Son Lux
Alternate Worlds


3.5
great

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (105 Reviews)
March 6th, 2014 | 23 replies


Release Date: 03/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Arguably some of the best music Ryan Lott's ever released.

Ryan Lott's abilities as a producer have continuously thrown up brilliant tunes, but any full lengths under the Son Lux moniker have tended to buckle under the weight of tonal inconsistencies and (to put it very bluntly) filler. Stand-outs like 2008's "Break" and last year's "Easy" almost gained mini fan bases of their own for lack of a complementary album to be directed to, and as such Son Lux, as an artist, has existed in an odd limbo state where plenty have heard individual songs but it's rare to find anyone intimately familiar with his work as a whole. To date, his music has best been digested in small bites: one of many reasons the quietly released two-track Tear was so excellent.

As a four track EP, Alternate Worlds is unsurprisingly great, but the consistency can only be said to partially contribute to what is arguably Lott's best album so far. Lott has taken the four stand-out tracks of Lanterns and "re-imagined" them. To the uninitiated, that means going back to square one in order to take all the risks he was previously too nervous to try.

This isn't to say Son Lux music has ever been standard before, but Alternate Worlds goes so far out of its way to experiment that it might as well have been. At its safest, Lott strips down "Lost it to Trying" to a shivering, vulnerable cry: turning the previously triumphant single into something much more defeatist by focusing on forlorn vocal melodies. On the other end of the spectrum, he's bringing in New Zealand songstress Lorde for a much angrier rendition of Easy complete with her sinister snarls and a chaotic, screeching electronic malfunction of a breakdown. What original sweetness there was is lost under squelches of bass and oppressively militant percussion.

Often these kind of alternate cut albums exist as a service to devote fans; a "what could have been" for the kind of person who's already greedily digested any previous albums to a tasteless mulch. Alternate Worlds might have begun its short life with this in mind, but these are four standalone tracks in their own right and in most cases easily surpass their original iterations. However, there is a sense of indulgence evident in the over the top production and dramatic blasts of sound, and to this I say two things. One: it isn't much of a weakness in the general scope of things. Two: if you don't want horn blasts and heroic build ups, who are you and why the hell are you listening to Son Lux?



Recent reviews by this author
Mr. Mitch Don't LeaveGrouper Ruins
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2014


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Stream it! https://soundcloud.com/son-lux/sets/alternate-worlds

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review man. I would have said pretty much the same thing...just with a little more hyperbole ;)

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I prefer these new iterations (with the exception of Lost it Trying maybe) more than the originals by quite a bit.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2014


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Really? The "old" Lost it to Trying never really sat too right with me and I've been spinning the new one all day. That and the "new" Alternate World

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really loved the energy and choatic nature of the original Lost it to Trying, but I also am a little biased because a friend of mine is good friends with Ryan Lott and plays the bass saxophone on that track. I still like the new version, it's just pretty different.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2014


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

hahaa, that's so cool

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm still waiting for him to introduce me :]

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Feature this and un-feature my other review. No glory for Jonny ):

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014


16131 Comments


sounds good, especially the first track

LordePots
March 6th 2014


9254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Review Summary: Arguably some of the best music Ryan Lott's ever released."

im glad you put arguably because not even close

Digging: Hiatus Kaiyote - By Fire

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2014


6201 Comments


my goodness you're mad prolific of late

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2014


6201 Comments


Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Review Summary: Arguably some of the best music Ryan Lott's ever released."

im glad you put arguably because not even close


if that 4.5 is serious then holy shit i need to check this cat out

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I've been ill - too much time inside ):

tommygun
March 6th 2014


25413 Comments


need this

LordePots
March 6th 2014


9254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off


if that 4.5 is serious then holy shit i need to check this cat out


get his first album first, its one of my all time favourite albums. but his following 2 albums are both hard 4.5's for me too as well as this and his ep from last year. but yeah, this guy is someone with whom you need to start at the beginning with, everything that follows stems from the debut At War With Walls and Mazes. Tonnes of little easter eggs that most people miss. For instance, there is a thematic piano melody on ATWWAM that reoccurs in various forms throughout all his LPS that links them together as well as snippets of reoccurring lyrics. Also...

album 1: At War With Walls and Mazes
album 2: We Are Rising


We Are Rising=WAR

at WAR with Walls and Mazes

and continuing on, the first song on WAR Flickers sets up another reoccurring theme/melody about LANTERNS...

album 3: Lanterns


the more familiar you are with his progression the more little easter eggs you'll find and the more you shit yourself everytime u listen to his stuff



StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2014


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Potsy is Son Lux's #1 fan for sure.

LordePots
March 6th 2014


9254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ive just spent enough time with his music to notice

Phlegm
March 7th 2014


5596 Comments


awww cute (:

Digging: Raresh - Fabric 78

LordePots
March 7th 2014


9254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

about to go on a murder spree dont push your luck

LordePots
March 7th 2014


9254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

so much rage

building

bubbling

boiling



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy