Nothing
Guilty of Everything


3.0
good

Review

by Jamie Coughlan USER (11 Reviews)
March 10th, 2014 | 18 replies | 904 views


Release Date: 03/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sound and fury

Streamlined. Shiny. Digestible. This is not exactly the type of vocabulary one would expect to utilise when describing a band that Relapse Records is marketing as some manner of love child progeny of Kevin Shields and Justin Broadrick. Despite this, these are the adjectives that instantly spring to mind upon first listen to Nothing's debut album Guilty of Everything.

Regardless, some aspects of My Bloody Valentine's and Jesu's signature sounds are firmly in place: the dreamy, ethereal vocals that both bands share; the wall of sound guitars of Jesu and the concise, poppy verse-chorus-verse constructions of My Bloody Valentine are all accounted for. However, what is abundantly clear is that the rough edges have been sanded off. There's no chance of the haphazard, seemingly thrown together but actually meticulously constructed, nature of My Bloody Valentine or the oppressive, one man in his bedroom, claustrophobia of Jesu.

When taken in direct comparison to these pioneers there is something decidedly pedestrian about Nothing. The overriding issue is that while the band create an imposing atmosphere and sound, they struggle to inject a great deal of truly memorable moments into their dense noise. They play it safe, staying perhaps slightly left of the middle of lane, but never once veering into the ditch.

In spite of this, the band do every so often show their promise. Lead single "Dig" shows the potential of their shoegaze-metal brand of indie rock while "Get Well" adds a surprisingly pop punk vibe that adds a bounce and playfulness to proceedings. Unfortunately, many of their other offerings are too indistinct, melding seamlessly into one long beautiful sounding but somewhat unmemorable collage of sound.

What is evident, is the band's undoubted potential. With this album they have laid a solid basis on which they can hopefully expand and diversify their huge sound. If they invest more of the distinct melody like that present in the infectious title track into their future offerings, we may be in for something truly both nostalgic and innovative.



Recent reviews by this author
Pixies Indie CindyQueens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
The Replacements HootenannySoundgarden King Animal
Melvins StagDavid Gray A Century Ends
user ratings (166)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
MisterTornado CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Eclipsing history and influence...


Comments:Add a Comment 
jtswope
March 10th 2014


2139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

probably gonna give this a listen later. it's been on my list of things to check out.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"When taken in direct comparison to these pioneers there is something decidedly pedestrian about Nothing."

This criticism seems to be the foundation of your review here, comparing Nothing to established definitions of sound and the pioneers who made it happen, which is easy and redundant if that's were your criticism is going to end. It's a fine starting point, but expand upon it within the context of the band's sound, beyond just a couple sentences like you do in the fourth block of text. To me these age old definitions of sound and where a band like Nothing lies within its history is completely arbitrary bullshit rockist idealism and only encourages the comparison and feuding of different bands with different ideals [even if they sound similar on the surface].

Otherwise you've got a decent review here. Expand upon some of your points [tell us more about the record itself], and beef up or cut down some of your blocks of texts and you'll be well on your way ~

eternium
March 10th 2014


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can you really compare Nothing to other shoegaze bands when it appears that you can only name Jesu and MBV? I'm also really getting annoyed that reviewers can't let go of the fact that they're on a mostly metal label.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pitchfork did the same thing, alluding to Nothing's presence on Relapse. This kind of thing is happening everywhere though; DJ Rashad on Hyperdub, SpaceGhostPurrp on 4AD, Grizzly Bear on Warp, etc etc. Which really only says that these labels seek to expand their sound a little, or they simply like the artist enough to sign them amongst a seemingly conflicting roster. I'm glad labels like these are knocking down their own barriers of sound, but to dedicate your opening paragraph of a review to this idea is trivial at best.

SeaAnemone
March 10th 2014


20296 Comments


someone link this review on whirr's facebook plz

sixdegrees
March 10th 2014


17039 Comments


My Bloody Valentine

Digging: Foreground Eclipse - Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights

jamiecoughlan
March 11th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@MisterTornado The constructive criticism is much appreciated. Cheers!

@eternium I only referred to Jesu and MBV as they were the only bands explicitly mentioned by the Relapse Records website. Additionally, I simply commented that they are on Relapse Records, I made no allusion or judgement in relation to that label being a mainly metal label. I'm happy to see them expand their roster. Peace!

SeaAnemone
March 11th 2014


20296 Comments


you could have, you know, analyzed it yourself

jamiecoughlan
March 11th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hate writing reviews. I've already changed my mind about this album. Tarts.

Killerhit
March 11th 2014


5250 Comments


"digestible"

"digestible"

taxidermist
July 18th 2014


7203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review blows tbh.

jamiecoughlan
August 25th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You blow tbh

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
August 25th 2014


13134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

same

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

another
August 25th 2014


55 Comments


Smh

NorthernSkylark
August 25th 2014


3255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tbh

Digging: Wilco - The Whole Love

jefflebowski
August 25th 2014


8242 Comments


smae

Digging: Brian Eno and Karl Hyde - High Life

taxidermist
August 27th 2014


7203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

quit trying so hard you fuck boy lol rekt

emester
August 27th 2014


3235 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Such a great record

Digging: Adversarial - All Idols Fall Before the Hammer



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy