Seahaven
Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only


2.5
average

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
March 26th, 2014 | 31 replies | 4,665 views


Release Date: 03/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ain’t it something when everything falls apart?

The maturation process of California based group Seahaven is quite astonishing. If one were to compare the bands most recent release to their earliest work it would be difficult to even tell if it was the same band playing. Ranging from angsty post-hardcore to spacey indie rock, Seahaven has been all over the musical spectrum, often with mixed results. Their latest full length release is no different, as their sophomore album Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only struggles to realize its full potential.

One of the most important aspects of this album that necessitates addressing would have to be the vocals of Kyle Soto, and his sudden adaptation of what most would deem an attempt at a British accent. I’m not quite sure exactly what bizarre accent Soto has adopted since his initial records, but it’s here front and center in full force. This singing style is not for everyone, as words are often slurred into one another. This slurring can often produces an indecipherable phrase or two, which is truly a shame, as one of the few highlights of this album are Soto’s emotional and cathartic lyrics. Although this unique vocal delivery can seem fresh at first, through 14 tracks it can grow a tad irksome, so by the time the record is finished there seems to be little to no replay value.

When it comes to the overall feel of this album, there is no description as apt as the actual album title; escapism. Through the entirety of this record, listeners feel as though they are caught up in some distantly imagined land. Although the first quarter of the album borrows more heavily from the emo tropes of smooth, twinkling guitar work and disconsolate lyrics (See “Andreas” or previously “Silhouette (Latin Skin)”), the rest of the album prides itself on the soundscapes it creates through minimalistic and effect riddled instrumentation and reverb drenched vocals. “Highway Blues” features nothing but an acoustic guitar and the aforementioned reverbed vocals, encompassing the laid back mood that Seahaven seems to have been aiming for, while both parts of “Paso De las Estrellas” are short, spacey tracks that have vocals transitioning from stereo to mono again creating the bands desired effect. Yet it becomes a bit tiresome when nearly every song starts off in similar fashion, going nowhere fast often resulting in nothing but fading away. Listeners are presented with an album that seems to attempt to build and build but never reach a climax. Save for token shot in the arm lead single “Flesh” every song is down tempo and far too similar.

Although Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only is a not an album without enjoyable tracks, as a whole it seems that there is just not enough to set it apart from other similar albums. All the ingredients of a great record seem to be present (or were present in prior records) but they just do not come together properly on this record. While this record does at many time feel as though it requires listeners to close their eyes and drift away, the concept just feels trite, as many other bands have done it better before. On their sophomore full length it seems as though Seahaven has forsaken interesting instrumentation for cohesion, which is not necessarily a terrible thing, but through this process have become just plain boring.



Recent reviews by this author
Trophy Scars Holy VacantsSleep Weather Two Wheels Spinning
We Are Scientists TV en FrançaisWilliam Fitzsimmons Lions
Prawn / Joie de Vivre SplitMy Epic Behold
user ratings (44)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Really disappointed by this. I originally had it rated at a 3.5, but after re-listening a few too many times it dropped down to a 2.5 : (

XingKing
March 26th 2014



10045 Comments


No surprise given the downward spiral these guys are on. That "EP" that came out a few months back was abysmal

North0House2
March 26th 2014



5817 Comments


Have they ever put out a single good release?

The only thing I've heard by them that I partially enjoyed was a short track off of 'Ghost'.

Digging: The Number Twelve Looks Like You - Mongrel

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I thought ghost was pretty decent. And bits and pieces from their debut album were pretty great.

SnakeDelilah
March 26th 2014



5415 Comments


another band tumblr splooges over

Digging: Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2014



17200 Comments


The only song I still like from these guys is It's Over.

SpritzSpritz
March 26th 2014



526 Comments


saw them live and it was terribly boring. this sounds like it probably is too.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Did you see them on tour with mewithoutYou and touche amore?

F0RBES
March 26th 2014



246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i actually like this.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

What do you enjoy about it?

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not trying to be a dick, i'm just genuinely curious.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2014



3336 Comments


I downloaded this because of the title and cover, I didn't listen to more than 3 songs, it's awful. Good review though.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

loveisamixtape
March 26th 2014



5904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i really like this but i also really like this band

Digging: Keep - Hypnosis for Sleep

loveisamixtape
March 26th 2014



5904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the most important aspects of this album that necessitates addressing would have to be the vocals of Kyle Soto, and his sudden adaptation of what most would deem an attempt at a British accent.


i don't disagree with a lot of your review but i don't get this at all haha, he sounds exactly the same on this as he always has. the only difference i hear is age

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Really? I admit that I haven't been following Seahaven that closely, but these vocals just seem almost completely out of left field. Even with Winter Forever, I feel like his drawl/accent wasn't even close to as pronounced as it is here.

But you could be right, it could just be the fact that it is so predominate on this record that it seems so sudden to me.

pmmets07
March 26th 2014



5848 Comments


i don't understand the hate for this band on here. i honestly love all their releases

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Have you listened to this record yet?

KSK1
March 26th 2014



4072 Comments


I actually liked Winter Forever despite the style change from Ghost. Downloading this now with low expectations. Great review btw. Reads pretty flawlessly.

loveisamixtape
March 27th 2014



5904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i didn't like winter forever at first at all but grew to really like all of it. besides Honeybee, of course

pmmets07
March 27th 2014



5848 Comments


@atrink yeah i'm prob gonna settle on a 3.5. i definitely think their more upbeat stuff is stronger and kyle's voice can wear on you when he's doing the whole lazy singing thing, but this album is so relaxing. i just wish there were more songs like Flesh.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy