Steppenwolf
Steppenwolf


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (42 Reviews)
April 2nd, 2014 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1968 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I like smoke and lightning, Heavy metal thunder, Racin' with the wind, And the feelin' that I'm under.

Motorbike, leather jacket, rock music and the open road. The dream of a whole generation of young people found its soundtrack at the end of the ‘60s. That’s only one of the reasons that Steppenwolf is an iconic album though. The other reason is of course the inclusion of the phrase “heavy metal thunder” on the band’s most well known track, “Born to Be Wild”. The origins of the term “heavy metal” are lost in the depths of history so the only certainty is that lyrically its first appearance was in Steppenwolf’s song.

However, Steppenwolf’s debut is much more than just “Born to Be Wild”. It’s a solid blues rock affair with psychedelic influences characteristic of the era. Bearing in mind the time the album was released, it can be characterized as heavy, wild and loud. Imagine a blend of hard rock reminiscent of Creedence Clearwater Revival, Grand Funk Railroad and Canned Heat with the psychedelic flavor of Iron Butterfly and Vanilla Fudge. Steppenwolf’s sound is guitar driven, but one can listen to some groovy bass lines, solid drumming and of course Goldy McJohn’s piano and organ. Vocalist John Cay brings to mind John Fogerty from Creedence Clearwater Revival without being as powerful though. Nevertheless, that’s not a bad thing as John Fogerty was one of the most talented vocalists in rock.

The biker anthem “Born to Be Wild” is of course one of the standout tracks here but one can listen to the badass “The Pusher”, check the driving rhythm of the rebellious “The Ostrich”, or the laid back “Snowblind Friend”. Moreover, blues rock lovers are bound to appreciate “Your Wall’s Too High” while “Desperation” is also a track worth noting. In addition, fans of The Doors will most probably find similarities between the main riffs of “Everybody’s Next One” and Morrison Hotel’s “You Make Me Real”.

Overall, Steppenwolf is an excellent album which is highly recommended for fans of blues rock and lovers of the bands mentioned previously. It contains all the elements that made the blues and psychedelic movements of the late ‘60s and early ‘70s special and is best accompanied by images of the iconic counterculture film Easy Rider.



Recent reviews by this author
Little Richard Little RichardBlind Guardian Tokyo Tales
Monster Magnet Milking The StarsRotting Christ Sleep of the Angels
Midnight No Mercy for MayhemThe Paul Butterfield Blues Band Paul Butterfield Blues Band
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
April 2nd 2014


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Iconic counterculture album for fans of rock/metal.

Full album here: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Steppenwolf/1120539

Your comments are appreciated.

Digging: Whitesnake - Slide It In

VermTheImpaler
April 2nd 2014


1360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is great. :3

tempest--
April 2nd 2014


14623 Comments


Don't think I've ever heard a Steppenwolf song other than Born to Be Wild, haha. Will need to check this out.

manosg
April 2nd 2014


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

haha yeah, there are so many people who haven't heard any of their songs apart from Born to Be Wild. Before listening to a full album of theirs I really didn't think very highly of them but this one is quite solid.

emester
April 2nd 2014


4377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of the first albums my dad ever bought me. think I was 9 when I first got it

Digging: Skelator - King of Fear

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


20158 Comments


sweet review buddy, was an enjoyable read. Haven't heard much of these guys will definitely check them out!

just a small fix in the first paragraph: That’s only one of the reasons THAT Steppenwolf ;)

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Mad.
April 2nd 2014


4199 Comments


Great review man pos'd, no idea why this didn't have one already!

I should definitely give it a spin

emester
April 2nd 2014


4377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its a shame these guys are only known for 2 songs...

manosg
April 2nd 2014


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Atari
Thanks dude, error corrected!

It's a cool album and knowing that you enjoy some blues rock I think you'll like it.

@Mad
I was surprised too man, it's a significant album.

@emester
Agreed. Their first two albums are solid. Haven't heard their third one for a long time though.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

steppenwolf/

EvoHavok
April 2nd 2014


1498 Comments


Woah, I only know 'Born to be Wild', but I am surprised this has such a low number of ratings.

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

ILiveInNetherlands
April 2nd 2014


512 Comments


I would give it my 4.0, but only 2014 for me

Hovse
April 2nd 2014


957 Comments


Pos'd

manosg
April 2nd 2014


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks dude.

MrSirLordGentleman
April 2nd 2014


4878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

60's right here

tempest--
April 3rd 2014


14623 Comments


MANO CAN YOU REVIEW TED NUGENT STRANGLEHOLD sorry i didn't realise i had caps on

manosg
April 3rd 2014


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ted Nugent doesn't have a review?! That's weird. I'll need to re-listen it because I like "Stranglehold" but I'm not so sure/familiar with the rest of the album.

deslad
April 3rd 2014


392 Comments


Great review mano, POS. I should give that one a try, it sounds intriguing.

Digging: Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime

manosg
April 3rd 2014


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cheers, appreciate it! On another note, a couple of songs from this one were included in the soundtrack of the movie "Easy Rider". Seems like a great film and I'll definitely watch it in the following days. If this doesn't get you in the mood, I don't know what will:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMbATaj7Il8

MrSirLordGentleman
April 3rd 2014


4878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Adolf Nugent



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy