The Hotelier
Home, Like NoPlace Is There


4.6
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas EMERITUS
April 12th, 2014 | 817 replies


Release Date: 02/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Grief

In a lot of ways, The Hotelier's Home, Like NoPlace Is There hits the same resonant experiences in my life that made me gravitate to Superchunk's I Hate Music last year. For me personally, many of those notes still ring loudly; a friend committing suicide, another two being murdered, and one finally succumbing to a decade long fight with cancer. These are the kind of events that shake you in your mid-20's. For 26 years I thought I was invincible, but that was an illusion. It's a rather shattering realization. The only other experience I had with death was burying my grandfather a few years prior and it's not the same kind of loss. It stung in a different way. He lived a full life and died with his loved ones at his side. That's a lot different than having your body eat you alive in your 30's or to be found decomposing in an irrigation ditch at 19.

It's that kind of grieving that is at the heart of Home, Like NoPlace Is There. The record is a haunting recollection of a suicide and the rebuilding process that is birthed out of working through that loss. It's months and sometimes years of second guessing your entire relationship with a person, looking for clues, and being paralyzed by the weight of all that circumstance. That being said, what has drawn me to the album – and so much so that it has been on near constant repeat for the last few months – is that it's not the kind of record that wallows in that sadness. It is all about being strong. It reaches out and tries to help make sense of it all. It's a comforting empathy. The stories are intensely personal but are so easily transferable beyond their original inspiration. It's Death of the Author theory on a musical scale. Home, Like NoPlace Is There begs to be adapted to its listener's own fears and struggles, regardless of if it's grief, isolation, identity or even something a bit more abstract. It's a helping hand when you need it most – and that's the strongest compliment I could ever possibly give a record.



Recent reviews by this author
Sleater-Kinney No Cities to LoveAt the Gates At War with Reality
Weezer Everything Will Be Alright in the EndYOB Clearing The Path To Ascend
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
user ratings (700)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

It Never Goes Out

Comments:Add a Comment 
Faraudo
April 11th 2014


842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review; straight to the point, personal, and brief. That's how I like my reviews, well done man.

Digging: Steven Wilson - Hand. Cannot. Erase.

Rowan5215
April 11th 2014


29121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah nice job

KILL
April 11th 2014


72656 Comments


gay

Digging: Steven Wilson - Hand. Cannot. Erase.

Gyromania
April 11th 2014


16851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

first paragraph is really heavy stuff. review is excellent and deeply revealing

Digging: Kate Carr - Fabulations

TooLateToGoBack
April 11th 2014


1789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of my favorite reviews on the site.



that was beautiful, dude.

Athom
Emeritus
April 11th 2014


17240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

i've been sitting on posting this for a week. didn't know if it was too heavy, but figured that's why everyone likes the record so why not.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2014


10410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Nice work man

Kris.
April 11th 2014


12633 Comments


wrong rating, neg

Rhyme
April 11th 2014


1282 Comments


nice review dude

i've been sleeping on this album for too long

Digging: Car Seat Headrest - Twin Fantasy

ProjectFreak
April 11th 2014


1491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well said.

joshieboy12345
April 11th 2014


5377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool review

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


51133 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

nice

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


20261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I dig this review and I agree that the album can helpful during hard times. great job

Digging: Make Do and Mend - Don't Be Long

Athom
Emeritus
April 12th 2014


17240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

TREB GET YR ASS TO THE VU!

ABjordanMM
April 12th 2014


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sweet review. sweet album.

dimsim3478
April 12th 2014


5777 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

!

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - We Cool?

SnakeDelilah
April 12th 2014


10128 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

about fucking time

Digging: The Menzingers - On the Impossible Past

Lucid
April 12th 2014


7025 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hope never dies

Lucid
April 12th 2014


7025 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's definitely the kind of record that can save someone

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


16340 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

great review, one of those records i just can't see why is so loved but, hey, seems to mean a lot to many people so thats cool

Digging: Sylvan - Home



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy