Modern Baseball
You’re Gonna Miss It All


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (90 Reviews)
February 11th, 2014 | 92 replies


Release Date: 02/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To hell with the spins I'm staying in, there's no good reason why I should leave your bed tomorrow

Modern Baseball have always been inconsistent songwriters. The majority of tunes on the band's debut album Sports worked, but the occasional track faltered. This wasn't much of an issue as most of the songs on Sports barely crossed the two minute mark, leaving little room for disappointment when a track didn't work quite as well as the others. Modern Baseball's sophomore effort You're Gonna Miss it All is no different in this regard. The band still skillfully blasts through two minute emo tinged, indie-folk anthems of snarky white underclassman parties and relationships conveyed through jangly guitar chords and nasally vocals. The biggest difference here is the improved production, more focused songwriting, and more commercial sound. Unfortunately, this tightening of sorts diminished some of the immature charm the band had on their debut album. Thankfully though, You're Gonna Miss it All is catchy enough and charming enough to draw in a slew of new fans, and keep existing fans satisfied.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
user ratings (180)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Joel Hargreaves (3.5)
Modern Baseball have done a great job at creating a raw, rocking and emotional charged indie punk re...

Paul Golden (2.5)
Strike two....

Dayman, Champion of the Sun (3.5)
Being unpopular in high school never sounded so cool....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn nice soundoff!

Choice tracks:

Charlie Black: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRdmaOe3QPg

Rock Bottom: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SdJGe_PyBE

Two Good Things: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPFg_yibg9M

Mort.
February 11th 2014


3794 Comments


nice review treb

Digging: Fugazi - End Hits

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you kind sir

I would 3.7 this if I was staff!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


3470 Comments


If Sputnik were Bandcamp this would be a grindcore EP

sweet rev tho

Mort.
February 11th 2014


3794 Comments


oooh take it out on jom


and damn I thought id like this band the vocalist is a bit....meh

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rock Bottom is my fucking jam

It's like they wrote the lyrics about me!

dimsim3478
February 11th 2014


5181 Comments


This piece basically legitimises half my soundoffs as reviews. Maybe I should post them all and step up my review count. :P

Good review, though. Fun album, but I dunno how you like these guys and not Front Bottoms.

Digging: The Pillows - Moondust

Kris.
February 11th 2014


12345 Comments


shoulda been a tbt

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like The Front Bottoms, they just kind of annoy me and make me want to listen to The Mountain Goats instead

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


19920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice. gotta try this 1-paragraph review format soon

Digging: Transit - Joyride

Futures
February 11th 2014


11680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet can't wait to check this

Digging: Mock Orange - Nines & Sixes

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The rating average for this and Sports is criminally low imo

Futures
February 11th 2014


11680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Sports is low. This better then the new You Blew It!?

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


8010 Comments


This review is about twice as long as it needs to be

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

Wadlez
February 11th 2014


4323 Comments


Australian Rugby

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Yeah Sports is low. This better then the new You Blew It!?"

Yes

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


17222 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

nice tweet.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


903 Comments


In about one year, following current trends, one sentence reviews will be common and celebrated.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


903 Comments


Double post. Sorry bout that folks.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

short reviews > overly descriptive 5 paragraphers




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy