The Ultra Electric Mega Galactic
The Ultra Electric Mega Galactic


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
March 3rd, 2014 | 29 replies


Release Date: 02/08/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ed Mundell is setting the controls for the heart of the sun.

Ed Mundell has been an icon in the stoner rock community for years. He not only laid the foundation for The Atomic Bitchwax's bluesy sound by performing on their first two albums, but most importantly, had helped Dave Wyndorf shape his psychedelic visions and successfully transpose them to tape for 18 years. Even though a dozen members have joined and left Monster Magnet over the years, Mundell's presence has always been taken for granted. However, his sudden wish to leave the band in 2010 to pursue other projects was a true curveball for the fans who felt the group were incomplete without him.

Nevertheless, a couple of years later, Ed returned with The Ultra Electric Mega Galactic, a new band that sound exactly like the name suggests: it's a powerful, spaced-out, jam-based instrumental collective. Mixing the deep grooves with extended, Hendrix-esque solos, The UEMG really showcases how absolutely astounding his guitar playing may be. Whether it's straightforward rockers like 'Rockets Aren't Cheap Enough', 'Exploration Team' and 'Hello To Oblivion', the space dub of 'Unassigned Agent X-27' or the slow, scorching finale, 'In The Atmosphere Factory', Mundell is constantly dropping tasty riffs with retro leanings and also shreds like crazy. This complete freedom really brings out the best in him. At the same time, drummer Rick Ferrante (Sasquatch) and bassist Collyn McCoy (Trash Titan, Otep) provide the precise rhythmic skeleton for his bombastic guitar work.

'The Man With A Thousand Names' stands out amid hard rocking cuts as it's propelled by oriental soundscapes built around a sitar, acoustic guitars and a riveting bass solo. Although this track gives the listener a welcome break from the manic numbers, the best moment this record has to offer is its gorgeous centerpiece, 'The Third Eye'. This wonderful, twelve-minute epic encompasses what the band are all about. Here, they have blended everything from dirty grooves, catchy drum/bass rhythms and feedback-drenched solos, crafting a leviathan of a track which will win over anyone who has ever questioned the act's songwriting prowess.

Overall, it's peculiar how close this album ends up to Monster Magnet and even The Atomic Bitchwax's output. Most importantly, it reveals how matching were Mundell and Wyndorf's musical tastes and how well they had worked together for almost two decades. Both have that knack for simple yet infectious riffs and over the years have managed to polish their chops to get the right sound. Unfortunately, MM is the latter's dream vehicle and even though I for one wish he returned to his former collaborator, I am happy to see Ed steering his own wheels. The Ultra Electric Mega Galactic is an eclectic effort that expands on the musician's back catalogue with sheer vitality.




Recent reviews by this author
Brant Bjork Black Power FlowerSiena Root Pioneers
The Ting Tings Super CriticalMark Lanegan Phantom Radio
KMFDM Our Time Will ComeThe Asteroid No. 4 The Asteroid No. 4
user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome stuff. Get it here - http://theuemg.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Brant Bjork - Black Flower Power

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


7433 Comments


Great review, Raul. Even though I'm not very fond of instrumental music, I dig this.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's great to hear. It's really diverse and keeps you listening till the end. I should've given it a 4.

Edit: Done.

Mad.
March 3rd 2014


4070 Comments


Props for giving this a review, it's in my BC wishlist but I still haven't checked.

By the sound of it, it's quite spacey which is just my thing, and I dig instrumental music

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep, this should be right up your alley. They're coming to Desertfest too!! God damn, I wish I could go to the festival. So many awesome bands are playing this year.

Mad.
March 3rd 2014


4070 Comments


Makes me feel guilty that I probably wont go, as much as I'd love to. None of my friends dig stoner
rock : (

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would go alone, I wouldn't care lol. You'll probably find some cool people there and randomly talk about stuff.

Mad.
March 3rd 2014


4070 Comments


Monkey3, The Machine, Sasquatch and Zodiac on the same day are quite tempting.

Who knows, maybe one day Methadone Skies will be on that lineup!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, I'd be the happiest man! So far, we're working our way through Central Europe. It's hard to reach UK by car in a few days of touring and not losing money. Unfortunately, our jobs are still getting in the way too.

Mad.
March 3rd 2014


4070 Comments


I'd definitely love to see you live some day, especially if you play the t/t of Enter the Void. How's the new album doing?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We haven't played the song in a while. We should fix that. We'll start recording next weekend and we should be done in 2-3 weeks. Then there's the mixing and mastering next month (I hope it doesn't take more).

Mad.
March 3rd 2014


4070 Comments


I imagine that song would be quite a fun one to do live, and that's pretty exciting! Tell me when it's out and I'll whip up a review for it.

I saw something the other day about ETV being your second LP, I didn't realise you'd released anything else. Is that around anywhere?

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


16114 Comments


yeh this is good stuff, your review got me right in the mood for this

just a small thing I noticed "a dozen of members "

Digging: H.P. Lovecraft - H.P. Lovecraft II

manosg
March 3rd 2014


6538 Comments


This is very interesting. I listened to a Russian stoner band a few weeks ago that has released a couple of instrumental albums and they were awesome but can't remember their name right now.

Great write up too.

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

Mad.
March 3rd 2014


4070 Comments


The Grand Astoria? Their second album is mostly instrumental and they have an instrumental EP. Awesome band

As for this, I gave it a listen, the long tracks are definitely better, awesome atmosphere but some of the shorter tracks have slightly weak production and the guitar tone can kill the atmosphere a bit. Reminds me of Atomic Bitchwax hard though

manosg
March 3rd 2014


6538 Comments


Just remembered. The band's called The Re-Stoned and the album Analog. They're on bandcamp too.

Mad.
March 3rd 2014


4070 Comments


Pretty terrible name but I'll definitely check em because their first LP's artwork is awesome. You should check TGA mayn

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Mad - yeah, we had an EP out in 2010. the songs should still be available for free on the band's last.fm or at least they can be listened to as a whole. it's not our best stuff (our best 4 songs imo from the first couple of years), but it's interesting. there are some cool ideas there that could've been reworked. the whole stuff is a bit closer to post-rock/metal, or that's how i see it (i was the only guitar player since we were a three-piece at the time).

@menawati - thanks for pointing out, i'll correct it.

Gyromania
March 4th 2014


15973 Comments


great work as per usual.

downloading now!

NodScene23
March 5th 2014


271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

MUNDELL IS BACK

Great review, nice to see this on the homepage.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy