Artificial Brain
Labyrinth Constellation


4.0
excellent

Review

by I am TheMoreira for we are many. USER (14 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2014 | 355 replies


Release Date: 02/18/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If this is supposed to be death metal about space monsters, where the fuck's Cthulu?

Whoever said that death metal is totally dead and buried is talking out of their arse. While there are many derivative bands out there, others, such as Obliteration and now Artificial Brain, that are pushing boundaries that were considered un-pushable. Artificial Brain's sound can be characterised as death metal with sci-fi themes. While this is something that has been done before (see Morgoth, Nocturnus and Hypocrisy), the fusion of Demilich/Adramelech atonal craziness with the intense groove of Immolation and a b-movie/hard sci-fi atmosphere creates a sound that is pushing at the boundaries and approaching something truly unique.

It should be emphasised that, while the band is not consistently pushing over the boundaries established by their aformentioned contemporaries, when they do the results are spectacular. 'Absorbing Black Ignition' is the shining example of what happens when the band pushes beyond the normal brutality of death metal; they create an atmosphere that rivals Immolation's Closer To A World Below at its most titanic but one that has much greater emphasis on sad, haunting and, dare it be said, beautiful, dissonant melodies. It does this while losing none of the power and brute force that death metal is so revered for. To create a song of this type in this genre and execute it so well is rare indeed.

As mentioned before though this album is not a consistent experiment; the band stays within their genre confines more on the shorter tracks while letting loose on the longer tracks, all with a hint of melody. It should be stated that band does all of this with exceptional skill, balancing technical prowess, aggression and atmosphere in well-thought out structures that flow between the three without ever dropping the ball once. On the flip side though none of these songs approach 'Absorbing Black Ignition' in terms of quality or originality (the title track comes close though). It's both a blessing and a curse for the band as it leaves a huge amount of potential that the band can build upon for the future but also it leaves this album feeling a little lacking. With that said though this album still stands head and shoulders above most of its contemporaries in terms of quality and also provides a valuable lesson that death metal isn't quite dead yet. Recommended with occasional light refreshments.

Choice Cuts:

-Absorbing Black Ignition
-Labyrinth Constellation
-Wired Opposites



Recent reviews by this author
Godflesh A World Lit Only by FireFall of Because Life Is Easy
Husker Du Everything Falls ApartGridlock Formless
Compromise CompromiseBlack Dog Productions Bytes
user ratings (158)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ResidentNihilist
February 22nd 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4 Wiz and Jac and anyone else who cares. Constructive criticism as always is welcome.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2014


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Good review, but it needs commas in some sentences.

Band is bookmarked.



Edit:

album stream - http://profoundlorerecords.bandcamp.com/album/labyrinth-constellation

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

ResidentNihilist
February 22nd 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Voivod, yeah I've add some comas where needed I think and also a few semi-colons just to break things up. Is it better now?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2014


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Yeah, it's much better now.


One final suggestion:

While this is something that has been done before (see Morgoth and Hypocrisy)

Add Florida's Nocturnus in the list :-)

ResidentNihilist
February 22nd 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And done. Cheers voivod.


InfamousGrouse
February 22nd 2014


3592 Comments


do you mean Obliteration?

ResidentNihilist
February 22nd 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i did. corrected. cheers dude

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2014


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The leads on Absorbing are otherworldly good, sweet review pos'd :D

Digging: Blaspherian - Upon The Throne of Eternal Blasphemous Death

HenchmanOfSanta
February 22nd 2014


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will definitely be checking this out based on all of the bands I've seen referenced in various reviews.

You're also gonna want a comma between "there" and "others" in the second sentence.

tempest--
February 22nd 2014


14614 Comments


will czech

SpiritCrusher2
February 22nd 2014


3335 Comments


good album, nothing special though

NodScene23
February 23rd 2014


272 Comments


Good review, great handle.

ResidentNihilist
February 23rd 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

done henchman, cheers.

Thanks guys, album is beastly.

Wizard
February 23rd 2014


19641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thank the fucking lord you did not compare these guys to new Gorguts cuz I would have ripped you to shreds hahahaha.

You're a damn good writer. The concise approach you took with the review had a ton of info and didn't need to be wordy.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

KILL
February 23rd 2014


72280 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQ0Z45z37TY

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2014


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Jam this kill you should dig










it's not even brickwalled

KILL
February 23rd 2014


72280 Comments


3.1 average on rym damn

might do

HenchmanOfSanta
February 23rd 2014


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is decent. It's exactly what I expect from a tech death band with a sci-fi/space theme. I do have to take issue with you saying the atmosphere rivals Close to a World Below. Very few albums in death metal approach that level, and this definitely isn't one of them.

ResidentNihilist
February 23rd 2014


1189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Wiz, it's good to hear that from you man though tbh I should've included a Coloured Sands reference just for your reaction. Jk

Tbh Henchman when I said it's atmosphere was comparable to Close To A World Below I was drawing it in comparison to that specific song not the entire album. I drew that based on the kind of effect it had on me as a whole which is similar yet different to the kind of affect many of the tracks Close To A World Below gave me. In the end dude if you disagree me with dude that's fine.

Adabelle
February 23rd 2014


4260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is immense



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy