Carissa's Wierd
Songs About Leaving


4.5
superb

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (101 Reviews)
April 19th, 2014 | 310 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ugly but Honest

Carissa's Wierd is a depressing band, like really depressing. The short lived,but extremely influential band's formidable blend of minor key guitar arpeggios, softly played stacatto piano, subtle violin parts, and complimenting male and female vocals manage to create a somber, melancholy atmosphere that is almost unparalleled. Songs About Leaving almost feels like a distant, fleeting memory played out over twelve beautifully crafted songs. Every track feels like a piece belonging to a larger puzzle, with strong feelings of regret, loss, rumination, and depression interweaving each track. From the opener "You Should Be Hated Here's" painfully slow tempo that barely manages to climb to a mid tempo during its climax, to "Ignorant Piece of shit's" infectious guitar parts, and reserved, yet powerful drums, Carissa's Wierd showcase their ability to make you feel like shit even when their music is catchy and infectious beyond belief. Carissa's Wierd's music is a perfect metaphor for depression: it brings you down, it makes time seem slower, it's unsettling, it's isolating, and when you're already knee deep in it, you wouldn't have it any other way.



Recent reviews by this author
Defeater AbandonedMain Attrakionz 808s and Dark Grapes III
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) What It Takes to Move ForwardFrom First to Last Dead Trees
Dance Gavin Dance Instant GratificationTitle Fight Hyperview
user ratings (246)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Axel (4.5)
Heaven's a distance, not a place....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 18th 2014


51585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been on a Carissa's Wierd kick lately



Choice cuts:



Farewell to All These Rotten Teeth:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1tSK_nk-pw&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08



Ignorant Piece of Shit:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sdl6V5otgoY&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Cygnatti
April 18th 2014


26498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

superhero is fucking goat

Digging: Elysia Crampton - American Drift

Funeralopolis
April 18th 2014


12894 Comments


great review for being so short. Got the message across. Catchy, atmospheric and depressing sounds like a good combination.

Digging: Sugary Sweet Machines - Deformity Disco

LordePots
April 18th 2014


18175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring

Digging: Little Simz - Age 101: Drop 4

Avagantamos
April 18th 2014


3588 Comments


short, just like my attention span for reading reviews

Digging: UGK - Ridin' Dirty

YakNips
April 18th 2014


17196 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Kind of lame taking an album title from the band as the summary. Nice plugging Farewell To All Those Rotten Teeth though. My fave song here.

Digging: Helen - The Original Faces

SnakeDelilah
April 18th 2014


12575 Comments


wah waaaaaah

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Abyss

Green Baron
April 18th 2014


21878 Comments


damn, I thought Treb would pour his heart out into this one

but five sentences shall suffice

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, that is all.

LordePots
April 18th 2014


18175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its pretty underwhelming

TheNexus100
April 18th 2014


2696 Comments


nope

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds great to these ears

LordePots
April 18th 2014


18175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope




maybe you missed the part where opinion

sixdegrees
April 18th 2014


19103 Comments


its pretty

Digging: Remove the Last.fm Beta Website Design - Remove the Last.fm Beta Website Design

YakNips
April 18th 2014


17196 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

very

Rowan5215
April 18th 2014


31016 Comments


First listen, Farewell to All these Rotten Teeth is my fave

Iamthe Nightstars
April 19th 2014


2464 Comments


Yeah, I could never really get into this album either, LordPots. I always thought 'You Should Be at Home Here' was better.

LordePots
April 19th 2014


18175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked that one a bit better as well

Aids
April 19th 2014


24184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit I could have 83 reviews too if they were all this length

LordePots
April 19th 2014


18175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

stick to your current length, sput doesn't need more 3 scentence reviews that say "this weird, like really weird, depressing band makes me feel like shit"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy