BABYMETAL
Babymetal


4.0
excellent

Review

by discovolante USER (79 Reviews)
March 8th, 2014 | 900 replies | 27,349 views


Release Date: 02/26/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An addictive tongue-in-cheek parody of modern J-pop, Babymetal's first full length album proves to be pretty solid, despite some dull and repetitive moments.

16 of 17 thought this review was well written

One of the few groups daring to take "idol" J-pop to unseen heights, pop-metal trio Babymetal took Japan by storm within just two years. An offspring unit of Sakura Gakuin, Babymetal managed to quickly surpass their original group in popularity with their unique heavy metal-bubblegum pop mixture. In February of 2014, the group finally released their first self-titled album, which is becoming a global smash hit, invading the Japanese, American and Canadian iTunes charts.

Collectively speaking, the album continues its heavy metal-pop mixture, and the opening track, "Megitsune", remains one of the album's most memorable moments. Chockful of elements from the likes of electropop, Japanese folk, and, of course, heavy metal, the song's uniqueness works as a tremendous opener for the album. "Gimichoko!!" (or "Gimme Chocolate!!") is another memorable track, which has an undeniable hyperactive aura to it, and its true appeal is based upon the hyperactive, cutesy vocals of the trio, blended together with the clashing metalcore-esqued track. However, tracks like "Ii ne" dull the album's creative potential, and that track's potential is particularly diminished with the cliche rap interlude. Also, with an album that extends almost an hour, their style can be quite tiring and repetitive by the time the album is halfway through. However, there are a few tracks like "Headbangeeeeerrrrr!!!!!" and "Onedari Dai Sakusen" that are definitely capable of captivating the listener's attention in the meantime. Also, Babymetal's first single, "Doki Doki Morning", is a blast to listen to as well, with its thrashy sound supplied by the supporting band, mixed with the cute and hypnotically addictive vocals of the trio. Essentially, this one four-minute song sums up what Babymetal's sound is all about in a nutshell.

All together, Babymetal's first album projects their hyperactive bubblegum metal style quite well. Although, by the middle of the album, Babymetal's style does tend to wear on the listener, and, since its duration lasts near an hour, the listener might be a bit bored, since the band's style, while ultimately admirable and definitely unique, starts to become dull and slightly repetitive. With that said, if you like your pop music heavy, yet still cuddly, then give this album a listen. It is definitely a one-of-a-kind spectacle, and one that has to be seen for what it is: a severe heavy metal sugar rush.



Recent reviews by this author
Supercar OOKeah!!Sex Machineguns Made in Japan
Nine Days Wonder The Scenery is in Disguise ThereSoul Scream The Deep
fOUL Dostoevsky GrooveMissile Girl Scoot Fiesta!
user ratings (236)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
GrimReaper (4)
Everything that metal shouldn't be and yet it somehow works. Brilliantly....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
March 8th 2014



12116 Comments


funny this is the most popular thing i've seen you review. pos.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

discovolante
March 8th 2014



658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I figured it would be loll. I wanted to do a review for a popular Japanese act, and I thought I'd review Babymetal. I'm glad you liked it!

Digging: S.R.S - Across the Mindset

Butkuiss
March 8th 2014



4153 Comments


Been waiting so long for this.

titanslayer
March 8th 2014



1596 Comments


From the track I heard their sound works surprisingly well

discovolante
March 8th 2014



658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Titan: It does, for a while. But after a few songs, I think it starts to become a bit repetitive. It's pretty awesome for what it is though.

CalculatingInfinity
March 8th 2014



1543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've been waiting for this review :D

This album has been spreading like wildfire, it's nice really to be see a noviety evolving to something legimate (e.g. No lip sync anymore, no backing tracks anymore, allowing walls of death/moshing in shows now, about to travel abroad) and watching people's minds trying to comprehend what they've just listened to. This is just straight up fun and a collaboration of the evolution of Babymetal to this point, including the good (e.g. Megitsune, Akatsuki and Uki Uki Midnight) and the bad (e.g. Ii ne!, Akumu no Rinbukyoku and Onedari Daisakusen is fucking awful in every way)

Digging: Supercell - Today is a Beautiful Day

conesmoke
March 8th 2014



5196 Comments


Omg I lost my shit when my friend showed me these guys. Watched a good 3 or so film clips. Babymetuls 4 lyf. yeah it's hilarious, but musically repetitive and heinous lol.

CalculatingInfinity
March 8th 2014



1543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't get the complaints that this is repetitive, they do alot of things on this from Metalcore to Power Metal to even Dubstep (I think). The main problem of this is the very hit and miss songwriting, which will hopefully be resolved in their next effort.



spookynewghostfriend
March 8th 2014



3297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

omg torrented so hard

CalculatingInfinity
March 8th 2014



1543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

With the fact it's only printed in Japan, I don't blame you.

TheGreatQ
March 8th 2014



1328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was the most popular download on a metal site that I use to find new bands, and everyone was having a fit about it because it isn't "real metal"

Digging: Empty Yard Experiment (E.Y.E.) - Kallisti

CalculatingInfinity
March 8th 2014



1543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"and everyone was having a fit about it because it isn't "real metal""

lol, people take music too seriously if they're doing that.

south_of_heaven 11
March 8th 2014



5433 Comments


*watches Gimme Chocolate on youtube*




wat

JS19
March 8th 2014



4215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love this band simply because of how rustled pretentious metalheads' jimmies get :-D

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

CalculatingInfinity
March 8th 2014



1543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Them jimmies be rustled.

Also Babymetal are coming to Europe this year so I'm hoping for a UK date :D

JS19
March 8th 2014



4215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

As long as it's not just london I might even go for a laugh

CalculatingInfinity
March 8th 2014



1543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Same, their shows look amazing.

Anthracks
March 8th 2014



3731 Comments


this is the tackiest thing i've ever heard

Digging: Devangelic - Resurrection Denied

Calc
March 8th 2014



12116 Comments


^^^

true, this is a band I'd show my friends to show that they exist but nothing really beyond that. still pre novel though

Azn.
March 8th 2014



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

very true; this is so japan haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy