Architects
Lost Forever // Lost Together


3.0
good

Review

by Nikkolae USER (21 Reviews)
March 6th, 2014 | 98 replies


Release Date: 03/10/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hollow Crown this is not.

It seems trivial really, comparing a new album to the band’s “seminal” work, a gag if you will, that most if not all reviews (and reviewers for that matter) have to use every once in a while, but when the band in question is Architects and the seminal work is Hollow Crown, it’s almost a necessity to do so, seeing how to most people Hollow Crown is the apex of the sound that Architects is known for.

Yet here we are, 3 years on after the dismal misstep that was “The Here and Now” and the luke-warm reception to “Daybreaker” and Architects can’t wait to distance themselves as far away as possible from their “post-Crown” work, but even so, something is not quite whole here, the riffs are there, the impressive vocals courtesy of Sam Carter are also there (with added range for emotion and melodies sake if I may add) the use of electronic passages like the bridge of Broken Cross is also here, so why does it seem like this is if anything a compromise between their most caustic work and their present more radio-friendly incarnation?

In reality I couldn’t say, it’s pretty clear that after Daybreaker the band put on their collective thinking caps on and decided to produce the most visceral album they could this side of 2010 while still dragging on the weight of their desire to produce a more radio friendly sound, it´s this that seems to be Lost Forever // Lost Together’s biggest flaw, its disjointed and it lacks focus, gone is the cathartic energy of the first half of hollow crown to be replaced with the slow burning aggression of 3 way combo Gravedigger (by far one of the albums best cuts) Naysayer and Broken Cross, and while the latter half of the album is stellar to say the least (Youth is Wasted on The Young shows the beast of a front man that Carter is) it still lacks most of the replay value that their predecessors did (I’m looking at you Ruin).

Despite the somewhat harsh criticism, this is a good album with really enjoyable musical moments and a beastly performance by Sam Carter, yet it’s as if they refuse to push the extra mile that we all know they are capable of, so for now don’t call it a comeback… at-least not yet.



Recent reviews by this author
Teen Flirt Welcome HomeIDYLLS Prayer for Terrene
Swallow the Sun Emerald Forest and the BlackbirdGrieved Ageing
Xbalanke IridioFuture Islands On the Water
user ratings (367)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Mall (2)
I refuse to listen...

jaspvr (4.5)
Perhaps Architects have finally found their sound with album number 6...

Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (2)
Lost forever, lost together, we have no idea where we are....

Charlie (4)
Not groundbreaking, not forward-thinking -- just loads of aggressive fun....

related reviews

Daybreaker

The Here and Now

Hollow Crown

Ruin
recommended by reviewer
Architects Ruin

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nikkolae
March 6th 2014


4860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Decided to jump back into reviewing a bit, give me your best nerds.

Digging: Cursed Graves - Western Blood

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014


22011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good album

Digging: Miguel - Kaleidoscope Dream

InFiction
March 6th 2014


3685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Not a bad review, I just feel you could talk a little bit more about the album and tracks themselves. I completely understand dedicating a large portion of the review about history and comparison between albums (especially for the haphazard career of Architects), but you miss out on describing the album in greater detail.
Just my thoughts though. Nice work.

Nikkolae
March 6th 2014


4860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i actually feel the same but i didnt wanted to do a really lenghty write up, getting back on the horse is kinda hard haha

Calc
March 6th 2014


12250 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

3.8 outta 4 paragraphs talking about everything except the music of the album?


sput review.

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

FearThyEvil
March 6th 2014


12625 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

album blows

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014


993 Comments


Not checked these guys since Hollow Crown, but Naysayer is pretty good.

EJinHD
March 6th 2014


94 Comments


Is This Better or worse than Daybreaker?

Spec
March 6th 2014


27188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Naysayer and Broken Cross are the weakest tracks on here.

Nikkolae
March 6th 2014


4860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

its slightly better than daybreaker

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014


22011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this is better than daybreaker, though still a long way off hollow crown


last two tracks are stellar.

EJinHD
March 6th 2014


94 Comments


I may give this a listen. Daybreaker put me to sleep.

MuhNamesTyler
March 6th 2014


4314 Comments


"IT this that seems to be Lost Forever // Lost Together’s"

Still gotta listen to this I guess

Digging: Revocation - Deathless

Nikkolae
March 6th 2014


4860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

fixd

TooLateToGoBack
March 6th 2014


1775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Distant Blue is fantastic.

bloc
March 6th 2014


34919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow just noticed the album cover is the same as Hollow Crown

MuhNamesTyler
March 6th 2014


4314 Comments


Dey tryin

Nikkolae
March 6th 2014


4860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

same as Daybreaker too

ASnideReturns
March 6th 2014


5241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry, I had to neg.
Your writing style is good, but I expected a review of this album and not a nostalgic comparison to Hollow Crown.

Digging: Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare

Nikkolae
March 6th 2014


4860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

thats fine, i know it might need some extra work but i just felt i said all i could say about this haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy