The Menzingers
Rented World


3.5
great

Review

by Caleb C. USER (26 Reviews)
April 15th, 2014 | 41 replies | 2,852 views


Release Date: 04/22/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Can’t shake the impossible past.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

When Rented World kicks off with the bluntly titled “I Don’t Wanna Be An Asshole Anymore”, it harkens sharply to The Menzingers more hammer-to-head portions of their prior record On the Impossible Past. The “Obituaries” chorus of “I will fuck this up, I fucking know it” rings closest to the tracks namesake yelp but beyond Greg Barnett’s unabashedly honest lyrics, a sense of ‘now’-ness separates the two songs. Where On the Impossible Past operated through a nostalgic lens, Rented World throws you head first into the present. First single “In Remission” grooves atop a slyly simplistic riff while “spitting dinner” in life’s face and it’s obviously a right now problem with right now implications. It’s not hidden behind warm fondness for time gone by but rather cold cynicism for current predicaments. The drums pound and the guitars crash in the all-too-typical punk fashion but this time they don’t linger beyond the present.

Apparently 2014 is year for simplifying and ‘reigning in’ in alternative rock. No one wants to make the sprawling epic anymore and rocking out has increasingly become a striving point. The Menzingers got the memo and, as such, Rented World sheds the frills, the refinement, the deftness, and leaves us with only the essentials of their winning formula. “The Talk” pounds with early Green Day tenacity and “Transient Love” is led by an uncomplicated yet catchy rhythm section unhindered by layered instrumentation or emotion beyond the vocals. And it’s thanks to the sincerity of the hooks, albeit in riff or voice, which keep the album only just on the right side of the line separating callous underdevelopment and simplistic beauty. It’s entirely an exercise in immediacy. “Never again will I let anyone close to me” Barnett shouts in “Rodent” and it’s clear this extends to his band’s most recent outing. Rented World sees The Menzingers holding the listener at arm’s length, keeping us from being anything more than a bystander to a story rather than right there with them. And sometimes just telling it ‘like it is’ is ok.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park The Hunting PartyMongol Horde Mongol Horde
Atmosphere SouthsidersManchester Orchestra Cope
Linkin Park Hybrid TheoryWoodsman Woodsman
user ratings (165)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Channing Freeman STAFF (4.5)
The all too possible future....


Comments:Add a Comment 
iswimfast
April 14th 2014



1262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stream: http://www.spin.com/articles/the-menzingers-rented-world-album-stream

had this sitting, waiting. am i cool enough to do the short review thing or...?

SeaAnemone
April 14th 2014



19755 Comments


this has some high points but overall it's nowhere near OTIP and a little below CW
I'm so glad "Asshole" is the first track because it's much easier to skip that way

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

iswimfast
April 14th 2014



1262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea i'd definitely put it below those two.

although id put asshole on the top half of the album's songs.

SeaAnemone
April 14th 2014



19755 Comments


a bunch of good tracks, but In Remission is the only one that holds a candle to the best in their discog

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014



49802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

iswimfast
April 14th 2014



1262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yep

Satellite
April 14th 2014



20687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

asshole is a great song sea you... jerk.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels

iswimfast
April 15th 2014



1262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i kinda like rodent too. do we like rodent?

SeaAnemone
April 15th 2014



19755 Comments


asshole is a great song sea you... jerk.


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/image.php?u=422548&dateline=1397535407

weedblunt
April 15th 2014



556 Comments


"I think human consciousness, is a tragic misstep in evolution. We became too self-aware, nature created an aspect of nature separate from itself, we are creatures that should not exist by natural law. We are things that labor under the illusion of having a self; an accretion of sensory, experience and feeling, programmed with total assurance that we are each somebody, when in fact everybody is nobody. Maybe the honorable thing for our species to do is deny our programming, stop reproducing, walk hand in hand into extinction, one last midnight - brothers and sisters opting out of a raw deal."

iswimfast
April 15th 2014



1262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

umm

weedblunt
April 15th 2014



556 Comments


rust cohle

ConsumerOfNut
April 15th 2014



135 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like that you said "callous underdevelopment". Love this record because I'm a fanboy but underdeveloped is exactly what I'd call it. So much wasted potential with songs like Nothing Feels Good Anymore and Transient Love.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 15th 2014



12091 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bedt this rules

Digging: Secret Band - S/T

porch
April 15th 2014



8452 Comments


terrible band

iswimfast
April 15th 2014



1262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the whole thing kinda feels empty, i guess.

JWT155
April 15th 2014



9205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fun record but lacks the depth and emotion of On The Impossible Past, but overall a more consistent record.

dimsim3478
April 15th 2014



4744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm so glad "Asshole" is the first track because it's much easier to skip that way

One of my favourites, honestly.

Anyway, I was considering bumping this down because of all the really straight-forward punkier tracks like "My Friend Kyle" and "The Talk". My favourite tracks on this are conversely the ones with a lot of expansion and growth to them--"In Remission" and "Bad Things" being two of them--but that punk rock simplicity on the other songs is still enjoyable (for me, at least, they're very enjoyable). Having said that, what will probably bug people about Rented World is definitely the lack of depth and expansion; the band takes an extremely simplistic approach to many of the songs on this record, and while it's still a successful record and I'm glad that it happened, On the Impossible Past and even Chamberlain Waits had more fully-realized type tracks that kind of "moved you" emotionally instead of just dishing out short punk blasters that merely come and go; by the time you got to the last tracks of either of the band's last two records you kind of felt like the album actually took you somewhere. On the Impossible Past was also really dynamic and varied with songs of all these different pacings and densities, but Rented World feels quite a bit more steady. Rented World is held together well enough sonically but it doesn't flow from one end to the other as well as the rest of The Menzingers' stuff; it just feels like a bunch of cool songs. Still excellent, though.

Wil Wagner also reviewed this album, for all you fans of The Smith Street Band: http://www.tonedeaf.com.au/features/editorial/398142/smith-street-bands-wil-wagner-reviews-the-menzingers-new-album.htm

Digging: My Psychoanalyst - Choreomania

iswimfast
April 15th 2014



1262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

spot on.

SonofSnow
April 15th 2014



677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dimsim give us a review baby.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy