benji

Green Baron
April 18th 2014


20000 Comments


damn, I thought Treb would pour his heart out into this one

but five sentences shall suffice

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, that is all.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

LordePots
April 18th 2014


7402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its pretty underwhelming

TheNexus100
April 18th 2014


2542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nope

Digging: Nothing - Guilty of Everything

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds great to these ears

LordePots
April 18th 2014


7402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope


maybe you missed the part where opinion

sixdegrees
April 18th 2014


17189 Comments


its pretty

Digging: yasumiyasumi - Tokyo Digital Love

YakNips
April 18th 2014


11911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

very

Rowan5215
April 18th 2014


27199 Comments


First listen, Farewell to All these Rotten Teeth is my fave

Digging: Vestascension - Breaching the Sound

Iamthe Nightstars
April 19th 2014


2281 Comments


Yeah, I could never really get into this album either, LordPots. I always thought 'You Should Be at Home Here' was better.

LordePots
April 19th 2014


7402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked that one a bit better as well

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2014


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit I could have 83 reviews too if they were all this length

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

LordePots
April 19th 2014


7402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

stick to your current length, sput doesn't need more 3 scentence reviews that say "this weird, like really weird, depressing band makes me feel like shit"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy