St. Vincent
St. Vincent


4.5
superb

Review

by Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (38 Reviews)
February 20th, 2014 | 197 replies | 11,352 views


Release Date: 02/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Humiliated by age. Terrified of youth.

St. Vincent is one of the most complex pieces of pop music I have ever heard. It took countless listens, countless repeats, for me to come close to lose myself in the breathtaking insanity on this record. And that’s what it is, utter insanity and magnificence. Even though there are signs of form and continuity present in the music, it is almost impossible to predict what is coming next. First you’re listening to an abrasive and schizophrenic funk anthem, but then you are tossed into a melodic pop spectrum the next minute. But then there are the slow crushing moments, where Annie Clarke’s voice shines like a diamond amidst the dirt and rubble. Combining elements of funk, electronica, pop, and countless other genres; St. Vincent is a luscious pop album that breaks down every barrier in its wake.

With all these fiery and rigid genres thrown into a single pit, the expected outcome would seem out of shape and messy. However, St. Vincent found a way to blend these genres together to form something original and stimulating. The crunchy electronic guitar found commonly on most of the experience guides the rest of the instruments into an ensemble of pure constructive chaos. The brass performance on “Huey Lewis” leads the song across an avenue of brilliant sound and atmosphere while Annie’s voice paints the buildings with her abstract lyrics. The music will also sometimes die down into unescapable drum loops and echoed vocals. These sections even out the chaos, threading a thin line of yin and yang into the album that not many artists of our generation can grasp. It’s in these slow, beautiful moments, that the music gives the listener a chance to understand St. Vincent’s bizarre mind. As strange as she may be, what is in her head hits harder than anything t you might expect.

However, there are two songs that stand out among the rest. The aching tribute to Annie’s mother titled “I Prefer Your Love” and the climatic and intriguing closer “Severed Crossed Fingers”. It’s during these two phenomenal specters of music that Annie’s vocal presentation lands among the stars. During “I Prefer Your Love” Annie’s words soar across white clouds while a dense drum loop and uplifting piano occupies the empty space. Her eerie and blissful lyrics light a beacon, with lines such as “I Prefer you to Jesus” and “Little baby on your knees, Cause the world have got you down” feel personal and relatable at the same time. The closer finishes out with a brief and mesmerizing passage of music drive. The production glows on this song, as an angelic acoustic and electric guitar pave the way for the album’s cherubic ending.

Simply put, St. Vincent is not your normal pop album. It’s an incredible display of the endless possibilities music has to offer. The production is also perfect, and there is not a single blemish or bruise across its crystal clear slate. As for continuity, there is not a single song on this album that isn’t great. Every song has some exhilarating moment in it, making each song sound new and exciting. This will go down as a landmark in Pop history, and is by far one of the most spectacular pop albums of our time.



Recent reviews by this author
The Antlers HospiceColour and Codeine If I Die Tomorrow
Kashiwa Daisuke Program Music IHave a Nice Life The Unnatural World
The Spill Canvas Sunsets and Car CrashesRites of Spring Rites of Spring
user ratings (536)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review! Just one thing: You might want to italicize St. Vincent throughout the review to clarify that you mean the album rather than the band.

Digging: My Brightest Diamond - None More Than You

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll change that up now, haha I never really learned how to so ill see what I can do! And thanks, this is probably some of the best pop I ever listened to, besides like Bjork.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, just put [ i ] before the word or sentence and [ / i ] after (without the spaces of course) to put it in italics. And I agree, it's a phenomenal album.

tommygun
February 19th 2014



24137 Comments


nice one hoges

needs proofreading and you should learn the difference between your and you're

but nice

Digging: J Mascis - Tied to a Star

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually just went back and edited up a lot of stuff. And yeah I saw what you mean by the you're.. It took a while for me to actually come to a conclusion on the introduction paragraph.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



9515 Comments


Fantastic stuff man it definitely doesn't seem like you had difficultly writing this like you said. Doesn't sound like this is up my alley though :/

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Nick, honestly I don't know if you would like this. I normally hate pop music but this is just brilliant. I'd say give it a shot if you want to see what all the hypes about!

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



9515 Comments


I may actually just for the hype haha yea pop music isn't generally my thing but I still may.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its kinda reminds me of early Bjork, but with a little bit better production.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



7322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's tempting to say that this is being overhyped, but I think the reality is that I'm enjoying it just as much as everyone else - only I'm a really harsh marker.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I want to start being a harsh marker.. but I find that I love music way to easily.

Satellite
February 19th 2014



20723 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why are Some of The words In the Summary randomly Capitalized?

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



9515 Comments


Who cares man if you love it that's the way it is

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I want to start being a harsh marker.. but I find that I love music way to easily."

Hah, I'm the same way. If I'm going to approach music as a critic, I need to be harsher about stuff.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wanted it to sound more like a title. Guess I'll change that.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Who cares man if you love it that's the way it is"

I kinda agree, but I feel like I shortchange the albums that deserve a high rating when I give albums that are clearly much weaker the same rating.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^exactly, like some of my 5's are weaker than other 5's. Its weird but theneedledrops has a good rating scale.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



21764 Comments


will check tonight or tomorrow

It's tempting to say that this is being overhyped, but I think the reality is that I'm enjoying
it just as much as everyone else - only I'm a really harsh marker.

I know that feeling

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2014



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You listen to this yet fish?

tempest--
February 19th 2014



13029 Comments


sweet another review m/

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy