Carissa's Wierd
Songs About Leaving


4.5
superb

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (109 Reviews)
April 19th, 2014 | 513 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ugly but Honest

Carissa's Wierd is a depressing band, like really depressing. The short lived,but extremely influential band's formidable blend of minor key guitar arpeggios, softly played stacatto piano, subtle violin parts, and complimenting male and female vocals manage to create a somber, melancholy atmosphere that is almost unparalleled. Songs About Leaving almost feels like a distant, fleeting memory played out over twelve beautifully crafted songs. Every track feels like a piece belonging to a larger puzzle, with strong feelings of regret, loss, rumination, and depression interweaving each track. From the opener "You Should Be Hated Here's" painfully slow tempo that barely manages to climb to a mid tempo during its climax, to "Ignorant Piece of shit's" infectious guitar parts, and reserved, yet powerful drums, Carissa's Wierd showcase their ability to make you feel like shit even when their music is catchy and infectious beyond belief. Carissa's Wierd's music is a perfect metaphor for depression: it brings you down, it makes time seem slower, it's unsettling, it's isolating, and when you're already knee deep in it, you wouldn't have it any other way.



Recent reviews by this author
AFI AFI (The Blood Album)Tegan and Sara Love You to Death
Burial Young Death/NightmarketSomewhere South of Here With Her Came the Birds
You Blew It! AbendrotHotel Books Run Wild, Stay Alive
user ratings (303)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Axel (4.5)
Heaven's a distance, not a place....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 18th 2014


54343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been on a Carissa's Wierd kick lately



Choice cuts:



Farewell to All These Rotten Teeth:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1tSK_nk-pw&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08



Ignorant Piece of Shit:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sdl6V5otgoY&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Digging: Injury Reserve - Floss

Cygnatti
April 18th 2014


30808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

superhero is fucking goat

Digging: The Electric Eels - God Says Fuck You

Funeralopolis
April 18th 2014


13962 Comments


great review for being so short. Got the message across. Catchy, atmospheric and depressing sounds like a good combination.

Digging: Teitanblood - Death

LordePots
April 18th 2014


35767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring

Digging: Les Sins - Michael

Avagantamos
April 18th 2014


5447 Comments


short, just like my attention span for reading reviews

Digging: DJ Screw - Bigtyme Recordz Vol. II: All Screwed Up

YakNips
April 18th 2014


18841 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Kind of lame taking an album title from the band as the summary. Nice plugging Farewell To All Those Rotten Teeth though. My fave song here.

SnakeDelilah
April 18th 2014


17847 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wah waaaaaah

Green Baron
April 18th 2014


22875 Comments


damn, I thought Treb would pour his heart out into this one

but five sentences shall suffice

Digging: Penfold - Amateurs and Professionals

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, that is all.

LordePots
April 18th 2014


35767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its pretty underwhelming

TheNexus100
April 18th 2014


2696 Comments


nope

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds great to these ears

LordePots
April 18th 2014


35767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope




maybe you missed the part where opinion

sixdegrees
April 18th 2014


22575 Comments


its pretty

YakNips
April 18th 2014


18841 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

very

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 18th 2014


37726 Comments


First listen, Farewell to All these Rotten Teeth is my fave

Digging: Nine Inch Nails - Not The Actual Events

Iamthe Nightstars
April 19th 2014


2634 Comments


Yeah, I could never really get into this album either, LordPots. I always thought 'You Should Be at Home Here' was better.

LordePots
April 19th 2014


35767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked that one a bit better as well

Aids
April 19th 2014


24347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit I could have 83 reviews too if they were all this length

LordePots
April 19th 2014


35767 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

stick to your current length, sput doesn't need more 3 scentence reviews that say "this weird, like really weird, depressing band makes me feel like shit"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy