Carissa's Wierd
Songs About Leaving


4.5
superb

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (88 Reviews)
April 19th, 2014 | 184 replies | 4,496 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ugly but Honest

Carissa's Wierd is a depressing band, like really depressing. The short lived,but extremely influential band's formidable blend of minor key guitar arpeggios, softly played stacatto piano, subtle violin parts, and complimenting male and female vocals manage to create a somber, melancholy atmosphere that is almost unparalleled. Songs About Leaving almost feels like a distant, fleeting memory played out over twelve beautifully crafted songs. Every track feels like a piece belonging to a larger puzzle, with strong feelings of regret, loss, rumination, and depression interweaving each track. From the opener "You Should Be Hated Here's" painfully slow tempo that barely manages to climb to a mid tempo during its climax, to "Ignorant Piece of shit's" infectious guitar parts, and reserved, yet powerful drums, Carissa's Wierd showcase their ability to make you feel like shit even when their music is catchy and infectious beyond belief. Carissa's Wierd's music is a perfect metaphor for depression: it brings you down, it makes time seem slower, it's unsettling, it's isolating, and when you're already knee deep in it, you wouldn't have it any other way.



Recent reviews by this author
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
Banner Pilot SouvenirAge Sixteen Open Up Finders, Please
user ratings (206)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Axel (4.5)
Heaven's a distance, not a place....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 18th 2014



49980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been on a Carissa's Wierd kick lately

Choice cuts:

Farewell to All These Rotten Teeth:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1tSK_nk-pw&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Ignorant Piece of Shit:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sdl6V5otgoY&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Digging: Armchairpolitician - Seven Segment Decoder

Cygnatti
April 18th 2014



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

superhero is fucking goat

Funeralopolis
April 18th 2014



11168 Comments


great review for being so short. Got the message across. Catchy, atmospheric and depressing sounds like a good combination.

Digging: Reks - R.E.K.S. (Rhythmatic Eternal King Supreme)

LordePots
April 18th 2014



6526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring

Avagantamos
April 18th 2014



1826 Comments


short, just like my attention span for reading reviews

YakNips
April 18th 2014



9191 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Kind of lame taking an album title from the band as the summary. Nice plugging Farewell To All Those Rotten Teeth though. My fave song here.

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Just Got Back from the Discomfort

SnakeDelilah
April 18th 2014



6458 Comments


wah waaaaaah

Digging: The Front Bottoms - The Front Bottoms

Fluttertrank
April 18th 2014



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well. its to the point at least.

Green Baron
April 18th 2014



19176 Comments


damn, I thought Treb would pour his heart out into this one

but five sentences shall suffice

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

Wadlez
April 18th 2014



3868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, that is all.

LordePots
April 18th 2014



6526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its pretty underwhelming

TheNexus100
April 18th 2014



2515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nope

Wadlez
April 18th 2014



3868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds great to these ears

LordePots
April 18th 2014



6526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope


maybe you missed the part where opinion

sixdegrees
April 18th 2014



16907 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its pretty

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

YakNips
April 18th 2014



9191 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

very

Rowan5215
April 18th 2014



25186 Comments


First listen, Farewell to All these Rotten Teeth is my fave

Digging: Shihad - FVEY

Iamthe Nightstars
April 19th 2014



2220 Comments


Yeah, I could never really get into this album either, LordPots. I always thought 'You Should Be at Home Here' was better.

LordePots
April 19th 2014



6526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked that one a bit better as well

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2014



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit I could have 83 reviews too if they were all this length



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy