Royal Blood
Out of the Black


3.5
great

Review

by Antonius USER (26 Reviews)
April 6th, 2014 | 33 replies | 4,628 views


Release Date: 03/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A promising British duo which rocks with a bass and a drum kit

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

To the eyes of every music lover, the less the number of individuals in a band, the greater the admiration for that band is. Usually you have a powerful trio --drums, bass & guitar-- while occasionally you come across 'one-man bands'. These are phenomenal or simply passionate people who like independence and creativity and prefer to record all instruments alone. However, from 2000 and onwards the likes of The White Stripes, The Black Keys, Death From Above 1779 and many more have taught us that bands can be comprised of two instruments as well; and they can sound very good.

The duo of Mike Kerr (vocals, bass) & Ben Thatcher (drums) are one of the newest additions in this category. Although they descent from the Queen's land, they have nothing to do with Her Majesty's palace. They are simple, ordinary and ambitious lads from Brighton who expect to become the next big thing. And listening to their EP Out Of The Black they have the odds on their side. They play straightforward hard rock with some garage rock elements in their sound.

This EP stands at very promising grounds. It's not only the aggression of the self-titled track and the grooviness of "Little Monster" that will engage you with the music. It is also the slow and heavy Sabbath-style riffing of "Hole" which highlights the fact that Royal Blood's armory is full of simplistic, powerful and catchy drum patterns and solos. Using such approach, music can be embedded quickly and thus solidify the duo's image. Expectations about the debut album have become already very high.



Recent reviews by this author
James La Petite MortRival Sons Great Western Valkyrie
Radio Moscow Radio MoscowBoston Life, Love & Hope
The Temperance Movement The Temperance MovementThe Winery Dogs The Winery Dogs
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Royal Blood

Comments:Add a Comment 
Green Baron
April 6th 2014



19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Out of the Black is already my 2014 SOTY

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

Antonius
April 9th 2014



221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The first song i've heard was Little monster and i was amazed. However, retrospectively speaking 'out of the black' is even better

Digging: Blues Pills - Blues Pills

ChoccyPhilly
April 27th 2014



5371 Comments


Sounds pretty average to me. Seems to be the main selling point is the fact it's just bass and drums. Good review though. Pos'd

Digging: Limbonic Art - Moon In The Scorpio

Antonius
April 27th 2014



221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thnx choc. Yeah the bass & drum fact could be the actual selling point I agree.. but then again, these king of bands are becoming a trend now and I believe we'll see more of them in the next years.. But I found the EP a good starting point

Green Baron
April 27th 2014



19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

seriously I can't stop listening to Out of the Black

Antonius
April 27th 2014



221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

massive track

WhiteNoise
May 11th 2014



3098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So is it seriously all just bass?
I hear Guitar everywhere but to be honest he could've just distorted the fuck out of and layered the bass in the studio

Antonius
May 11th 2014



221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yep its all bass. he uses an octave pedal

unaMUSEd
May 27th 2014



1038 Comments


This band kicks so much ass.

Digging: Of Mice and Men - Restoring Force

Green Baron
May 27th 2014



19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Out of the Black man that song slays

unaMUSEd
May 28th 2014



1038 Comments


And its all bass and drums as well. No guitar!

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
May 28th 2014



2012 Comments


I've got a friend who reliably informs me these guys are "the next big thing"

Digging: Mogwai - Young Team

unaMUSEd
May 28th 2014



1038 Comments


Oh but they are

Antonius
May 28th 2014



221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

anxiously waiting for the LP

WhiteNoise
May 28th 2014



3098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I've got a friend who reliably informs me these guys are "the next big thing"

I'm usually the first to call bullshit but this could be it this time...

Green Baron
May 28th 2014



19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So are Nothing More

JoylessBastard
May 28th 2014



13 Comments


Main riff on Little Monster really reminds me of Freya by The Sword

ShadowRemains
May 29th 2014



20521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heard the t/t on the radio, sounded good, will give this a listen

VolcanoDay
May 29th 2014



133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The riffs, man. THE RIFFS.

ShadowRemains
June 1st 2014



20521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a fucking jam



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy