Nightstalker
Dead Rock Commandos


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (37 Reviews)
February 15th, 2014 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With their latest release, Nightstalker cement their reputation as one of the premier acts of the European rock scene. Attitude, groove and solid songwriting are the main traits of Dead Rock Commandos.

Nightstalker is an interesting and highly intriguing case of a band that basically wasn’t supposed to be that good. Formed by band leader Argy back in 1989 and joined by bass player Andreas Lagios (ex-Rotting Christ) they toured all over Greece before releasing their first EP in 1994 named SideFX. Their sound at the time was being characterized as a mixture of heavy rock with psychedelic and grunge. Moreover, with the release of their first LP Use in 1996, the band managed to create a loyal following within Greece that perceived them as one of the best rock acts of the country. In addition, unlike the majority of their countrymen at the time, Nightstalker didn’t sound as a band hailing from Greece in a sense that their music was well-produced, they had great vocals, interesting guitar playing and a solid rhythm section. Since the beginning of the 90s the Greek metal/rock scene grew a lot but Nightstalker remained one of its premier acts.

With the release of their second LP Just A Burn in 2004 and eight whole years after their debut, the band continued evolving by shedding their grunge tendencies and strengthening their heavy rock/psychedelic sound. As a result of the quality of their music and intense touring, they managed to release their penultimate album Superfreak through a US label and therefore solidified their place as an international rock act.

Their latest release Dead Rock Commandos came out in 2012 by the Detroit based Small Stone Records and contains all the elements that made Nightstalker a significant rock act within Europe. The band’s music is influenced by the likes of Blues Cheer and Black Sabbath and is being served with a little taste of Hawkwind psychedelia. If one wants to categorize the Nightstalker’s sound under one genre, that would definitely be stoner rock even though the band has strongly rejected that label time and time again. Nevertheless, on their latest album, Nightstalker bring to mind bands such as Monster Magnet and Kyuss. Dead Rock Commandos contains fuzzy guitars with thick riffs, excellent bass playing, solid drumming and a singer that sounds as a badass cosmic-floating mother***er. Most songs are mid-tempo outings focused on highly infectious groovy rhythms. Moreover, Nightstalker unlike many stoner bands out there, avoid writing high duration songs. The longest song on Dead Rock Commandos is just 5 minutes long while the whole album is clocking at 40 minutes. If one wants to choose a few standout tracks, that would be “Go Get Some”, “Soma”, “Dead Rock Commandos” and “Children of the Sun”. However, the album is a highly enjoyable listen with a number of great guitar solos, audible bass lines and even some sing along lyrics. Overall, the listener won’t find many doomy influences or long drawn songs in this album as Nightstalker keep it simple with some highly effective stoner vibes.

To sum up, while Dead Rock Commandos isn’t anything new under the sun, it’s an incredibly fun listen that should be enjoyed by all fans of stoner or heavy rock out there. It contains all those hooks that a good rock album should have with modern production that doesn’t sound over polished and is highly recommended to all those who want to have a good time while listening to a solid rock album.



Recent reviews by this author
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band Paul Butterfield Blues BandNina Simone Pastel Blues
Nightfall Athenian EchoesTheatre Of Tragedy Aegis
Accept BreakerToots & The Maytals Funky Kingston
user ratings (13)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
February 15th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

What ho Sputnik!

Album is highly recommended for fans of stoner/heavy rock and comes from my home country Greece.

Full album here: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Dead+Rock+Commandos/8127593

All comments are appreciated.

Digging: John Coltrane - Ballads

Mad.
February 15th 2014


3841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome write-up man, pos'd. I'd been trying to find one of these guys' albums on bandcamp the other day, didn't realise they were on Small Stone though. Better check this one out.

This stream is probably better quality: https://smallstone.bandcamp.com/album/dead-rock-commandos

manosg
February 15th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man! I was actually having you in mind as one the guys on here that would enjoy this album. This one and Just A Burn are probably their best albums.

I thought of using your link initially but there are a couple of songs missing for some reason.

warlordfun
February 15th 2014


389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review man. I haven't listened to this band, but your review made me curious. I didn't know that they were Greeks. Have a groove pos

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


6112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Good review, pos, I enjoyed this album when it was streaming, need to pick it up at some point.

If Nightstalker released material more often during the '90s, and had the promotion they deserve, they would be as big as Monster Magnet.

Digging: Disasterhate - Sacrifice To Eclipse

manosg
February 15th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@warlordfun
Thanks dude! Knowing a bit your music tendencies, I think you'll like Nightstalker.

@Voivod
Thanks man. Agreed 100% on what you've written and I should had probably mentioned that in the review. For some reason they took a very big break between their first and second release. Do you remember what was the reason?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


6112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm not a 100% sure about the reason behind Nightstalker's inactivity, gotta check my archives to make sure.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2014


3403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Big props for reviewing this. It's a cool record that I listen to every once in a while. Pos.

Digging: The Asteroid No. 4 - The Asteroid 4

manosg
February 15th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Raul, album's highly enjoyable indeed.

Mad.
February 15th 2014


3841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@manosg Haha, it's cool that you think I'd like it, I'm definitely gonna check it

ExcentrifugalForz
February 15th 2014


1732 Comments


Nice review mano, I haven't heard anything from this band in a long time

will be checking this soon

manosg
February 16th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man, Nightstalker have a really good discog. If more people take the time and listen to a couple of their albums I'm sure they'll appreciate them.

deslad
February 16th 2014


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review manos, I have to check out that band.

Digging: Nina Simone - Pastel Blues

manosg
February 16th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man, this one and Just A Burn are both great starting points.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014


19757 Comments


good stuff as always manosg.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Mad.
February 17th 2014


3841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just jammed this. Really awesome stuff, about a 3.9/5. Not particularly ground-breaking but it's everything you could ask for from a vintage hard rock group!
Vocalist is particularly brilliant.

I love how he rhymes 'boogeyman' with 'Taliban' xD

manosg
February 17th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Atari
Thanks bro, I appreciate the support.

@Mad
Glad you enjoyed it dude. Agreed 100% with what you've said.

deslad
February 20th 2014


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just listened to this album, and I have to admit that it was surprisingly good. Gonna check out the rest of their albums too.

manosg
February 20th 2014


6101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

That's great dude keep me posted.

Mad.
March 4th 2014


3841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, the vox are so good in this, especially the t/t

Dead rock...

Commmmaaaandossssss




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy