Gary Moore
Blues For Greeny


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (37 Reviews)
March 20th, 2014 | 33 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fitting tribute from one blues legend to another.

How do you really measure an artist’s value? Is it just based on how many quality albums one has released? Is it linked with the number of fans that have been accumulated through the artist’s career or the recognition by his/her peers? No matter what your response is, Peter Green is a legend. At the same time he’s a tragic figure and one of those people who never managed to come close to their potential. Having released albums such as Then Play On, Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac and The End of the Game and still not having reached his potential, says a lot about his value. When in his prime, Peter Green was hands down one of the best bluesmen Britain has given us. He combined solid songwriting that blended blues with psychedelia while being an exceptional guitarist. Oh, he also was one of the most emotional guitar players the blues world has ever seen. BB King once stated that Green’s guitar tone was the sweetest he had heard and made him sweat. Not bad for a wasted potential.

On the other hand, Gary Moore released 20 solo albums in his glorious career and he participated in arguably Thin Lizzy’s best LP. Therefore, he managed to reach his full potential despite his untimely death. Moore first witnessed Green back in 1968 when the latter had replaced Eric Clapton in John Mayall’s Bluesbrakers and was impressed with his live performance. Since then he became a fan of Green’s work and on this studio album, Gary Moore pays homage to Peter Green by covering a selection of excellent tunes mostly from Green’s Fleetwood Mac days. In fact, only two out of the eleven tracks, including the incredibly haunting instrumental “The Supernatural”, are from Green’s work with John Mayall.

Those of you who are familiar with Fleetwood Mac’s early albums will find out that Gary Moore has actually changed very few elements from the originals. However, this should not put you off as Moore does a magnificent job of making the songs sound as if they were written by himself. Those of you who haven’t listened to the tracks before, should expect traditional Brit blues in the vein of Derek and the Dominos, Cream, John Mayall’s Bluesbrakers and you can definitely hear some BB King too. The songs are mostly mid tempo and based on emotion rather than technicality. Even though Gary Moore is renowned for his larger than life metallic guitar tone that has incorporated in his sound, on this album he follows a more traditional approach which is closer to Peter Green’s tone. In fact, during Green’s dark period in the mid ‘70s he sold his Les Paul to Gary Moore and this is the guitar that Moore used while recording this album.

Overall, this is a must buy not only for Peter Green or Gary Moore fans but for blues lovers in general. Many times, tribute albums seem to disappoint as they suffer from lack of character and sound like watered down versions of original material. This is not the case with this album though, as Gary Moore does a terrific job of adding his personal touch to some already excellent songs. Lastly, Blues for Greeny can also serve as a great compilation and introduction to Peter Green’s music for all those who wish to delve into one of the blues’ most emotional performers.



Recent reviews by this author
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band Paul Butterfield Blues BandNina Simone Pastel Blues
Nightfall Athenian EchoesTheatre Of Tragedy Aegis
Accept BreakerToots & The Maytals Funky Kingston
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
March 20th 2014


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A must check for fans of the blues.

Full album here: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Blues+For+Greeny/2065104

Any comment is appreciated guys!

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


20987 Comments


Great choice for a review, man. Really good tribute album.

Will read later.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


16056 Comments


great review mano, not usually a fan of tribute albums but considering it's Moore tribute to Green must be worth checking

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


20987 Comments


Only Moore could do a successful tribute album to Green.

manosg
March 20th 2014


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I would find it difficult to imagine someone else covering Green's work successfully. Maybe Clapton but I'm not so sure. The fact that they were friends and Moore used Green's guitar for this album played a role too.

Thanks mena, I'm not really fond of tribute albums too. Most times they have nothing to add and sound like they were made in a hurry. This one is excellent though. It's an excellent blues album basically apart from a successful tribute.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


20987 Comments


Clapton is nowhere near Green's level imo. Even in his prime I don't think Clapton would have been able to do a good job of covering Green's material.

manosg
March 20th 2014


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Clapton is overrated and underrated at the same time in the sense that you have a lot of people worshiping and others slating him. In his prime he delivered some of the best blues albums ever which means a lot to me.

Considering that Green was not a flashy player but more of an emotional guitarist with an incredible tone and quite an underrated singer, I think Clapton could have made an ok job. Maybe not as good as Moore, but still a good job. Probably we'll never know though.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


19916 Comments


nice review as expected manosg, pos.

He combined solid songwriting that blended blues with psychedelia with exceptional guitar playing.


I think if you said blended blues with psychedelia AND exceptional guitar playing this sentence would read better ;) On another note, I'm curious to hear Gary Moore's version of showbiz blues (great song!)

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

manosg
March 20th 2014


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for spotting that dude! I changed the sentence a bit, hope it's better now.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


19916 Comments


no worries man, yeah that looks better : ) it was just the 2 with's that made it read slightly akward

KILL
March 20th 2014


71957 Comments


sweet

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

manosg
March 20th 2014


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude check "The Supernatural"

Gary Moore version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAokLKTUdYk
Peter Green version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ul4hxJQIdZk

deslad
March 20th 2014


365 Comments


This sounds very promising, I'm gonna check it out. Excellent review by the way.

Digging: Rainbow - On Stage

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


20987 Comments


Considering that Green was not a flashy player but more of an emotional guitarist with an incredible tone and quite an underrated singer, I think Clapton could have made an ok job. Maybe not as good as Moore, but still a good job. Probably we'll never know though.


Clapton just doesn't have that unique touch that Green has and doesn't have the same level of feeling and expression in his playing. I think it would be harder to replicate Green's playing than it would be replicate that of a more flashy player. But you're right, we will never know, we can only speculate.

I'm kind of in between those who worship Clapton and those who slate him. As you know I absolutely love his performance on Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs but I personally wouldn't put him up there with my all time favourite guitarists.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


16056 Comments


yeh Clapton is great but I'd rather listen to Green or Beck gets me more feels

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


20987 Comments


Not the biggest fan of Beck either to be honest.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


16056 Comments


Beck's done a lot of shit albums for sure but some live stuff ive seen just the tone he gets when he uses his thumb on those slow blues numbers gives me the shivers, i guess it's personal what guitarists gets you like that though

manosg
March 20th 2014


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This sounds very promising, I'm gonna check it out. Excellent review by the way."

Thanks dude. Knowing your taste, I think you'll enjoy this one.

manosg
March 20th 2014


6250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I absolutely love his performance on Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs but I personally wouldn't put him up there with my all time favourite guitarists."

Yeah same here. Beano and Disraeli Gears are among my favorites too but I wouldn't have Clapton in my top 10 either.

On the other hand Beck is a very interesting case. I'll agree with mena. When he's in that blues mode he's very good but I haven't checked most of his work. I think I've listened to all of the Jeff Beck Group albums and Blow by Blow from his solo work but I really need to revisit them.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


20987 Comments


Oh yeah Beano too, although (imo) Green's performance on A Hard Road >>

@mena: I must admit I haven't heard much live stuff from Beck.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy