Modern Baseball
You’re Gonna Miss It All


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (100 Reviews)
February 11th, 2014 | 101 replies


Release Date: 02/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To hell with the spins I'm staying in, there's no good reason why I should leave your bed tomorrow

Modern Baseball have always been inconsistent songwriters. The majority of tunes on the band's debut album Sports worked, but the occasional track faltered. This wasn't much of an issue as most of the songs on Sports barely crossed the two minute mark, leaving little room for disappointment when a track didn't work quite as well as the others. Modern Baseball's sophomore effort You're Gonna Miss it All is no different in this regard. The band still skillfully blasts through two minute emo tinged, indie-folk anthems of snarky white underclassman parties and relationships conveyed through jangly guitar chords and nasally vocals. The biggest difference here is the improved production, more focused songwriting, and more commercial sound. Unfortunately, this tightening of sorts diminished some of the immature charm the band had on their debut album. Thankfully though, You're Gonna Miss it All is catchy enough and charming enough to draw in a slew of new fans, and keep existing fans satisfied.



Recent reviews by this author
Main Attrakionz 808s and Dark Grapes IIIEmpire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) What It Takes to Move Forward
From First to Last Dead TreesDance Gavin Dance Instant Gratification
Title Fight HyperviewModest Mouse The Lonesome Crowded West
user ratings (242)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Dayman, Champion of the Sun (3.5)
Being unpopular in high school never sounded so cool....

Paul Golden (2.5)
Strike two....

Joel Hargreaves (3.5)
Modern Baseball have done a great job at creating a raw, rocking and emotional charged indie punk re...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


51438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn nice soundoff!



Choice tracks:



Charlie Black: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRdmaOe3QPg



Rock Bottom: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SdJGe_PyBE



Two Good Things: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPFg_yibg9M

Digging: Main Attrakionz - 808s & Dark Grapes III

Mort.
February 11th 2014


6094 Comments


nice review treb

Digging: The Spirit Of Versailles - Discography

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


51438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you kind sir



I would 3.7 this if I was staff!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


3821 Comments


If Sputnik were Bandcamp this would be a grindcore EP

sweet rev tho

Mort.
February 11th 2014


6094 Comments


oooh take it out on jom


and damn I thought id like this band the vocalist is a bit....meh

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


51438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rock Bottom is my fucking jam



It's like they wrote the lyrics about me!

dimsim3478
February 11th 2014


6399 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This piece basically legitimises half my soundoffs as reviews. Maybe I should post them all and step up my review count. :P



Good review, though. Fun album, but I dunno how you like these guys and not Front Bottoms.

Digging: Slime Girls - YUMEMI?/LONELY PLANET GIRL

Kris.
February 11th 2014


12703 Comments


shoulda been a tbt

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


51438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like The Front Bottoms, they just kind of annoy me and make me want to listen to The Mountain Goats instead

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


20724 Comments


nice. gotta try this 1-paragraph review format soon

Digging: Tigers on Trains - Grandfather

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


51438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The rating average for this and Sports is criminally low imo

Curse.
February 11th 2014


8037 Comments


This review is about twice as long as it needs to be

Wadlez
February 11th 2014


4831 Comments


Australian Rugby

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


51438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Yeah Sports is low. This better then the new You Blew It!?"



Yes

Athom
Emeritus
February 11th 2014


17240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

nice tweet.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


919 Comments


In about one year, following current trends, one sentence reviews will be common and celebrated.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


919 Comments


Double post. Sorry bout that folks.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


51438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

short reviews > overly descriptive 5 paragraphers



tommygun
February 11th 2014


25670 Comments


band sux

dece rev

PeyoteCoyote
February 11th 2014


12 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Your Graduation" is the best song I've heard this year.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy