Fireworks
Oh, Common Life


4.5
superb

Review

by Brabiz USER (7 Reviews)
March 25th, 2014 | 32 replies


Release Date: 03/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A more mature sound, a more focused record, all of which amount to something special. 

For those who do not know Fireworks, Fireworks is a Pop Punk band from Detroit, Michigan. So far they've released three albums; all of which changed drastically from the last while still maintaining the same brand of ridiculously melodic pop punk.

Here we have 'Oh, Common Life', their most recent effort. While Gospel was a great pop punk record, one which actually surpassed genre standards; Oh, Common Life is a different kind of album, though very similar. Here Fireworks take their indie rock sound and expand on it, adding more depth to what would be an already unique pop punk album.

The instrumentation has many layers which create this really unique sound for the band. The use of keyboards and electronics is subtle, yet apparent enough to give the entire album its own sound. The fantastically unique vocals return from the previous albums and seem to have improved greatly. Songs such as Woods, Bed Sores, and Run Brother Run really shine vocally with Dave Mackinder's sweet and smooth vocals over the surprisingly skilled instrumentation. Like on the previous albums, the focus here is clearly melody. The guitars are soft yet upbeat, the vocals are charismatic and charming, and the lyricism is cleve and rather interesting. As a whole, Oh, Common Life feels notably mature and slightly more serious with it's more complex arrangements, darker atmosphere, and less-than corny lyrics in comparison to their previous albums.

There are very few negative aspects to this album. One being the song "The Back Window's Down" which gets really uninteresting towards its closing; despite it's fantastic first half. Also, the end of the album sort of blends together. This may change as I listen to the album more, but as of now, I find myself uninterested at the last few songs.

For me, the most enjoyable aspect of this album is the sense of nostalgia. 'Gospel' and 'All I Have To Offer..." had been a relevant part of my days as a senior in high school. The clever, infectious pop punk returns here and shines once again, and anyone who can relate to this feeling will enjoy this album. Even the majority who don't enjoy pop punk may find something really interesting here, and should at least give this album a listen.

4.5 / 5



Recent reviews by this author
The Willow & The Builder The Willow & The BuilderMorgue Orgy The Last Man On Earth
Blood on the Dance Floor Bad BloodMotionless in White Infamous
Asking Alexandria From Death to DestinyAll Human Catholic Guilt or the Queerest of Thoughts
user ratings (106)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Mark A. (5)
Common life....

Atari CONTRIBUTOR (4)
I'm getting used to my skin, but it doesn't fit right...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Brabiz
March 25th 2014


281 Comments


Also, the album art is hype-as-shit.
Jussayin'

EaglesBecomeVultures
March 25th 2014


5273 Comments


ehh

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Killerhit
March 25th 2014


5343 Comments


whatever

pos for a good try

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2014


20154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The vocalists name is Dave Mackinder.

This album is fantastic

Digging: Angels and Airwaves - The Dream Walker

Brabiz
March 25th 2014


281 Comments


I'll fix that.

Brabiz
March 25th 2014


281 Comments


Fixed that

SonofSnow
March 25th 2014


720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's purrty good.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2014


20154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's such a grower. Definitely their best release

EaglesBecomeVultures
March 25th 2014


5273 Comments


USE COMMAS

thelastsignal
March 25th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There is some serious misuse of semicolons here. :/

Digging: The Grouch x Eligh x CunninLynguists - The Winterfire EP

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2014


20154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I often don't know when to use semicolons, so i just use commas lol

might review this too if i find the time

TooManyFriends
March 25th 2014


757 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The riff in Bed Sores is the fucking Chicken dance

TooManyFriends
March 25th 2014


757 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That said this album rules

dogsarefriendly
March 26th 2014


23 Comments


confused at how you rate an album as 4.5/5 despite the fact the latter half bores you

thelastsignal
March 26th 2014


1586 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Atari, semicolons are good to use when utilized the right way. The rule of thumb (may not be completely correct, mind you) that I go by is a semicolon is used to connect two separate thoughts that can stand alone if they need to. It can help to use them in order to keep the flow alive in a review.

NightProwler
March 28th 2014


6585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love semicolons. They're the best.

Atari: I've seen you talk about these guys in several threads by now, guess I should give it a go

Digging: Bloodbath - Grand Morbid Funeral

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2014


20154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I recommend all their albums man. I think the vocals are hit and miss for some but if u like new found glory I think you'd dig them. They're becoming one of my favorite pop punk bands


NightProwler
March 28th 2014


6585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Will check them now - I dig NFG (although only knowing their s/t, which is a good 4 to me)

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2014


20154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you don't like this one maybe check their debut album (all i have to offer is my own confusion). A lot of these tracks are mid-tempo which is fine, but if you're looking for more engery their debut is a good place to start

NightProwler
March 28th 2014


6585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like it - and I do believe it's a grower!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy