I Killed The Prom Queen
Beloved


3.5
great

Review

by RoundOnEndHiInMiddle USER (15 Reviews)
February 15th, 2014 | 54 replies


Release Date: 02/18/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One big breakdown-fest of nostalgic proportions.

If there was one thing I thought of when I heard that I Killed The Prom Queen was coming out of their hiatus, a move fueled by the addition of former The Red Shore vocalist Jamie Hope, it was nostalgia. In 2008, when they first when into hiatus, metalcore had made up most of my musical listening. But, like everyone, my music tastes changed in three years. Now, three years after reforming, I Killed The Prom Queen has made good on their promise of a mid-2000's metalcore recollection.

Is it original? Not in the slightest. Is it full of breakdowns? Certainly so. Is it good, solid fun? You bet it is.

Jamie Hope, who sounds a bit grating on the first couple of tracks, really smooths things out mid-way through the album, and does a decent job of being the new front-man. He's nothing to write home about, but that's not the point. I equate him to the musical version of a "game manager." He's a solid quarterback who doesn't do anything fantastic, but doesn't do that much wrong either, and lets his running back and defense win the game for him.

Who is the running back to Jamie Hope's quarterback? That is undoubtedly lead guitarist Jona Weinhofen. Jona, along with rhythm guitarist Kevin Cameron, play energized leads and melodic breaks throughout the album. They carry with them the mood of the album, which is the shining feature. They can play angry, sure, but it's their somberness heard on the album that really gets things interesting. The use of strings on songs like "Kjaerlighet" and "Brevity" add a really nifty layer to the songs, serving to further the atmosphere.

This album is full of breakdowns, which you undeniably know already. However, it is worth mentioning that most of them are not dull at all, and are very well placed. There is at least some attempt at adding substance to them, whether it's making them earth-movingly heavy like on "Meilor" and "The Beaten Path", or adding some quick, yet substantial licks to them.

The thing that holds the album back, though, is its lack of a stand-out track. The songs on the album are all solid, but it's missing that one, true highlight. Unfortunately, this results in some of the tracks bleeding together, which is detrimental in a genre that is criticized enough already for its lack of originality in the songwriting department. However, it is the albums nostalgic graces that make it deserve a listen. It's definitely a call-back to the metalcore of the mid-2000's, and it's not one to be missed if you're a fan of that era of the genre.

Where will I Killed The Prom Queen go from here? After the reminiscence wears off, will they improve on a solid release by distancing themselves from the rest of the pack? I certainly hope so, but I suppose that is a bridge we have yet to cross. For now, let us wallow in the nostalgia that I Killed The Prom Queen have provided on 2014's Beloved.



Recent reviews by this author
Del tha Funkee Homosapien I Wish My Brother George Was HereLantlos Melting Sun
DjRum MountainsCode Orange Cycles
Bob Marley and The Wailers Soul RevolutionAtmosphere Overcast! EP
user ratings (134)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
titanslayer
February 14th 2014


1724 Comments


"One big breakdown-fest of nostalgic proportions."
Sounds like a 2 at best

AdolfChrist
February 14th 2014


1762 Comments


that is one of the worst album covers ive ever seen.

KriegdemKriege
February 15th 2014


1054 Comments


"One big breakdown-fest of nostalgic proportions."

What?

Nikkolae
February 15th 2014


4847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

s'alright

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

Calc
February 15th 2014


12185 Comments


good try on the summary but no...


i think i'll listen to a song or two from this now.

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

Calc
February 15th 2014


12185 Comments


I'm not happy I did that...

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2014


50358 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Can't say I enjoyed this

would 2.3 if I could

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Masked Dancers

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2014


7041 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

would 2.3 if I could


I hear you buddy

Evreaia
February 15th 2014


4038 Comments


I kinda liked that album with Butcher, nothing spectacular but nothing bad either.

Still wondering if this is worth to check out.

ASnideReturns
February 15th 2014


4310 Comments


Pretty fun album.

Digging: Celldweller - End of an Empire (Chapter 01: Time)

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2014


50358 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Better than the new Issues at least

RoundOnEndHiInMiddle
February 15th 2014


289 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, when half of your band is made up of ex-Woe, Is Me members, you're pretty much screwed.

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

Mabbitt
February 15th 2014


1364 Comments


I love their older stuff, so hearing the first few singles from this was definitely awesome, but the full album is kinda disappointing. Halfway through, it all sort of sounds the same.

I feel like it was a mistake cutting Memento Vivere from the album, I think it would have helped a lot.

I'm just worried that they'll keep releasing albums and become just another modern metalcore band. I hate modern metalcore but I love the mid-2000s variety.

InFiction
February 15th 2014


3659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Not a bad album. This is a pretty good review too. You're first para is pretty relatable - at least it is in my case. My only issue is you do use the word 'nostalgia' a bit too much. Otherwise, solid write-up.

RoundOnEndHiInMiddle
February 15th 2014


289 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I edited out a few of those, I hope it looks better now. Thanks fiction!

BassDemon333
February 15th 2014


3377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get why they didn't give Jona his own song on this, they should take advantage of his clean vocals they are great.

Digging: Mudvayne - L.D. 50

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2014


7041 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I don't understand the high ratings people are handing out for this. Am I missing something, or has everybody lowered their standards?

ASnideReturns
February 16th 2014


4310 Comments


New Issues > This

adr
February 16th 2014


2522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

both are alright, but i like this a bit more

Digging: Nihilist - Nihilist 1987-1989

sspedding
February 16th 2014


4761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

a couple of decent tracks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy