Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada


5.0
classic

Review

by PUSHpin USER (1 Reviews)
April 12th, 2014 | 34 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sand music.

It's kind of like a chain on a ceiling fan ticking slowly in the waiting room of a doctor's office, while you nervously await the flash of that white coat. That "1...2...1...2..." you trick your brain into designing a melody to, despite how you clearly know your simply your own novocaine, numbing your anticipation while you can. Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada contains that quality. The delicate anticipation that comes with the inevitable ugliness or fear that is soon to come. The cacophony of creaking fiddles and delay pedals makes sounds similar to that of a terrifying discovery in the attic, that you somehow needed to find. The guitars creek out chirping bright tones to bring you back in from the lucidity with which you've been draped.

The music, while technically remedial, offers such a lurid image that is only apexed by the beautiful incoherence brought on by the crux of 'Blaise Bailey Finnegan III'. It truly feels as if it's guiding you along through the darkest part of town; meandering about aimlessly and picking up the most interesting oddities as you glide about. You can hear the liquor on the breath of the pseudo-intellectual poem sputtered out in the beginning of track 2. Virtually all aspects of this record are carefully mixed in such a way that each one bleeds into one another, and no instruments/voices stand out above the rest. This record feels like that day that you have no reason to remember, but can't seem to forget.


user ratings (1608)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
sixdegrees
April 11th 2014


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cool

fromtheinside
April 11th 2014


19029 Comments


um

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

Funeralopolis
April 12th 2014


11774 Comments


nice sound off

Digging: Waxahatchee - Cerulean Salt

ethos
April 12th 2014


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

review's fine, pos

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Would make a good soundoff but this is really awkward as a review. The summary makes no sense either.

ethos
April 12th 2014


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sand music cause of an hourglass/ticking

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


11430 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh damn my b. Still looks weird as the summary though.

Veldin
April 12th 2014


1523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not gonna neg or pos, but this review makes me uncomfortable.

Gyromania
April 12th 2014


15967 Comments


going to neg because this is a terrible review.

"It's kind of like a chain on a ceiling fan ticking slowly in the waiting room of a doctor's office"

a ticking chain? i don't think you know what you're saying

Gyromania
April 12th 2014


15967 Comments


"The cacophony of creaking fiddles and delay pedals makes sounds similar to that of a terrifying discovery in the attic"

lmao what the hell does that even mean? absolutely nothing.

this has to be a troll review. this may be the most pretentious thing i've ever read.

"The music, while technically remedial, offers such a lurid image that is only apexed by the beautiful incoherence brought on by the crux of 'Blaise Bailey Finnegan III'"

lol i don't even know what to say. i mean the whole thing is so ridiculously nonsensical. also apexed isn't a word

climactic
April 12th 2014


19841 Comments


this is basically a list of extremely hyperbolic and ridiculously phrased, abstract thoughts he had about the album

a lot of em actually make sense to me, but as a review, the whole thing is just too weird.

"The delicate anticipation that comes with the inevitable ugliness or fear that is soon to come. "

"This record feels like that day that you have no reason to remember, but can't seem to forget."

^ in a weird way, these describe the atmosphere the music creates pretty well.


avonbarksdale221
April 12th 2014


8263 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

as a stream of consciousness set of thoughts and ideas about this record, this is great. as a review, it kinda blows. this has become my favourite gy!be release.

Gyromania
April 12th 2014


15967 Comments


you guys have got to be joking...


avonbarksdale221
April 12th 2014


8263 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

do we?

Gyromania
April 12th 2014


15967 Comments


idk how anyone who's well-read can look at something like this and say it's good in any way. 80% of it doesn't make sense. nothing about this describes what the album is like in any way. the quotes i picked out are particularly nonsensical and douchey

NakedSnake
April 12th 2014


290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sand review.

ethos
April 12th 2014


1848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

chain's at times do "tick" against the glass surrounding a bulb
they hit the glass after oscillating from the wind fans produce

Gyromania
April 12th 2014


15967 Comments


they're not supposed to, unless they blades are rotating way too quickly. even then, it wouldn't be 'ticking slowly,' and that 'ticking' is usually used to refer to a machine making a noise, such as a clock. why not just a clock? that's probably the least of the problems with this review though lol

Slut
April 12th 2014


2476 Comments


I Don't like sand. It's coarse, and rough, and irritating. and it gets everywhere.

SharkTooth
April 12th 2014


5905 Comments


because we TOTALLY needed another 5/5 Godspeed review

Digging: Dr. Dre - The Chronic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy