Modern Baseball
You’re Gonna Miss It All


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe STAFF
February 11th, 2014 | 191 replies


Release Date: 02/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To hell with the spins I'm staying in, there's no good reason why I should leave your bed tomorrow

Modern Baseball have always been inconsistent songwriters. The majority of tunes on the band's debut album Sports worked, but the occasional track faltered. This wasn't much of an issue as most of the songs on Sports barely crossed the two minute mark, leaving little room for disappointment when a track didn't work quite as well as the others. Modern Baseball's sophomore effort You're Gonna Miss it All is no different in this regard. The band still skillfully blasts through two minute emo tinged, indie-folk anthems of snarky white underclassman parties and relationships conveyed through jangly guitar chords and nasally vocals. The biggest difference here is the improved production, more focused songwriting, and more commercial sound. Unfortunately, this tightening of sorts diminished some of the immature charm the band had on their debut album. Thankfully though, You're Gonna Miss it All is catchy enough and charming enough to draw in a slew of new fans, and keep existing fans satisfied.



Recent reviews by this author
bansheebeat Techo DeluxeSorority Noise You're Not As ____ As You Think
Darkest Hour Godless Prophets and The Migrant FloraThe Menzingers After the Party
AFI AFI (The Blood Album)Tegan and Sara Love You to Death
user ratings (381)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
mad as a swan (3.5)
Being unpopular in high school never sounded so cool....

Paul Golden (2.5)
Strike two....

Joel Hargreaves (3.5)
Modern Baseball have done a great job at creating a raw, rocking and emotional charged indie punk re...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


54960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn nice soundoff!



Choice tracks:



Charlie Black: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRdmaOe3QPg



Rock Bottom: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SdJGe_PyBE



Two Good Things: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPFg_yibg9M

Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The King Of No Man

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


12732 Comments


nice review treb

Digging: The Roots - Things Fall Apart

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


54960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you kind sir



I would 3.7 this if I was staff!

Brostep
Emeritus
February 11th 2014


4294 Comments


If Sputnik were Bandcamp this would be a grindcore EP

sweet rev tho

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


12732 Comments


oooh take it out on jom


and damn I thought id like this band the vocalist is a bit....meh

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


54960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rock Bottom is my fucking jam



It's like they wrote the lyrics about me!

dimsim3478
February 11th 2014


7504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This piece basically legitimises half my soundoffs as reviews. Maybe I should post them all and step up my review count. :P



Good review but dunno how you like these guys and not Front Bottoms.

Digging: Dotsuitarunen - COLOR LIFE

Kris.
February 11th 2014


14153 Comments


shoulda been a tbt

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


54960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like The Front Bottoms, they just kind of annoy me and make me want to listen to The Mountain Goats instead

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


22442 Comments


nice. gotta try this 1-paragraph review format soon

Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The King of No Man

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


54960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The rating average for this and Sports is criminally low imo

Curse.
February 11th 2014


8055 Comments


This review is about twice as long as it needs to be

Wadlez
February 11th 2014


4913 Comments


Australian Rugby

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


54960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Yeah Sports is low. This better then the new You Blew It!?"



Yes

Athom
Emeritus
February 11th 2014


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

nice tweet.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


954 Comments


In about one year, following current trends, one sentence reviews will be common and celebrated.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


954 Comments


Double post. Sorry bout that folks.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


54960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

short reviews > overly descriptive 5 paragraphers



tommygun
February 11th 2014


26593 Comments


band sux

dece rev

PeyoteCoyote
February 11th 2014


12 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Your Graduation" is the best song I've heard this year.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy