Asia
Gravitas


2.0
poor

Review

by menawati CONTRIBUTOR (87 Reviews)
April 1st, 2014 | 22 replies | 2,064 views


Release Date: 03/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An essential release for those seeking a reliable cure for insomnia.

There are only two possible reasons why Asia are still releasing records; they genuinely get a kick out of churning out album after album of inoffensive arena rock or they need the cash. Whatever their motivations are there is no doubt that after over 30 years' worth of this stuff they are still showing no signs of throwing in the towel, even though it seems that Steve Howe finally had enough and elected to jump ship for this 14th album. This sort of syrupy commercial rock is, of course, about as fashionable as Hitler moustaches but there is always a certain section of the record buying public that seem to lap it up as long as it's catchy, easy on the ear and has a few choruses to hum along to in the shower. You could certainly say that about their self-titled 1982 debut which attained massive commercial success off the back of a few slices of superlative AOR. There was also a certain guilty novelty about spinning an album of unashamedly sing-along tunes by four of the stalwarts of the 70's progressive rock movement.

Thirty years on the novelty has long since died and so has, it seems, the group's ability to pen anything even remotely memorable. As one would expect from musicians with the pedigree of Carl Palmer, Geoff Downes and John Wetton the delivery is exemplary. Wetton's vocals never disappoint, whatever the setting, and new boy Sam Coulson gives a creditable performance as Howe's replacement. But there's no spark, no inspiration, no passion and certainly no attempt to break out of their tired old formula of mid-tempo keyboard laden commercial rock. Even for those that abhor this style of music a decent example of the genre force-fed to them via a sibling or partner should have the capability to sear its sugary melodies onto their subconscious and force them unwillingly to start humming one of its tunes at inopportune moments, much to their chagrin. This one, however, is mercifully free of any strong hooks or catchy choruses that may pollute your life in such a way so it can be safely experienced without fear of any such contamination.



Recent reviews by this author
Disconnect Planned ObsolescenceSynaesthesia (UK) Synaesthesia
Camel A Live RecordIQ The Wake
Pervy Perkin InkSoft Machine Softs
user ratings (7)
Chart.
2.4
average
related reviews

Silent Nation

Astra

Omega

Arena
recommended by reviewer
Asia Asia
Def Leppard Pyromania

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Valkyrie http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIpmYEYC2rU

Since I wrote this review the song above is annoying the shit out of me by cropping up in my head all the time so I must admit my final paragraph may not be totally accurate.

Digging: Nemrud - Journey of the Shaman

Tyrael
April 1st 2014



20814 Comments


Band has always sucked so this is not a surprise at all

good rev

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thanks Ty, heat of the moment is a bit of an anthem tho cmon

manosg
April 1st 2014



5913 Comments


Always though of them in the same league as Toto, Foreigner, Boston and Journey but each of these bands have released at least one album that was enjoyable for me. Anything worth checking by Asia?

Digging: Anacrusis - Manic Impressions

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

there are a few songs on their debut that are ok but that's about it really

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



20767 Comments


lul asia

KILL
April 1st 2014



71372 Comments


might give this a listen for a laugh

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

if you can make it to the end then you certainly do deserve your newly won king of sputnik award for sheer masochistic grit

KILL
April 1st 2014



71372 Comments


lol i actually listened to all of arena once, johnny dared me

tempest--
April 1st 2014



13134 Comments


m/


Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Mad.
April 1st 2014



3689 Comments


Awesome review, album sounds dreadful.

One thing "there is no doubt that after over 30 year's worth" - the apostrophe should be after years

Digging: Anubis - Hitchhiking to Byzantium

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

nice spot mad i'll change it thanks

MrSirLordGentleman
April 1st 2014



4264 Comments


I still don't get how can you be that bad with those line-ups ... well this band is like the worst "classic prog" band lol

Digging: Weezer - Weezer

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

not sure why they are ever labelled as prog it's always been drossy commercial rock from them in spite of the personnel

Lakes.
April 1st 2014



26608 Comments


heat of the moment is 80s cheese classic

Digging: BABYMETAL - Babymetal

Underflow
April 1st 2014



2554 Comments


Great review, won't be listening to this anytime this lifetime.

MrSirLordGentleman
April 1st 2014



4264 Comments


It's like a time machine, we're on the 80's again

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2014



2012 Comments


it was the heat of the moment
telling you what my heart meant

Digging: Mogwai - Young Team

CaptainDooRight
April 2nd 2014



28791 Comments


It's not fair 2 2 asia

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
April 2nd 2014



1856 Comments


Only ever listened to the first album by Asia. Nice review, don't think I'll bother with this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy