Agnes Obel
Aventine


4.5
superb

Review

by menawati CONTRIBUTOR (87 Reviews)
April 7th, 2014 | 23 replies | 1,644 views


Release Date: 09/30/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A profound calming influence.

Had a bad day at work ? Put this record on and kick back. Feeling angry with the guy who just cut you up at a road junction ? Slip this CD into the car stereo. Agnes will soothe your furrowed brow with a gentle hand and bring your heart rate down to near catatonic levels. The power of this album to invoke a sense of peace is quite remarkable. The Danish singer/songwriter's ethereally beautiful voice is undoubtedly the highlight on this sophomore album but the crystalline piano melodies and mournful strings that dominate most of the music serve as a perfect backdrop for her teflon-coated larynx.

The recipe here is not too far removed from that to be found on Agnes's 2010 debut 'Philharmonics' but there is an unmistakeable growth in maturity. Her melodies are just that little bit more fulfilling, the piano-folk arrangements now exude more gravitas and there is a marked improvement in consistency across the board. There is a tangible 'less is more' approach on here with sparse arrangements that leave ample room for the musical ideas to breathe. The production has also become more intimate and slightly more reverb-washed which gels perfectly with the misty translucency of the whole package. Album highlight 'The Curse' is a microcosm of everything that makes this album such a wonderful achievement. Plucked strings lead deftly into a simple but heart-wrenchingly melancholic cello motif that weaves in and out of Agnes's winsomely engaging vocals. An utterly spine-tingling chorus serves to break up the delicate tick-tock rhythms as her uplifting harmonies gently embrace you and carry you up into the overcast skies. The song, and indeed the album as a whole, radiates a mournful serenity and softly flowing delicacy that prove to be almost irresistible once you have drifted, almost unknowingly, into its velvet arms.

This is definitely not an album to be hurried or sampled piecemeal. This is much more than a collection of songs. Agnes creates her own intimate world and the listener is tenderly beckoned inside to experience a cossetted journey through serene soundscapes and daintily yearning harmonies. Take up her invitation and you will emerge with a profound sense of tranquility.



Recent reviews by this author
Disconnect Planned ObsolescenceSynaesthesia (UK) Synaesthesia
Camel A Live RecordIQ The Wake
Pervy Perkin InkSoft Machine Softs
user ratings (25)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Spookrijder (3.5)
"Aventine" stands above the majority of the musical production, and it is not the least of an achiev...


Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



15853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

So beautiful it needed some sort of review.

The Curse - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6h9XUYj96ho&feature=kp
Full album - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Upe3qZBcJ9I


Digging: Disconnect - Planned Obsolescence

CaptainDooRight
April 7th 2014



28682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I must be trippin or somethin but I thought you already reviewed this. Oh well, great album indeed. Love the short rev

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2014



5974 Comments


Excellent review, mindpos.

Will check the links shortly.

Digging: Lisa Gerrard - Twilight Kingdom

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



15853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

no, i think you recced it to me couple months ago and i couldnt believe it had no review, bit short i
know but I'm at work (shhh), cheers voivod

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2014



5974 Comments


naughty boy :-P

Gyromania
April 7th 2014



15456 Comments


i love you for reviewing this < 3

Gyromania
April 7th 2014



15456 Comments


i think i prefer philharmonics (she'll never write anything as good as riverside imo), but this is still a very enjoyable album

manosg
April 7th 2014



5869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review mena.

The track is unexpectedly great! Bookmarked the full album link.

Digging: Anacrusis - Manic Impressions

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



15853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks gyro, I slightly prefer this but both are pretty great anyway.

"The track is unexpectedly great!"
...makes me feel like i usually recommend shit stuff haha



Underflow
April 7th 2014



2529 Comments


Awesome, awesome album. I need to spin it again this week.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



15853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

beautiful woman, beautiful voice, beautiful songs

manosg
April 7th 2014



5869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"...makes me feel like i usually recommend shit stuff haha"

hahaha, actually when I listened to her voice I thought she sounded a bit like Lorde and I didn't like that. The track is excellent though and I'm pretty eager to listen to the full album.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



1567 Comments


Gotta check this out soon now, great read as well man.

TWIGtheWONDERKID
April 7th 2014



713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Agnes creates her own intimate world and the listener is tenderly beckoned inside to experience a cossetted journey through serene soundscapes and daintily yearning harmonies." . . . sounds nice, I'll have to check it out.

Digging: Fennesz - Becs

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



15853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i guarantee you that if you check your pulse after listening through this it will have gone down by 10 bpm

LordePots
April 7th 2014



6525 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

googled her face she's pretty so ill download

adarkishman
April 7th 2014



525 Comments


she is good

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014



15853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the album cover of her debut stirs many latent strapping nordic lass fantasies in me

manosg
April 8th 2014



5869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Beautiful album indeed. Good choice for review mena.

TWIGtheWONDERKID
April 8th 2014



713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your review is dead on. It's a beautiful album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy