Arrange
Their Bodies in a Fog


3.5
great

Review

by NoSons USER (20 Reviews)
March 11th, 2014 | 12 replies


Release Date: 03/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Arranged with a hint of atmosphere.

With the exciting releases of big name bands in March, it is nice to find an album very much under the radar and equally as soothing. Arrange has been recording this album for a year and a half. The amount of time spent embedded in this album has produced an eerie JMSN with the solidarity of Conor Oberst. This combination mixed together allows for a spacey album to float its way through the headphones.

The band ( i.e. Malcolm Lacey) uses a combination of synthesizers, guitars, and beats to create such a unique atmosphere. The vocals are delivered very lightly, rarely reaching above what feels like a whisper. 'Stranger' is an example of a solid song that combines a soothing melody with soft vocals, embracing ambiance as a way to drive a point. 'Dream' showcases a solid lyrical output accompanying the music, "They say you're older you're stronger, but you can say you can't stop what you feel, you can't help how you feel, you couldn't be if you wanted to be." The lyrics feel self-defeated against the calming music, and the contradictory nature is unbelievably addicting.

The compositions are also a highlight of the album. I can't help but say that the first track, 'A Fog' has the musical embrace and genius comparable to a Phil Collins song. That sentence reads unbelievably weird to me, but it works. At times the songs use drones to continue along, much like Black Swans or Tim Hecker would do. This is especially apparent in the longest song on the album, 'Heart // What If This Were It?' The penultimate track, 'For Ma' is a sentimental track using horn like effects to set the background of the strong performance.

'Their Bodies in a Fog' is one that is mixed between ambient, electronic music, and maybe, just maybe shoegazing. The album is a soothing listen, and one that should be heard as bigger bands continue to fill the month with releases. Arrange (Or Lacey) has released another solid album to add to the catalog.



Recent reviews by this author
My Fictions Stranger SongsTrap Them Blissfucker
Hour of Penance RegicideWovenhand Refractory Obdurate
Beartooth DisgustingYoung and in the Way When Life Comes to Death
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TWIGtheWONDERKID
March 11th 2014


815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So . . . This is surprisingly nice.

Digging: Patrick Wolf - Lycanthropy

dimsim3478
March 11th 2014


5083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, Malcom's always ruled. Been listening to this all day.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

TWIGtheWONDERKID
March 11th 2014


815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New to me, but I'm liking it.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Weird you went into talking about producers but mentioned a "band" - I swear it's just one dude? I can see you want to link it to ambient, but I don't know about Tim Hecker & Black Swan since they're very recognisable styles and nothing about those styles is around here. Otherwise, I don't mean to be rude but... is English your first language? A lot of this review confuses me ):

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album's great (and name you price!) if anyone wants to check it: http://arrange.bandcamp.com/album/their-bodies-in-a-fog

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2014


31218 Comments


It is just the 1 guy (unless he has session musicians)

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

RoyalImperialGuard
March 11th 2014


1323 Comments


Cool artwork and album title. Will give this a jam for sure.

CaptainDooRight
March 11th 2014


29421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

some dece feels

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Phlegm
March 12th 2014


4822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

cool review, nice sounds - a little cheesy at times though

Digging: Shivers - Shivers

Surette
March 13th 2014


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my favorite album from him and one of my favorite albums of 2014 so far.

LIONFURY
March 17th 2014


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, Arrange isn't a band...

NoSons
March 19th 2014


83 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is just one guy, but it is still a band name eh? I edited it. I knew it was lacey I guess it just slipped into a plural.

Also, English is my first language and I will say I write much like a confusing asshole, often times because I do not have the benefits of ever re-reading things or having microsoft word. Sorry about that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy