Foxy Shazam
Gonzo


2.5
average

Review

by Jordan CONTRIBUTOR (46 Reviews)
April 8th, 2014 | 62 replies | 4,379 views


Release Date: 04/02/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Just because it's free doesn't mean you're not allowed to complain

On the title track of Foxy Shazam's fifth LP, lead singer Eric Nally bemoans that 'Hero's are something only Dave Grohl sings about', expressing a brilliant sense of cynicism we have come to expect from these gaudy glam punks. The problem? Everything it's wrapped in isn't particularly good. The mixing job sounds flat, the guitars seem tapered where they should be recklessly jabbing and, especially for a record produced by Steve Albini, being propelled by a surprisingly placid rhythm section. The drums don't echo and smack with fury, the bass doesn't grind along and you'll be damned if it doesn't take you more than half-a-dozen listens to pick up the groove hidden inside. Commendably released though it may be, Gonzo is hardly anything special.

It's sad too; 2012's The Church of Rock & Roll was such an exciting and camp take on glam punk that, under the control of equally OTT Justin Hawkins, dripped with sexual fury and political humour. Now the band appear to have groomed themselves and ditched the overly glam image they originally pertained to- in the process, they forget that's their identity. On "Poem Pathetic" and "Brutal Truth", the band make it severely unclear as to what is they're trying to achieve. While one side sees a camp horn section start up and Nally exercise his lungs in the art of stupidity, the other sees a band trying too hard to control their over anxious state and instead crunch along with excessive accenting. It's uncomfortable (almost unbearable) to listen to.

Overall though, what's most depressing about this is the production job- for the most part, it both disappoints and detracts from the experience. Some tracks such as "Tragic Thrill", "Have the Fun" and "Don't Give In" suggest brilliance but rarely touch it. The matter of the fact is Steve Albini's mixing job is so unbelievably rudimentary that it makes the album appear to be undercooked demoes. It's difficult to make out that iconic Albini sound within, but he's hardly to blame. With a band known for their OTT sense of fiasco, attempting to be a dressed down indie glam act is nothing but a bad move. Motifs are questionable and the proof is in the pudding, this carries absolutely none of the excitement of their previous records.

It leads to a barrage of questions; Where's the iconic sense of European comedy? Where's Steve Albini's punishing mixing job? Where is all the raw excitement that comes from the medium and released method? Unfortunately (disappointingly, moreover), it's nowhere to be found.



Recent reviews by this author
Death Grips The Powers That B - Part I: Niggas on the MoonBABYMETAL Babymetal
Morrissey World Peace Is None Of Your BusinessRamones Ramones
Manic Street Preachers FuturologyJudas Priest Redeemer of Souls
user ratings (51)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



1867 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

What a disappointment. Listening back to the Church of Rock & Roll I can't believe this the same band. This just sounds like a tired and undercooked demoes. Well, feedback appreciated.

Digging: Botch - We Are the Romans

Green Baron
April 7th 2014



18116 Comments


i like it

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



1867 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

...really?

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014



11917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

church sucked fucking dick i have no doubt this is better if all you s/t loving garden shitters hate it

Digging: J Mascis and Friends - J and Friends Sing and Chant for Amma

Green Baron
April 7th 2014



18116 Comments


@Arcade it was a reference to their song "I Like It"

kinda duped you but ehh

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014



11917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pos

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



1867 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ahhhh

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



1867 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@mryrtmrnfoxxxy; yeah church wasn't great but compared to this it's a masterpiece

Green Baron
April 7th 2014



18116 Comments


I've been posting that everywhere hoping someone would take the piss

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



1867 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like Steve Albini

Green Baron
April 7th 2014



18116 Comments


I love songs about fucking

Green Baron
April 7th 2014



18116 Comments


I love songs about fucking

HenchmanOfSanta
April 7th 2014



1852 Comments


What a disappointment. Listening back to the Church of Rock & Roll I can't believe this the same band. This just sounds like a tired and undercooked demoes. Well, feedback appreciated.
If you can't believe this is the same band that made the Church of Rock and Roll, you really won't believe that they also made the Flamingo Trigger.


FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I still love Flamingo Trigger

Green Baron
April 7th 2014



18116 Comments


love=2.5

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

P sure it's a 3.5 and it could probably be higher

Green Baron
April 7th 2014



18116 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/44548/Foxy-Shazam-The-Flamingo-Trigger/

EDIT: Ah, nevermind, rating is a 3.5

ILJ
April 7th 2014



6617 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i don't think this is terrible but it is terribly underwhelming

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



1867 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Steve Albini and FS don't mix really

Calc
April 7th 2014



12005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

band had a good thing going before they went all piano rock

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy