Seven Mary Three
American Standard


4.0
excellent

Review

by BigHans USER (108 Reviews)
February 12th, 2014 | 40 replies | 861 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: TOO HEAVY TOO LIGHT TOO BLACK OR TOO WHITE TOO WRONG OR TOO RIGHT, DAY AFTER NIGHT

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

My formative years happened in the 90’s, and I am astutely aware I place a higher than deserved reverence on the mid-decade post-grunge/alt rock scene. Objectively speaking, once true grunge (at least in terms of being a pop culture force) disappeared the second Cobain decided to load his 12-gauge, the middle part of the 90s was absolutely loaded with radio heavy bands all ferociously sucking from the same watered down tit. Most of the bands saturating the radio airwaves (when radio still mattered) during this time had one or two decent songs off their debut album, then proceeded to release intensely atrocious sh*t that quickly annihilated this new post-grunge obsession, giving way to the even more deplorable, yet ironically awesome, nu metal. Even though it absolutely should, it simply doesn’t matter, because I love this sh*t. Nostalgia is a helluva drug.

Seven Mary Three are a microcosm of the era. The majority of their records suck so intensely hard they now deservedly revel in formidable obscurity despite being massive from 1995-1996. Despite the onslaught of unlistenable drivel emanating from their discography, their debut, “American Standard,” pretty much rules. The pillars are of course the enormous, riff heavy, insanely catchy ‘Cumbersome,” which is a top 5 song of the genre, and the ominous, melodic “Water’s Edge,” which was almost as big and almost as good. The rest of the album is formulaic yet above average post grunge/alt with a few real gems thrown in, like the hook laden “My, My” and the so-sappy-its-awesome anti-bullying ballad “Lame.” Despite their obvious shortcomings, Seven Mary Three should at least be given credit for not sucking as hard as the majority of their brethren, as well as penning a song that destroys as much as “Cumbersome.” If you’re searching for a microcosm of this era, you could do worse.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hold Steady Teeth DreamsPaw Dragline
Drive-by Truckers English OceansRanger Knights of Darkness
Grim Reaper Rock You To HellMachine Head Machine Fucking Head Live
user ratings (44)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigHans
February 12th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Needeed a review hard.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2014



15852 Comments


"radio heavy bands all ferociously sucking from the same watered down tit"

pos for poetry

Digging: Disconnect - Planned Obsolescence

BigHans
February 12th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha thanks dude.

BigHans
February 12th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey Foxxy jam this

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2014



1566 Comments


I'll throw you a pos as well. Just because the summary was in caps.




And because the review makes me want to check this out.

BigHans
February 12th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks dude, just jam the first two songs for sure.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2014



1566 Comments


I'll do it in a bit! Actually quite interested in this.

spookynewghostfriend
February 12th 2014



3297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

even more deplorably, yet ironically awesome, nu metal


deplorabel or move the coma

NodScene23
February 12th 2014



264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha nice Hans, this album has solid replay value and has some well put together tracks. SMT sound like they listened to a lot of "Ten" era Pearl Jam in making this album but fortunately, it comes across earnestly with only a couple mishaps.

BigHans
February 12th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fixed Ghost, thanks for pointing that out.

Thats a pretty good description there NodScene

intotheshit
February 12th 2014



3639 Comments


I love Cumbersome, but the vox in water's edge get me every time.

BigHans
February 12th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sup Pit.

MusicTalent
February 12th 2014



190 Comments


Mary is a nice name

intotheshit
February 12th 2014



3639 Comments


Fuckin bitches and makin DAT green, nigga.

BigHans
February 12th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stay up playa

KjSwantko
February 12th 2014



9249 Comments


Sup Hans. Great choice of review bro; used to jam this one hard when I was a youngen. "Water's Edge" was probably my main track off this.

ExcentrifugalForz
February 12th 2014



1693 Comments


Seven Mary Three
Sponge
Days of the New.

Might be the same band.

Digging: Renaissance - Grandine il Vento

KjSwantko
February 12th 2014



9249 Comments


There's definite similarities but yeah they're not all that identical. DotN in particular.

NodScene23
February 12th 2014



264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sponge is way more jangly than Seven Mary Three. I could never mistake the two.

omnipanzer
February 13th 2014



21442 Comments


" the middle part of the 90s was absolutely loaded with radio heavy bands all ferociously sucking from the same watered down tit."

I just came a little, in the pants.

Digging: The Ettes - Shake the Dust



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy