Real Estate
Atlas


4.5
superb

Review

by Alexander Abidin USER (2 Reviews)
February 25th, 2014 | 24 replies | 2,114 views


Release Date: 03/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Simplicity updated.

Real Estate are one of THOSE bands, and it can be a bit frustrating. They are one of those bands where everything is so deceptively simple, so effortless, that it's somewhat of a paradox: If you put them on as background music, it will still be an enjoyable listen, wistful hums of guitar gliding gently under sweet and unassuming vocals. A lot of people are content to stop there, and therein lies the problem: Real Estate are one of those bands that give back more the more you invest yourself, nay, immerse yourself, in their music. Given the right amount of focus, a wealth of subtleties emerge, both musically and emotionally.

I'll be honest: Days did not make me a Real Estate fan. While I appreciated the skill and craft, there was something missing; the songs, in this case, WERE too easy, too breezy and slightly inconsequential. Now, taken as a whole, the album was great, one long suburban reverie of guitar pop nostalgia. But there just wasn't anything that popped, nothing to contrast the happy-go-lucky demeanor of the songs as a whole.

Enter Atlas. Here now, in a delightful surprise, is a DYNAMIC record. Yes, there are still those familiar and affable melodies, the tuneful guitar pop, the palpable nostalgia. But now, there are more facets to the songs, and the album as a whole. This, now, truly sounds like being transported to an early memory of suburbia; the street signs part of the geography of your heart, the people, the houses, the neighborhoods you know, that at the end of the day define your soul, your memory, define you. Where before the guitars, with admittedly admirable skill, would drift along lazily, now they seem to push forward, to bob and weave and, in the instance of a song like the gorgeous "The Bend" pop out and transfix you for 5, yes, simple, minutes, but in the context of the album, it's also unexpected and refreshingly dynamic. The band before seemed to be using a limited emotional palette that opposed the fundamental goal of Days, to connect with the listener and awaken the memory of a childhood suburbia. Here, the expanded (oh so gently, but instantly notable) musicality and the shades of melancholy, of gentle regret, now colored into the lyrics, make for a more complete and absorbing experience. With guitar pop that really pops, Real Estate become more than a sepia-tinged photograph of a band; they become a living memory of that place you once called home.


user ratings (201)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Grant Thomas (4)
Originality in similarity....

Vincent A. (3.5)
A more personal and textured affair than Real Estate's prior records – but at what cost?...

Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Innate....

related reviews

Real Estate

Days

Comments:Add a Comment 
FreddieDelaney31
February 25th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Meh. I know I could have talked about the music more, but I wanted to focus on what I thought makes this album different from Days, since they are admittedly similar. Just a great refinement.

Digging: Cymbals Eat Guitars - LOSE

wacknizzle
February 25th 2014


13191 Comments


Nice little review, pos'd. Been meaning to check this

Digging: Dioramic - Supra

FreddieDelaney31
February 25th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Appreciate it. I was pretty excited for this after hearing the singles, did not disappoint.

RivalSkoomaDealer
February 25th 2014


773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I felt the same way about Days as you. It was enjoyable enough, but nothing overly memorable.

Maybe I should check this.


FreddieDelaney31
February 25th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is really like a perfect combination of Days and something more imo

FreddieDelaney31
February 25th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anybody have some constructive criticism or something?


FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2014


9034 Comments


Stream link?

FreddieDelaney31
February 25th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

https://itunes.apple.com/us/station/first-play-real-estate-atlas/idra.819706885

Breaded
February 25th 2014


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Not technically released yet, still loving this album though.

Good review.

FreddieDelaney31
February 26th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But it's officially streaming so I thought it was safe to review?

InbredJed
February 26th 2014


5862 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i will get this

Digging: JJ Cale - Okie

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
February 26th 2014


13126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

~rules~
~highly recommended~
~=w=~

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

InbredJed
February 26th 2014


5862 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah spread your brain cheeks for this one

RivalSkoomaDealer
February 26th 2014


773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This would be great for vinyl.

Checked it. Twas much better than Days. I agree with your review.

duckenstein
February 26th 2014


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea, besides "It's Real" and "Green Aisles," I was underwhelmed by Days. But there's definitely more to this record. Insight in the first paragraph is spot on. Well done.

FreddieDelaney31
February 26th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Green Aisles was definitely my favorite off of Days. Appreciate it guys.

FreddieDelaney31
February 28th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://pitchfork.com/news/54156-watch-real-estate-perform-new-album-atlas-in-full/

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
February 28th 2014


13126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sweeeeeeeeeew

cndflg
July 15th 2014


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is some fluid stuff. They sound like a sunset beach!

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 15th 2014


13126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy