CHON
Woohoo!


3.5
great

Review

by Jacob R. STAFF
March 2nd, 2014 | 73 replies


Release Date: 03/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: RIYL: fun, jazz-fusion sugar & highly programmed percussion

One of the biggest reasons to celebrate CHON’s recent output is that it came so close to not existing in the first place. It isn’t that the instrumental progressive (or something) band broke up at any point- no, the songs at hand simply ceased to be a priority for any of its members for awhile. In short: life got in the way. So while the Camarena brothers and company worked their asses off to pay the bills, those of us who were floored from their 2008 demo wondered if the instrumental electricity of “Across the Spectrum” was the last we’d hear from this batch of San Diego musicians.

Fast forward to 2014: we’ve got two more EPs from CHON, both of which explore jazz-fusion sensibilities and forego the frenetic post-hardcore of their demo. By and large, Woohoo! (I know, I KNOW, that name) is less a stylistic leap than last year’s Newborn Sun; the former finds a niche in the fusion style introduced in the latter. Jams like “Sketch” hark back to the math-rock acrobatics with which CHON has recently acquainted itself, while the mellower “Knot” directs the group’s technical proficiency in a more reserved direction. Not all the changes at hand are as subtle, though; bassist Drew Pelisek’s vocals in “Ecco” are bound to be the major conversation piece of Woohoo!. For directing the first CHON song to sport vocals, they’re rather baseless- his voice wavers in and out of tune, constraining the song instead of properly heading it. Pelisek’s singing would fit right in with an up-and-coming emo group, but here? They’re external to what these guys are best at. Even more concerningly, they exist alongside surprisingly diluted instrumentation: something I’ve never been able to honestly say about CHON.

The truth of the matter is that “Ecco” says all the important things about this release. The song implies a band that’s thrilled to be getting its time in the spotlight (after all, these guys are currently touring with Animals As Leaders), but it also implies a band struggling to achieve genuine innovation. But!- for a band that started off on such an undeniably sweet note, it’s hard not to expect the world out of them. Let's give them more time to make their collective mark as musicians, and develop they shall.




Recent reviews by this author
The Contortionist LanguageMaybeshewill Fair Youth
Fallujah The Flesh PrevailsEvery Time I Die From Parts Unknown
Baths Ocean DeathClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2014


10280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

stream here: http://www.revolvermag.com/news/exclusive-chon-premiere-entire-ep-woohoo.html

also, interview w/ them should be up in the very near future

psandy
March 2nd 2014


67 Comments


Jesus Christ that is catchy. Great review.

Digging: Kurt Vile - Wakin on a Pretty Daze

North0House2
March 2nd 2014


5873 Comments


I still just can't get over their name.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2014


10280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There were many that thought CHON was a Sputnik meme, nothing more

And thanks man =] nice reviewing again

North0House2
March 2nd 2014


5873 Comments


Hahahaha I remember that. But nah, I just don't really find their name viscerally appealing, so I probably won't really listen. I'm glad this band's getting some good recognition though.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2014


10280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

THAT's your reason for not listening?!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2014


3469 Comments


AYY CHON rules

sweet rev as always

Spec
March 2nd 2014


27188 Comments


CHON!!!

Koffiiing
March 2nd 2014


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dis is good shit

MikeC26
March 2nd 2014


3183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah pretty much described how i feel about this

nice review, nice little ep

Calc
March 2nd 2014


12249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dunno what RIYL means...

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

Spec
March 2nd 2014


27188 Comments


Recommended if you like.

Calc
March 2nd 2014


12249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah..

OwMySnauze
March 2nd 2014


1064 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good job Omaha, I like your writing style. You're able to express and convey very easily. Something I can't do as well. Excited for this EP even if there's vocals on on track.

silentstar
March 2nd 2014


2273 Comments


I knew this was going to be an Omaha review

cookies please!!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2014


10280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cookies en route, keep an eye out for them so they don't bring mold to your Playboy-addled P.O. box ;]

Snauze, thanks a lot man. It's comments like that that make me want to contribute to these parts more, though life has a tendency to get in the way.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2014


10280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Out of all the curious things in the universe, Rubberband, I'm thrilled to be the subject of your perplexion

TheRubberbandMan
March 2nd 2014


151 Comments


i have all your reviews printed on my walls

paradox1216
March 3rd 2014


502 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review is entirely accurate, however I love "Ecco"

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

decoyoctopus
March 3rd 2014


105 Comments


Vocals hurt this. Otherwise this was very good, really loving it. Anyone know where I can find this to purchase or d/l (legally of course)?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy