The Hotelier
Home, Like NoPlace Is There


4.6
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
April 12th, 2014 | 693 replies


Release Date: 02/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Grief

In a lot of ways, The Hotelier's Home, Like NoPlace Is There hits the same resonant experiences in my life that made me gravitate to Superchunk's I Hate Music last year. For me personally, many of those notes still ring loudly; a friend committing suicide, another two being murdered, and one finally succumbing to a decade long fight with cancer. These are the kind of events that shake you in your mid-20's. For 26 years I thought I was invincible, but that was an illusion. It's a rather shattering realization. The only other experience I had with death was burying my grandfather a few years prior and it's not the same kind of loss. It stung in a different way. He lived a full life and died with his loved ones at his side. That's a lot different than having your body eat you alive in your 30's or to be found decomposing in an irrigation ditch at 19.

It's that kind of grieving that is at the heart of Home, Like NoPlace Is There. The record is a haunting recollection of a suicide and the rebuilding process that is birthed out of working through that loss. It's months and sometimes years of second guessing your entire relationship with a person, looking for clues, and being paralyzed by the weight of all that circumstance. That being said, what has drawn me to the album – and so much so that it has been on near constant repeat for the last few months – is that it's not the kind of record that wallows in that sadness. It is all about being strong. It reaches out and tries to help make sense of it all. It's a comforting empathy. The stories are intensely personal but are so easily transferable beyond their original inspiration. It's Death of the Author theory on a musical scale. Home, Like NoPlace Is There begs to be adapted to its listener's own fears and struggles, regardless of if it's grief, isolation, identity or even something a bit more abstract. It's a helping hand when you need it most – and that's the strongest compliment I could ever possibly give a record.



Recent reviews by this author
At the Gates At War with RealityWeezer Everything Will Be Alright in the End
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimOwls Two
user ratings (603)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

It Never Goes Out

Comments:Add a Comment 
Faraudo
April 11th 2014


749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review; straight to the point, personal, and brief. That's how I like my reviews, well done man.

Digging: Angels and Airwaves - The Dream Walker

Rowan5215
April 11th 2014


28916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah nice job

Digging: Sharon Van Etten - Are We There

KILL
April 11th 2014


72280 Comments


gay

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

Gyromania
April 11th 2014


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

first paragraph is really heavy stuff. review is excellent and deeply revealing

TooLateToGoBack
April 11th 2014


1780 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of my favorite reviews on the site.

that was beautiful, dude.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2014


17231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

i've been sitting on posting this for a week. didn't know if it was too heavy, but figured that's why everyone likes the record so why not.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2014


10383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Nice work man

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Kris.
April 11th 2014


12511 Comments


wrong rating, neg

Rhyme
April 11th 2014


1203 Comments


nice review dude

i've been sleeping on this album for too long

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only by Fire

ProjectFreak
April 11th 2014


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well said.

joshieboy12345
April 11th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool review

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

nice

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I dig this review and I agree that the album can helpful during hard times. great job

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2014


17231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

TREB GET YR ASS TO THE VU!

ABjordanMM
April 12th 2014


1453 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sweet review. sweet album.

dimsim3478
April 12th 2014


5413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

!

Digging: Chris Farren - Like a Gift from God or Whatever

SnakeDelilah
April 12th 2014


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

about fucking time

Digging: Foxing - The Albatross

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


7025 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hope never dies

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


7025 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's definitely the kind of record that can save someone

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

great review, one of those records i just can't see why is so loved but, hey, seems to mean a lot to many people so thats cool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy