Perfect Pussy
I have lost all desire for feeling


4.0
excellent

Review

by Symmetry USER (3 Reviews)
March 3rd, 2014 | 32 replies | 1,699 views


Release Date: 04/25/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Light, joy, and peace"

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Perfect Pussy were conceived as a sort-of joke - a fake band for one scene in Scott Coffey's 2013 film Adult World - but sound like anything but, with often deadly-serious lyrics and riffs that convey the group is careening headlong into hell and are ***ing angry about it. The pace of their demo tape I have lost all desire for feeling is relentless, with the buzz and swarm of noise played breakneck and only briefly crashing down into moments of swelling, reeling feedback.

The Syracuse punks draw clear inspiration from Fucked Up, with this 12-minute demo tape reminiscent of The Chemistry of Common Life's hour-long runtime cut down to its rawest, played at a blistering pace but hitting similar notes. Vocalist Meredith Graves' unintelligible yelp bears particular resemblance to Lullabye Arkestra's contribution to "Son the Father," or Alice Glass if "Doe Deer" had been recorded on a broken 8-track in a dirty dive bar bathroom.

All members of the band bring stellar performances - the rollicking guitar riff of "I," the spiraling synth lines of the first three tracks, the heavy, jangling bass and thunderous drumming throughout - but Graves is the clear draw here. Her vocals are buried deep in the mix but remain the driving force of each of the four songs. The excellent lyrics often come across like the revelations a Buddhist philosopher might have if he were thrust into the tribulations of being in his twenties in Western society, with drunken nights at punk clubs and bar shows replacing days spent at a temple; more failing friendships and devastating break-ups and less religious communion and meditation. While the topics Graves hits could be firmly categorized as downers, her lyrics often show that these struggles give way to hope, forgiveness, and growth.

Still, these lyrics are almost inaudible, swamped in feedback and the enveloping noise produced by the other members of the band. "I'm extremely shy and I hate my voice," Graves said in an interview with Pitchfork. A former jazz singer uncomfortable yelling and shouting, she says that the decision to mix the vocals so low is part insecurity, part insistence that she wants to "be part of the band, [but not] be the band under any circumstances." Despite her integral contribution, the musicians (also members of several Syracuse noise, grindcore, and rock bands) play with a confidence that ensures she has little to worry about, producing solid, locked-in noise pop in the first half and a surprising foray into droney, bassy psychedelia at the end of the tape. It's clear this group has a strong grasp on their sound already, making this short demo a very promising hint of greater things to come.


user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



5923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Whoa didn't know this didnt have a review yet.

This was a really great ep, mad hype for the album this month

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



15698 Comments


most ungoogleable band of all time. their sound is cool tho

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



17130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

Such a fun live show.

Digging: LCD Soundsystem - The Long Goodbye

WeepingBanana
March 3rd 2014



9902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i was gonna see these guys a few months ago but couldn't cuz reasons

WeepingBanana
March 3rd 2014



9902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol alex beebe would 1 this with a retarded soundoff

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



1488 Comments


Pitchforkcore.

Digging: Blood Orange - Cupid Deluxe

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great demo

Digging: Triple Darkness - Anathema

Ryus
March 3rd 2014



1371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

best band name

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

sportsboy
March 3rd 2014



538 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is very un-pitchforkcore wtf?

Digging: Dirty Projectors - Bitte Orca

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

uh, yeah, right.

WeepingBanana
March 3rd 2014



9902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what qualifies the pitchforkcore label?

wow this music sounds exactly like music that a music review website would review!

also, this demo made a bunch of rolling stone writers' individual year end list and was also on a buzzfeed year end list so idk what that means in the grand scheme of things

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

irrelevant comment was irrelevant thats for sure

Gyromania
March 3rd 2014



14653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this demo is a lot of fun

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

looking foreward to hearing the new one, i think its soon

Gyromania
March 3rd 2014



14653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you hear the new tracks? was talking to adam about it and i agree that it sounds a little lacklustre compared to this. i still love the vocals though

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i haven't, but the demo quality suits this so much that my fear is that if the production is too clean it could hurt the quality of the album. i think im gonna wait to hear the whole thing in context tho

Gyromania
March 3rd 2014



14653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pft, screw that - check it out: http://pitchfork.com/reviews/tracks/16525-perfect-pussy-driver/

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ughh fine checking

LordPots
March 3rd 2014



4491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude that was good i like



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy