Elder Brother
Heavy Head


4.0
excellent

Review

by Daniel Davis USER (35 Reviews)
March 9th, 2014 | 20 replies


Release Date: 03/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A worthwhile side venture from one of pop punk's more talented guitarists.

Elder Brother is the side project of The Story So Far's guitarist Kevin Geyer and vocalist Dan Rose. For every similarity it shares with Kevin's mother project, there's a dozen other things that make it a unique venture. It melds the upbeat atmosphere of pop punk with the twisting, introspective guitar melodies and lyrics of bands participating in the revival of the 90s emo sound: think American Football mixed with TSSF. Your enjoyment of the resulting material will likely hinge on how much your mouth is watering at the sound of that combination, but rest assured that although it may be lacking diversity in some areas, everything comes together to make a memorable, worthwhile record.

An immediate standout on the album is the first single "Throw Me To The Wolves", with its prominent, powerful syncopated bassline. The way the guitar and bass weave together induces a warm and nostalgic feeling, something that perfectly fits the lyrical content of the song. Dan puts real emotion into his voice, but sings mostly straight and doesn't try to sound like every other out-of-key punk/emo vocalist. It gives him a unique, smooth sound, but as sincere as he is, sometimes it comes off as a little boring. More moments like the end of "Lightning Bug" would have been appreciated, where Dan screams his lungs out and manages to sound both unrestrained and fully in control at the same time. Kevin shows a little more versatility than he has before, although he has a signature style to his writing that's on display here, and the percussion is ably handled by brothers Charles and Matthew Vincent, who provide a steady groove that brings a relaxing sensation to the music while never becoming uninteresting.

The production really brings things together, with well-picked tones and clarity throughout. The vocals are just a tad too loud in the mix for something that emphasizes instruments on a similar level musically, but for something that's so sing-a-long anyway it shouldn't bother most people. The album's short run time keeps the fact that a lot of songs sound similar down to a minor complaint at best. If you are a fan of The Story So Far but would prefer to listen to something more laid back and toned down, or just a fan of rock with 90s emo influences at all, this album comes highly recommended.



Recent reviews by this author
Lower Than Atlantis Lower than atlantisDeath From Above 1979 The Physical World
Polyphia MuseSecret Band Secret Band
Braid No CoastMonuments The Amanuensis
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Josh Howe (4)
A side project that exceeds expectations....


Comments:Add a Comment 
paradox1216
March 9th 2014


514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not really used to reviewing albums like this, but I figured I'd give it a try. Great album from
talented people.

Edit: Well, goodness, this isn't completely out yet and I have failed to give an album stream. Let me
oblige you good people. http://newnoisemagazine.com/stream-elder-brothers-new-album-now/

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2014


1034 Comments


"but rest assured that although it maybe be lacking diversity in some areas"

Typo above man. You've got a really laid back writing style, though sometimes a few of the things you write seem a little blunt because of it. I'll just point out too that your use of 'they' in the second para in relation to the singer seems out of place.

Nice and concise though man, pos.

paradox1216
March 9th 2014


514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for pointing those out. The first thing was just something my eye skipped over, and the second was me forgetting the context I was phrasing it in ("He has a unique sound" as opposed to "The vocals have a unique sound"). I probably should have proofread this one a bit more.

And yeah, sometimes it ends up being too blunt for its own good, but I like to sound conversational ^_^

Bengweeen
March 9th 2014


107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just got my pre-order, listening right now! I'm loving Throw Me To The Wolves, Lightning Bug, Any Sort of Plan, and In My Bones. Really chill version of TSSF, getting me stoked for summer.

silentstar
March 9th 2014


2281 Comments


album art is really pretty

listened to lead single and sounds nice - will probably be checking it out sometime this week

joshieboy12345
March 11th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice man, l shall be reviewing this soon. Really really loving this atm.

kmace
March 11th 2014


159 Comments


The instrumental track on this is just bizarre. Other than that this album is pretty sweet if a bit samey throughout. Nice review though

Bengweeen
March 12th 2014


107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, that interlude really throws off the albums vibes. wish they didn't put it on there

joshieboy12345
March 13th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Who's Gonna Carry You Home is so cool.

SirDazza28
March 15th 2014


410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I should check this out, I loved "Throw Me To The Wolves".

dimsim3478
March 15th 2014


5327 Comments


so this is basically like a more pop punk oriented version of Minus the Bear

Digging: Owen - Other People's Songs

paradox1216
March 17th 2014


514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^that's a decent comparison, yeah. especially lyric wise

TylerLamberg
March 17th 2014


182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album definitely deserves some more attention. Nice review as well.

joshieboy12345
March 19th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

''This album definitely deserves some more attention''
Amen brother.

SirDazza28
March 19th 2014


410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only 12 have rated this :c

joshieboy12345
March 19th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know, need to spread this.

Spluger
March 22nd 2014


1188 Comments


Will check this out. I've been having a hard time finding some good pop punk bands lately.

NoSons
March 23rd 2014


91 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is contagious. It feels familiar. On my first listen I found myself singing along and sometimes even feeling like I could finish Dan's lines.

It makes me happy to hear this.

joshieboy12345
March 24th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Catchy as all hell man. So unknown too. Hidden gem.

joshieboy12345
April 14th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My review is up for this. Give it a look.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy