Modern Baseball
You’re Gonna Miss It All


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (89 Reviews)
February 11th, 2014 | 92 replies | 8,274 views


Release Date: 02/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To hell with the spins I'm staying in, there's no good reason why I should leave your bed tomorrow

Modern Baseball have always been inconsistent songwriters. The majority of tunes on the band's debut album Sports worked, but the occasional track faltered. This wasn't much of an issue as most of the songs on Sports barely crossed the two minute mark, leaving little room for disappointment when a track didn't work quite as well as the others. Modern Baseball's sophomore effort You're Gonna Miss it All is no different in this regard. The band still skillfully blasts through two minute emo tinged, indie-folk anthems of snarky white underclassman parties and relationships conveyed through jangly guitar chords and nasally vocals. The biggest difference here is the improved production, more focused songwriting, and more commercial sound. Unfortunately, this tightening of sorts diminished some of the immature charm the band had on their debut album. Thankfully though, You're Gonna Miss it All is catchy enough and charming enough to draw in a slew of new fans, and keep existing fans satisfied.



Recent reviews by this author
Prawn KingfisherEmpire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be Forgotten
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika FantajinBrave Bird T-Minus Grand Gesture
Old Gray/Tiny Moving Parts SplitBanner Pilot Souvenir
user ratings (168)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Joel Hargreaves (3.5)
Modern Baseball have done a great job at creating a raw, rocking and emotional charged indie punk re...

Paul Golden (2.5)
Strike two....

Dayman, Champion of the Sun (3.5)
Being unpopular in high school never sounded so cool....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



50094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn nice soundoff!

Choice tracks:

Charlie Black: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRdmaOe3QPg

Rock Bottom: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SdJGe_PyBE

Two Good Things: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPFg_yibg9M

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

Mort.
February 11th 2014



3409 Comments


nice review treb

Digging: The Blood Brothers - This Adultery Is Ripe

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



50094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you kind sir

I would 3.7 this if I was staff!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014



3442 Comments


If Sputnik were Bandcamp this would be a grindcore EP

sweet rev tho

Mort.
February 11th 2014



3409 Comments


oooh take it out on jom


and damn I thought id like this band the vocalist is a bit....meh

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



50094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rock Bottom is my fucking jam

It's like they wrote the lyrics about me!

dimsim3478
February 11th 2014



4888 Comments


This piece basically legitimises half my soundoffs as reviews. Maybe I should post them all and step up my review count. :P

Good review, though. Fun album, but I dunno how you like these guys and not Front Bottoms.

Digging: Microwave - Stovall

Kris.
February 11th 2014



12306 Comments


shoulda been a tbt

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



50094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like The Front Bottoms, they just kind of annoy me and make me want to listen to The Mountain Goats instead

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



19672 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice. gotta try this 1-paragraph review format soon

Futures
February 11th 2014



9654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet can't wait to check this

Digging: Silversun Pickups - Carnavas

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



50094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The rating average for this and Sports is criminally low imo

Futures
February 11th 2014



9654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Sports is low. This better then the new You Blew It!?

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



7983 Comments


This review is about twice as long as it needs to be

Wadlez
February 11th 2014



3893 Comments


Australian Rugby

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



50094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Yeah Sports is low. This better then the new You Blew It!?"

Yes

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

nice tweet.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014



901 Comments


In about one year, following current trends, one sentence reviews will be common and celebrated.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014



901 Comments


Double post. Sorry bout that folks.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



50094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

short reviews > overly descriptive 5 paragraphers




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy