Tape Loop Orchestra
Yesterday This Would've Meant So Much To Us


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (104 Reviews)
February 10th, 2014 | 16 replies


Release Date: 01/17/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: today it means even more.

Fall asleep inspired by thought and forget why in the morning, the story of Yesterday... is one about the meaninglessness of old dreams. Recorded at a live show in the wake of 2012's excellent In a Lonely Place, it was meant to be the optimistic beginning of a new age and a new album. Evidently, this new age never happened: other musical commitments, a new record label and god knows what else saw to that. New Tape Loop Orchestra material was never released.

Until now that is, but as a gift to Hibernate's super-limited postcard series and not so much an exciting new release as “this old thing” from the archives. In fact, it doesn't seem to be much more than an excerpt from a much larger file cruelly trimmed down to an exact 22 minutes. The title says it all: this would have meant so much – now it means almost nothing.

How brutal then for Yesterday... to be one of the most hard hitting ambient pieces of the past few months; nothing short of a symphony of distorted tapes, piano notes struggling to stay in focus and a voice crying out in equal parts calm and despair. Disarmingly weightless, the piece tentatively reveals the true depths of its sadness and is only made more powerful by the two years spent forgotten and useless in some dusty hard-drive. You might even say it's aged, because two years ago the release of this track would have meant so much to us – now it means even more.



Recent reviews by this author
Grouper RuinsThrowing Snow Mosaic
SOHN TremorsA Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VII
Plinth (UK) Music For Smalls LighthouseThe Correspondents Puppet Loosely Strung
user ratings (2)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sadly sold out, but you can hear the first 6 minutes or so if you're unable to find the whole thing: http://hibernaterecordings.bandcamp.com/album/yesterday-this-wouldve-meant-so-much-to-us

JS19
February 10th 2014


4358 Comments


Sounds interesting

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
February 10th 2014


13383 Comments


probably not my thng

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but yo man it's great anyway :D

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
February 10th 2014


13383 Comments


ill check it out since u 5d an okkervil album i can trust you probably

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno man, it could be a ruse

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
February 10th 2014


13383 Comments


i trust it

now if u had 5d eve 6 id be more wary that its a ruse specifically catered to me but nope its an undeniably perfect band so !

fromtheinside
February 10th 2014


18857 Comments


wait

Digging: Psicosis - The Crippled Machine That Moves the World

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the suspense is killing me...

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review, had no idea they had a new album out :o. definitely have to check this out

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

have you checked out gimu?

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Course unless he has a new one I'm not aware of.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

long as you've heard a season in your soul and a silent stroll on sombre st, your good ;)

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Silent Stroll is incredible for sure, I'll give Season another chance.

Did you catch the Bvdub & Loscil collab last year? I think it might be my favourite album of 2013: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGVE__Lct_o

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A Season In Your Soul is like the optomistic counterpart to Silent Stroll's crushing and noisy drones. I never got around to hearing that (I heard a few other Loscil collabs recently), although this clip sounds pretty mesmerizing. I'll have to get on that soon

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Getting some OPN vibes in the synth'y choral lines here, wasn't expecting that TLO :o



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy