Jerusalem (UK)
Jerusalem


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (42 Reviews)
February 24th, 2014 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1972 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Produced by Ian Gillan, Jerusalem’s debut is an excellent proto-metal offering that brings to mind bands such as Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Pentagram and Budgie.

It was 1972 and Machine Head had hit the shelves. Deep Purple were at the top of their game after releasing three successful and highly influential albums and were at the verge of giving us what is now considered one of the best live recordings of all time. At the same time, a number of obscure hard rock acts were influenced by their well-known contemporaries. However, while some of them turned out to be cheap imitators, others incorporated the elements they felt they matched their style and added their personal touch. One of those bands was UK based Jerusalem.

Formed in 1967 after a John Mayall and the Bluesbrakers concert, Jerusalem spent their first years touring and playing in front of a few people when their bassist’s sister introduced the band to Ian Gillan. After listening to Jerusalem’s material, Gillan decided to get involved and subsequently set up a management company for the band. Jerusalem is the band’s one and only album and those of you who enjoy discovering obscure heavy rock albums from the 70s are in for a treat!

With one word, and considering the music scene at the time, Jerusalem is heavy. One can identify a number of musical influences in the band’s debut including Deep Purple, Budgie and Pentagram. The bassist and founding member of the band was a Black Sabbath fan so expect to listen to influences by the forefathers of metal too. Overall, their music is guitar-driven with some excellent leads and a few good basic solos. Moreover, the riffs even though simple are addictive. One thing that amazed me was that from the very first listen I memorized a couple of guitar riffs and vocal melodies so don’t be surprised if you find yourself singing to the chorus of “When the Wolf Sits” which is one of the standouts of the album. There are also proto-doom moments in this album evident in the first and last minutes of “Primitive Man” as well as moments of psychedelia and even some krautrock influences in the sense of utilizing hypnotic melodies. One thing that is hit or miss about this album is its raw and unpolished sound even by the standards of the era. Those of you who are familiar with Sir Lord Baltimore’s work will find similarities in the sound of these two bands. In addition the singer’s vocal delivery can be compared to that of James Hetfield’s on Kill ‘Em All when he screams lyrics about dark and morbid themes. Nevertheless, the unrefined sound adds to the charm of the band’s music as it provides it with additional energy and aggression. Interestingly enough, the odd track of the album is its closer due to its generic nature as it’s a standard well-played blues rock song and nothing more.

To sum up, Jerusalem with this album delivered some bone-crushing heavy rock with proto-doom influences and early NWOBHM tendencies so it’s highly recommended to those of you who wish to experience that sound. For every Black Sabbath, Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin there’s a Jerusalem to make us wonder how they didn’t become bigger but pleased at the same time to discover their music.



Recent reviews by this author
Little Richard Little RichardBlind Guardian Tokyo Tales
Monster Magnet Milking The StarsRotting Christ Sleep of the Angels
Midnight No Mercy for MayhemThe Paul Butterfield Blues Band Paul Butterfield Blues Band
user ratings (5)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
February 24th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Those of you who look for obscure 70s stuff should definitely give this one a listen.

Full album here: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Jerusalem/6075944

Any comment is appreciated.

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

Friday13th
February 24th 2014


2727 Comments


I've heard some of this. Good stuff! Ugly album art, though.

Digging: Echolyn - Mei

manosg
February 24th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really? I like the cover art tbh even though the spurs on the knight's boots are a bit lol.

deslad
February 24th 2014


392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It definitely sounds interesting, I should check this out. POS

Digging: Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime

manosg
February 24th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks dude, the album surely deserves a listen provided that you're into 70s hard rock.

deslad
February 24th 2014


392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's right man, I really dig 70's hard rock, I will give it a listen.

manosg
February 24th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sure man, let me know how you find it.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2014


16124 Comments


must try this, nice review mano

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2014


6559 Comments


Cool review manosg, pos'd. Never listened to these guys but I'm not a huge Deep Purple fan so I'm not sure if I'll like this as much as you did.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

manosg
February 25th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@menawati
Thanks man. If you want to check a couple of their songs you can use the link in my first comment and try "When the Wolf Sits", "Midnight Steamer" or "She Came Like a Bat From Hell".

@Judio
Thanks bud! If you ever get into a 70s mood remember to try this one.

warlordfun
February 25th 2014


402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review mano, have a pos. I'm currently digging the album, so i will give it a rating in due time. The last few weeks i'm listening to a lot of 70s rock dude!

"For every Black Sabbath, Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin"

Do you mean:

"For every Black Sabbath, Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin fan"

?

Please, correct me if i'm wrong, man!

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

manosg
February 25th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey dude, glad you're digging the album and I'm stoked that you're in a 70s mode!

Regarding the sentence, I wanted to point out that for every band like Sabbath, Purple or Zeppelin that became legends there's another like Jerusalem that had the potential but didn't quite make it. You're right though, the sentence is a bit confusing.

FearTomorrow
February 25th 2014


1828 Comments


This sounds cool. Good review.

Might check this but I still need to hear some Budgie first. Where would you recommend I start with them?

manosg
February 25th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the kind words dude!

Regarding Budgie, I'd say go for Never Turn Your Back on a Friend first and then go for their next two.

MrSirLordGentleman
March 15th 2014


4869 Comments


This looks interesting, nice guitar work, the vocals kinda suck tho

manosg
March 15th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The vocals might be hit or miss by some people. Actually, the first couple of times I listened to this one all I was thinking was how awesome would the album be with Gillan on vox. I still do but I have gotten used to this guy's voice to the point where I enjoy it. But the album would be a whole different beast if Ian was holding the mic...

MrSirLordGentleman
March 15th 2014


4869 Comments


the vocals still add an interesting touch, makes it sound more like proto-punk at some points

also, manosg, check this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxH_63KehVg

manosg
March 15th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a nice version even though I'd like to listen to Lemmy a bit more. Is there a tribute album in the way?

MrSirLordGentleman
March 15th 2014


4869 Comments


yep, stupidly epic all-stars line-up

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/news/30220/New-Dio-Tribute-Album/

manosg
March 15th 2014


6685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hope it turns out well man. Most times these tributes don't have much to give.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy