Black Drop Effect
Injecting Pain


4.5
superb

Review

by PortalofPerfection USER (2 Reviews)
April 1st, 2014 | 7 replies


Release Date: 03/17/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A glimpse into the future of black metal.

Don't let the crisp production and precise mixing fool you; this is raw raging gut punching pain spewing evil seething black metal at its finest. All the most recognizeable conventions of the genre, from lightning fast picking to incessant blast beating are present and extremely well executed, but it's Black Drop's eloquent and balanced usage of post-metal daydreaming meanders and a meticulous focus on the subtleties of their intricate instrumentation that provide a fresh perspective. Insert an industrial undercurrent and you've got a recipe for the best kind of disaster.

The song structures at large, and the methods used to progress from one section or sound into another (and sometimes back and forth again) are surprisingly simple, which allows all the fine tunings within riffs, the gradual evolution of the drum patterns, and the placement and impact of the bass and the vocals to be what you're naturalling paying attention to, all while delivering an astonishing emotional hurricane wrapped up in mastering that will make BM elitists cringe, but sound like heaven to fans of the more post/progressive direction the genre has taken more often than not as of late.

The songs are long, yet pass in what seems like only a few moments. There are just enough pauses in the wall of sound the band is usually laying into you with for you to catch your breath, and more than enough ear pummeling riffage to make you squeeze your eyes shut as you listen. Starting with the title track and its more evenly spaced sound, the album then alternates beautifully between an almost too familiar black metal rage, and a comfortable and solemn post metal back-build, balancing out again with the ingeniously addictive rhythms of The Frost and The Moon. This leads seemlesly into the album's powerhouse, 19th November; a track that serves as a microcosom of the very best aspects of Black Drop's compelling vision. You'll feel like you're in a calming, slow motion plunge before tearing through a whirlwind of painful memories and hated enemies.

This is a glimpse into the future of black metal. There will always be a place for the low-fi tin can shriek filled pain-gasms of old, but just as time marches ever on, so does the evolution of music, and Injecting pain stands as a yet unrocognized paragon of what much of black metal will inevitably become.


user ratings (3)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
PortalofPerfection
April 1st 2014


624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hate phantom negs 😒

If something I did here was not well executed, please tell me so I can improve.

PortalofPerfection
April 6th 2014


624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No one's interested in this at all huh... 😔

SomeGuyDude
April 16th 2014


92 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought that title was a little hyperbolic, but... I can see where you're coming from. This is an excellent album.

PortalofPerfection
April 17th 2014


624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you like it man, there was definitely a case of I didn't know what to expect the first time I spun this and I was really blown away. They manage to sound fresh and unique while still standing firmly on familiar ground.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2014


20158 Comments


gotta love writing a review and getting one person to comment lol. I'll be sure to check this out man

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

ComeToDaddy
September 17th 2014


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll get amongst this too, sounds like I'd love it. There's a few typos ("naturalling", "seemlesly") and a lot of run-on sentences in the review. Reading over it and using a spellchecker probably would have helped in evading those ghost negs, a lot of people get hung up on things like that. I used to love getting constructive criticism so I'll do some for you:

Italics for album titles, and capitalizing the words. If you use "Injecting pain" the way you did, it doesn't stand out.

Your second sentence in particular runs for nearly 4 lines. There's just too many descriptors, making it hard to follow. Then read your second paragraph; the entire thing is one sentence. Take some time to structure your paragraphs a bit better.

"You'll feel like you're in a calming, slow motion plunge before tearing through a whirlwind of painful memories and hated enemies." Try to focus on describing the music instead of the feeling the music gives you, the albums' effect will be different from person to person so you could give them the wrong impression.

I really like your personable style, if you just take a bit of time to structure the review better you'll really come into your own as a writer (: pos'd

Digging: Taake - Stridens hus

PortalofPerfection
September 17th 2014


624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow thanks for the tips man. Yeah I did notice that paragraph sentence thing lol. I tend to let my writing directly reflect my thinking process. Not always a good thing. Thanks man, my other review is a bit better I think. I'm out of practice lol.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy