Carissa's Wierd
Songs About Leaving


4.5
superb

Review

by Robert Lowe STAFF
April 19th, 2014 | 569 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ugly but Honest

Carissa's Wierd is a depressing band, like really depressing. The short lived,but extremely influential band's formidable blend of minor key guitar arpeggios, softly played stacatto piano, subtle violin parts, and complimenting male and female vocals manage to create a somber, melancholy atmosphere that is almost unparalleled. Songs About Leaving almost feels like a distant, fleeting memory played out over twelve beautifully crafted songs. Every track feels like a piece belonging to a larger puzzle, with strong feelings of regret, loss, rumination, and depression interweaving each track. From the opener "You Should Be Hated Here's" painfully slow tempo that barely manages to climb to a mid tempo during its climax, to "Ignorant Piece of shit's" infectious guitar parts, and reserved, yet powerful drums, Carissa's Wierd showcase their ability to make you feel like shit even when their music is catchy and infectious beyond belief. Carissa's Wierd's music is a perfect metaphor for depression: it brings you down, it makes time seem slower, it's unsettling, it's isolating, and when you're already knee deep in it, you wouldn't have it any other way.



Recent reviews by this author
Boris DearCaptain, We're Sinking The King of No Man
bansheebeat Techo DeluxeSorority Noise You're Not As ____ As You Think
Darkest Hour Godless Prophets and The Migrant FloraThe Menzingers After the Party
user ratings (324)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Axel (4.5)
Heaven's a distance, not a place....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2014


55043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been on a Carissa's Wierd kick lately



Choice cuts:



Farewell to All These Rotten Teeth:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1tSK_nk-pw&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08



Ignorant Piece of Shit:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sdl6V5otgoY&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Digging: Uchu Conbini - Feel the Dying Note

Cygnatti
April 18th 2014


31670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

superhero is fucking goat

Funeralopolis
April 18th 2014


14044 Comments


great review for being so short. Got the message across. Catchy, atmospheric and depressing sounds like a good combination.

Digging: Azarath - Diabolic Impious Evil

LordePots
April 18th 2014


37300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring

Digging: Hikrahe - Fear of the Drum and the Red Robe Son

Avagantamos
April 18th 2014


5765 Comments


short, just like my attention span for reading reviews

Digging: Edan - Beauty and the Beat

YakNips
April 18th 2014


18931 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Kind of lame taking an album title from the band as the summary. Nice plugging Farewell To All Those Rotten Teeth though. My fave song here.

SnakeDelilah
April 18th 2014


19390 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wah waaaaaah

Green Baron
April 18th 2014


23460 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn, I thought Treb would pour his heart out into this one



but five sentences shall suffice

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, that is all.

LordePots
April 18th 2014


37300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its pretty underwhelming

TheNexus100
April 18th 2014


2696 Comments


nope

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds great to these ears

LordePots
April 18th 2014


37300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope




maybe you missed the part where opinion

sixdegrees
April 18th 2014


23938 Comments


its pretty

YakNips
April 18th 2014


18931 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

very

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2014


38811 Comments


First listen, Farewell to All these Rotten Teeth is my fave

Digging: Tyler, the Creator - Flower Boy

Iamthe Nightstars
April 19th 2014


2656 Comments


Yeah, I could never really get into this album either, LordPots. I always thought 'You Should Be at Home Here' was better.

LordePots
April 19th 2014


37300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked that one a bit better as well

Aids
April 19th 2014


24407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit I could have 83 reviews too if they were all this length

LordePots
April 19th 2014


37300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

stick to your current length, sput doesn't need more 3 scentence reviews that say "this weird, like really weird, depressing band makes me feel like shit"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy