Slayer
Reign in Blood


1.5
very poor

Review

by rock4Him USER (3 Reviews)
February 13th, 2014 | 190 replies


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pure vileness. Probably the most disturbing, valueless album ever recorded.

Filled with hatred and a fascination with satan, Slayer has recorded music that is at the absolute most offensive end of the musical spectrum. It's weird that although society has deteriorated since then, 1986 was undoubtedly the most depraved year for music, with countless albums expressing filth, drug abuse and sexuality. Maybe the descent of society had more to do with popular music than we give it credit for. I never would have believed it before, in fact I'd have dismissed the notion as laughable superstition but I think this album has awakened me to the fact that there are in fact darker forces at work and they're manifesting themselves in what we as a society consider popular music.

I wanted to go into this with an open mind. I consider myself a fan of some of the heavier bands on the spectrum (Norma Jean, As Cities Burn, etc.) and so i didn't try to look at this album at face value. I'd heard all the stories of how it was supposedly the most evil album of all time but I treated these statements as just hyperbole. Anyway, if I could find musical value in this, I felt like I could take something of value away from the listening experience. Not the case. The guitars flail around like a dying horse and it's one of the more disturbing sounds I've ever heard. The vocals sound like a man possessed and the singer really does seem like darker forces have taken over his life, glorifying nazism, satan, rape, murder and the use of drugs.

The one shining bright spot in this hellish miasma of an album is the incredible drum work. I've never heard anyone play with this level of speed and virtuosity. If only his talents could be used for something of value. As it is, it's just talent wasted on track after track of pure darkness and filth. I realize that this is regarded as one of the best metal albums of all time but I can't recommend it to anyone who holds any kind of moral values. If you want to listen to this kind of music I recommend the just as heavy but much more positive Norma Jean or The Chariot.


user ratings (3969)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jom
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2014


2875 Comments


This is a promising gimmick. I'll allow it, even though I know who it is.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2014


53137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

m/ for satan

Digging: Penfold - Amateurs and Professionals

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2014


53137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"expressing filth, drug abuse and sexuality"



these are my three favorite things in life honestly

bach
February 12th 2014


15024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Necrophobic is m/

KriegdemKriege
February 12th 2014


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I consider myself a fan of some of the heavier bands on the spectrum (Norma Jean, As Cities Burn, etc.)"



Lol



Pos

tempest--
February 12th 2014


18180 Comments


I consider myself a fan of some of the heavier bands on the spectrum (Norma Jean, As Cities Burn, etc.)

tempest--
February 12th 2014


18180 Comments


"track after track of pure darkness and filth."

wait this is a bad thing?

Xed
February 12th 2014


31 Comments


"Slayer has recorded music that is at the absolute most offensive end of the musical spectrum"

Seriously, have you even heard Whitehouse?

KriegdemKriege
February 12th 2014


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is the "Him" in your username Jesus? (:

Green Baron
February 12th 2014


22312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's capitalized!

KriegdemKriege
February 12th 2014


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"1986 was undoubtedly the most depraved year for music"



What are you basing this on? Give us some examples.

Green Baron
February 12th 2014


22312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't let Satan serve your soul.

bach
February 12th 2014


15024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

MONARCH TO THE KINGDOM OF THE DEEEAAD

FearThyEvil
February 12th 2014


14460 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol at the people taking this seriously.

Green Baron
February 12th 2014


22312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes. It's called the internet.

Ryus
February 12th 2014


11634 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh lord

MO
February 12th 2014


20648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I consider myself a fan of some of the heavier bands on the spectrum (Norma Jean, As Cities Burn, etc.) "



fucking lol



anyways nice gimmick troll lets see how long this lasts

tempest--
February 12th 2014


18180 Comments


i dont think anyones taking this seriously but its still funny to point out shit he wrote

Ryus
February 12th 2014


11634 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"The guitars flail around like a dying horse"





KriegdemKriege
February 12th 2014


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty sure it's all serious.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy