The Mire
Glass Cathedrals


4.5
superb

Review

by Shu USER (6 Reviews)
February 16th, 2014 | 83 replies | 10,467 views


Release Date: 02/02/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We're here now.

10 of 11 thought this review was well written

The people who enjoyed The Mire's Vol. II were expecting this for a long time. Point is, would the band live up to the expectations and make full use of their potential? The answer to that question is Glass Cathedrals and make no mistake, this album is a breath of fresh air to the Post Metal scene.

One of the major strong points of this band is undoubtedly the vocals, Urbino can deliver a powerful scream and beautiful clean singing. Also the fact that he stays in his comfort zone just makes the music flow perfectly, his vocals can remind you of Isis Aaron Turner in some way. Although the lyrics are dark, the singing brings a completely new dimension to the music. Nothing to add to the Bass and Drumming since they are both perfectly executed.

The guitars deliver massive walls of sound which make an amazing contrast with Urbinos melodic vocals, as shown in Trance Monolith, Triple Gemini and Pale Heart, the songs just kick off with powerful riffs and then assume their own individual progression to a either more melodic approach or a heavy sludgefest. For a Post Metal band, The Mire doesn't go for the 10 minute trips which are more common within the genre, the songs clock mostly around 5 minutes and have fairly simple structures. There are some Metalcore elements present which should be enough to please fans of Rinoa, Devil Sold His Soul or even The Ocean. Also The Mire incorporates acoustic harmonics to add that tiny detail at some points which makes the music come to a whole.

Either in brutality, melody or simply variety, Glass Cathedrals delivers. How these Brits seem to be able to produce music which doesn't rely on technical aspects or giant build-ups without compromising the quality of the overall product is utterly amazing. The band used all the elements that made their past few efforts so great and took it to a higher level.



Recent reviews by this author
Fading Waves The Sense of SpaceDolorian Voidwards
More Than A Thousand Vol. I: Trailers Are Always More Exciting Than MBefore The Dawn The Ghost
Universum Leto Destinatus
user ratings (76)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Shuyin
February 16th 2014



10429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album is available for purchase here http://themire.bandcamp.com/album/glass-cathedrals

its well worth the £4 they're asking

Digging: All the Empires of the World - Sunscraper

XingKing
February 16th 2014



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a solid band. I'll hafta check this out. Dat cover art

adr
February 16th 2014



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rly like the cover art yea, album is great, solid band.

Shuyin
February 16th 2014



10429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

all of their covers are amazing, specially the one in split with chronos

TheCollectiveFacade
February 16th 2014



650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really love triple gemini

Digging: Highs - HIGHS EP

mindleviticus
February 16th 2014



7940 Comments


this album rules

Shuyin
February 16th 2014



10429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea, been jamming this all day

Faraudo
February 16th 2014



412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

At last a review!! Well done, man.

Digging: Vetusta Morla - La Deriva

Shuyin
February 16th 2014



10429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks, been awhile since i wrote one

Evreaia
February 16th 2014



3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember REALLy liking the split §both the mire and chronos' side. Gonna check this outç)

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Lowgazers

TheBarber
February 16th 2014



786 Comments


not a fan of the cleans

Digging: Hessian - Manegarmr

Drummerboy123
February 16th 2014



2168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Albums owns hard. Triple Gemini is probably my fave.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2014



1546 Comments


I really like the way you describe the album's music and everything, but there are a lot of grammatical problems in this review. You might want to quickly read up on comma usage. Not saying your review is that hard read as it is, but it would just improve your writing greatly if you fixed a lot of the sentences to have period where you currently have commas. Good review, nonetheless.

Shuyin
February 16th 2014



10429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

heh i was never great with thesebut i made a few changes. hopefully itll make it more pleasing to read, keep in mind that english isnt my first language

and thanks for the feedback

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2014



1546 Comments


No problem! Yeah, it's still a good review, and especially if English isn't your first language. Just keep improving :]

Shuyin
February 16th 2014



10429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks man

theres a ton of albums that i like that dont have a review here on sput and that pisses me off hahaha

CaptainDooRight
February 16th 2014



26444 Comments


sup nig

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

wacknizzle
February 16th 2014



11912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review Shuyin, awesome album

Digging: Fall of Efrafa - Inle

cb123
February 16th 2014



1963 Comments


gonna have to check this out, Vol II was a great little EP

Hockeytown
February 17th 2014



98 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool review, one of the best albums i've heard so far this year

Digging: Animals As Leaders - The Joy of Motion



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy