The Front Bottoms
Talon of the Hawk


3.5
great

Review

by Josh Fountain CONTRIBUTOR (64 Reviews)
February 11th, 2014 | 49 replies


Release Date: 05/21/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A really good album by a band that should be better

The Front Bottoms are predicated on one thing, and that is the charisma of their vocalist, Brian Sella. This has worked in the past, as bands like Say Anything have risen above their seemingly unoriginal musical trappings because of the sincerity and bite of Max Bemis, however it hangs a lot on the shoulders of one member. Brian Sella seems to be up to the challenge, writing clever lyrics and possessing a unique voice. The problem is not his, it lies in the consistency issues present in the rest of the band. The first four tracks on Talon Of The Hawk are fantastic, showing passion and a flair for small flourishes, whether they be horns or synths. However, after the highest peak of the album, “Twin Size Mattress”, the band falls prey to inconsistency. “Peach” is a worse version of the earlier songs on the album, “The Fued” is a mediocre attempt at a song with a faster pace, and “Lone Star” has the distinct title of being the most boring song on the album.

The good moments are anthemic though. “Twin Size Mattress” takes a rather demure opening and builds upon itself to become a lung shredding shout-along that is almost impossible to not relate to. “Skeleton” is rife with witty lyrics, backed by a particularly catchy guitar line and lighthearted keys. When the band chooses not to lean entirely on their vocalist, they soar. It is possible that it has to do with the band members still being new to each other (half the band joined just before the recording of Talon Of The Hawk), so it is possible that on the next album they will gel better. For now, though, The Front Bottoms are a pretty good band with some really awesome songs. Most bands never even get that far, so that statement is definitely a compliment, but there is that nagging feeling that they are capable of releasing a masterpiece. Hopefully Talon Of The Hawk is a stepping stone on that path.



Recent reviews by this author
Beach Slang Cheap Thrills On A Dead End StreetLinkin Park The Hunting Party
Powerman 5000 Builders of the FutureLord Mantis Death Mask
Chuck Ragan Till MidnightPerfect Pussy Say Yes to Love
user ratings (179)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

The Front Bottoms

Comments:Add a Comment 
Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My first contrib review is tiny

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

OMG

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

OMG what?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has needed a review for quite some time now. Cool album but I like their last one better than this

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like them both about the same, there is something about them that makes me think they can one day be amazing, they just aren't there yet

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I hope they make it big. Anyways, cool choice for your first review as contrib. Short 'n sweet

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm going to eventually depose AThom for the tiny review crown

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


16089 Comments


Always hard to review albums by bands that are obviously meant to be seen live

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Exactly, they are a band that writes songs to be screamed with a ton of other people

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've always wanted to try a one-paragraph review...but it just hasn't happened.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50872 Comments


Took my sister to see these guys and I thought they sucked pretty hard

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


50872 Comments


"I'm going to eventually depose AThom for the tiny review crown"

You're going to have to compete with me buster

climactic
February 11th 2014


19850 Comments


luv dese guys in small doses

MyCarandMyGuitar
February 15th 2014


843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i agree with you on a lot of points, but Lone Star is one of the best lyrical achievements on the whole album.

And their self-titled is a masterpiece.

GreyShadow
February 15th 2014


526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Lone Star is one of the best on the album

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

mxbrady
February 27th 2014


1395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The last 5 songs are too good

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

YakNips
July 8th 2014


12868 Comments


I WAS SOOOOO STONED
I FELL ASLEEP IN THE FRONT SEAT

Digging: Black James Franco - Sun House

Feather
July 15th 2014


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band has the worst fan base ever.

YakNips
July 15th 2014


12868 Comments


they got nothing on TWY's fanbase

Feather
July 15th 2014


1446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh, I saw TWY's in Chicago and had a blast. TFB's fan base was just obnoxious.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy