Radio Moscow
Radio Moscow


4.0
excellent

Review

by Antonius USER (26 Reviews)
March 14th, 2014 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blues, wha-wha & whiskey

Their name may suggest that they descent from the northern Eurasia, however they have nothing to do with that part of the world. The Iowa originated band which was formed in 2003 by the multi-instrumentalist Parker Griggs, is dedicated to play heavy blues rock since their early days. Produced by Dan Auerbach (The Black Keys) and released by Alive Records, it was inevitable that Radio Moscow would include garage and psychedelic elements in it's sound. These characteristics in combination with the bluesy orientation of the band create an album that unfortunately did not get the recognition it deserves.

The introductory one minute song which actually can be summed up as 'a pandemonium of wha-wha guitars', describes the majority of the sound you will hear in the rest of the album. Moscow pay tribute to their influences from the 60's as psychedelia is obvious and immense. Take for example "Whatever Happened" and "Frustrating Sound": the former is a fusion of heavy blues with some well crafted riffs while the latter seems like a track composed by the greatest trio of Cream which for a strange reason failed to be included in one of their masterpieces.

Although Dan Auerbach is known for many things rather than his production skills, he manages very successfully to garnish Moscow's sound with a garage aura that blends perfectly with the overall picture. "Luckydutch" which is one of the finest tracks of the record is a proof for this. Heavy influenced by virtuoso Jimi Hendrix, Parker follows his hero's temperament and delivers strident riffs backed-up with some stiff vocals. It is also worth exploring the instrumental "Lickskillet" which starts with a southern style and quickly turns out to be an insane jam song.

It might be difficult for some to absorb this from the first time. If by the second time you still don't get it, try listening along with a glass of whiskey. Not much though because you might confuse "Luckydutch" with "N.I.B". Cheers.



Recent reviews by this author
James La Petite MortRival Sons Great Western Valkyrie
Royal Blood Out of the BlackBoston Life, Love & Hope
The Temperance Movement The Temperance MovementThe Winery Dogs The Winery Dogs
user ratings (37)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2014


6143 Comments


Good review, pos.

The rhythm section of this band is currently involved in Blues Pills, another good outfit in the same alley.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

Antonius
March 14th 2014


229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man. Yes there are many similarities in the two bands. Great stuff

Digging: Purson - The Circle and the Blue Door

Mad.
March 23rd 2014


3862 Comments


Great review, pos'd. This sounds pretty cool, especially if Mr Auerbach's involved. This band are playing at Desertfest in London soon.

Props for reviewing this obscure stuff!

stagemaster
March 25th 2014


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review mate, pos'd. They are quite good, Luckydutch is my favorite song of the album too, and Brain Cycles doesn't dissapoint either!

Mad.
March 25th 2014


3862 Comments


Is this streaming anywhere?

Antonius
March 26th 2014


229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmE4OKdvOlY

Azn.
March 26th 2014


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's also streaming on spotify

Mad.
March 26th 2014


3862 Comments


Spotify is awful though :

Azn.
March 26th 2014


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how so

it's like itunes except you already bought everything

Mad.
March 26th 2014


3862 Comments


Well there's adverts every second song for a start, the royalties are also awful which makes paying for it even more gullible and pointlessly expensive. You also have to download a crappy program to use it that takes ages to start up and basically refuses to close. Occasionally you might get rec'd decent music, but it's in no way better than Lastfm's system.

Grooveshark/bandcamp and then buy it if it's good is the way to go

Found this here anyway: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Radio+Moscow/248458

Azn.
March 26th 2014


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the adverts are nowhere near "every second song", I've listened to multiple albums before actually encountering ads.

the program is easy to close, there are plenty of programs that don't fully terminate when you x out, so unless you're totally computer illiterate this shouldn't be remotely an issue

and we're not talking about making money off of spotify so......yeah



Mad.
March 26th 2014


3862 Comments


Well you're lucky obviously, I think I get maximum 3 songs before an advert. And I do know how to use a computer lol but I just don't really like how 'intrusive' they're being with it not closing etc
I find it quite important to support bands, especially when a lot of them are smaller bands like this one so that's a big reason why I don't like Spotify.

As for the album, pretty awesome listen, 3.5-4 level. The vocals seem a bit unfitting though, just randomly spliced about instead of driving songs. Instrumentation is pretty s1k though

Azn.
March 26th 2014


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know the actual frequency of ads, but i'm sure they get annoying

Mad.
March 27th 2014


3862 Comments


Oh, do you have premium? That explains why you don't hate it lol

Azn.
March 27th 2014


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't lol I just seem to rarely encounter ads

StickFeit
June 30th 2014


47 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Holy shit.
This band.

Antonius
July 1st 2014


229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they've released a new album but I believe this is top class. Marginally better than Brain Cycles

Mad.
July 1st 2014


3862 Comments


What's the new album like?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy