Miracle of Sound
Vistas


3.5
great

Review

by Nick Mongiardo CONTRIBUTOR (74 Reviews)
February 10th, 2014 | 28 replies | 1,201 views


Release Date: 01/06/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Vistas has some issues with pacing and contains some jarring shifts in style, but anyone who enjoys chilled out instrumental music will love this.

Vistas is most definitely not the "miracle" that Gavin Dunne's pseudonym suggests, but it certainly gets the job done. Miracle Of Sound is a one man project by Gavin Dunne with the sole purpose of evoking a chill atmosphere through somber and intriguing instrumental music. He utilizes a wide range of instruments that create a very jazzy sound. Vistas doesn't disappoint when it comes to creativity and it has a little something for everyone. It showcases a plethora of styles that include the trippy "38th Street," the beautiful strings driven "Lover Stone," and the movie climax piece that is "The Call." Rest assured Gavin really shows has talent in the field of instrumental music in his sophomore outing. However, he also displays a decent amount of flaws at the same time.

There are issues in the first half of the album due to the placement of each song on Gavin's album. While each song is initially fun to listen to, the record as a whole is pretty disjointed. Vistas is essentially best described as a really well done collection of demos. However, the first half of the record suffers from this disjointed nature. The first track, "38th Street," showcases a piano driven melody while its succeeding track, "4am," features more of the same. Strangely enough, the listener experiences a swift change in style once the electronic "Electric Sky" starts. Though this song never the less soars in its evocative nature, it still doesn't change how disjointed the first half is. Essentially we start with piano driven songs and they are followed by songs driven by electronics. Though none of these songs are unpleasant listening experiences in any way and quite the contrary. However, as a whole it would have been a better decision to structure the record a different way.

These gripes aside, the second half is more well done to a certain degree. Even though we experience some unexpected style changes out of nowhere, songs like "Kakolukia" and "Lover Stone" without a doubt do not disappoint. "Kakolukia" really creates the sensation of wandering alone through the desert due to its epic drumming, middle eastern instrumentation, and occasional vocalizing while "Lover Stone" is a beautiful strings driven song that really puts the listener at peace. "Sunny Day Part 1" evokes the same kind of atmosphere which is admirable, but its second part unfortunately lets us down. "Sunny Day Part 2" contains a generic electronic rhythm that we hear literally every day on the radio and the decision to have this piece follow the amazing "Sunny Day Part 1" is jarring. Nonetheless Vista's second half soars high above its first half and it has a brilliant movie climax conclusion. Despite the abundant shifts in style along the way, Gavin's Vistas creates an awesome mood. Though it's nothing that mind blowing, it will still thrill lovers of ambient, atmospheric and diverse instrumental music.

Vistas certainly will not thrill every music listener due to its overall peaceful mood and each song having a tendency to not break the three minute mark however, but this well worth anyone's time who enjoys chilled out instrumental music. While reading this creates a perfect ambient atmosphere all the way through. Though it has some issues with pacing and some jarring shifts in style, Vistas is still very tasteful music with a vision.



Recent reviews by this author
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereAnberlin Lowborn
Greg Edmonson Uncharted 3: Drake's DeceptionDeftones White Pony
Deftones Around the FurDeftones Adrenaline
user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://miracleofsound.bandcamp.com/album/vistas

Here it is if anyone is interested!

elcrawfodor
February 10th 2014



121 Comments


I've noticed that most of your reviews that you write have comments on how you need to do a review for
an album without reviews. Looks like you did just that! Only thing:

"There are issues in the first half of the album due to the placement of each song on Gavin's
album....However, the first half of the record suffers from this disjointed nature." Basically the
same sentence.

Good review overall, how'd you come across this?

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man! Was browsing band camp and saw the cool album cover. Pretty much it haha

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



2714 Comments


Yeah this guy's pretty cool, chatted to him a couple of times on a gaming forum back in t' day before he started releasing music. Didn't realise he branched out from making music about video games though.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh sweet what video games did he make music for?

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



2714 Comments


Not for (at least as far as I know), but he has a slot on the Escapist where he writes songs about games - kinda novel really and by the sounds of it nothing like this album. http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/miracle-of-sound

Ecnalzen
February 10th 2014



6398 Comments


This is pretty cool.

You ever heard Submotion Orchestra, Mongi?

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nope I have not. Anything like this?

Ecnalzen
February 10th 2014



6398 Comments


In a way, yes.

They are a really interesting (and by interesting, I mean amazing) jazz/electronic styled group with a female singer, who has a fantastic voice, and the jazzy sections here made me think of them. If you enjoyed that aspect of this, you would probably like them, too. They actually have some instrumental tracks on both of their albums, and they are really well done, too.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoy the more epic atmospheric side of this actually. Did you enjoy Lover Stone?

Ecnalzen
February 10th 2014



6398 Comments


I don't think I got this far. Will listen to it, now.

It kind of bums me out how short most of the songs are on this, tho. I really feel like I am getting into them, and then they just kinda end.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea part of the reason why I said people might not like it. They are REALLY. Just a sort of collection of demos seemingly haha

Mad.
February 11th 2014



3586 Comments


"Was browsing band camp and saw the cool album cover. Pretty much it haha"

That's pretty much how I find all my new music

Awesome review man, I'm proud of you for reviewing something obscure!

Digging: Dwellers - Pagan Fruit

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man! I gotta go on there more often. More undiscovered shit awaits.

Mad.
February 11th 2014



3586 Comments


You 5'd King Crimson and 4'd Oceansize so I'd definitely recommend Thumpermonkey - Sleep Furiously, one of my favourite Bandcamp listens

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmm both those albums are nothing alike really. Which one does it lean toward? I gotta give Red another listen cause it kinda grew off me a little.

Mad.
February 11th 2014



3586 Comments


Well it's the dissonance of ATD-I and King Crimson with the atmospherics of Oceansize. Definitely a grower though so don't give up after a first listen, it gets more rewarding every time.

Listened to some of this, really loving the atmosphere, but it seems to just be a collection of short, nice-sounding tracks rather than an album which is kinda annoying, because this guy could probably make something amazing if he had a concept or something. Still, great for homework!

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014



9664 Comments


Really nice review, bro. I've never heard this before, but I'm always down for something more atmospheric and subdued

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014



9084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sup basically my points about it. If the songs were longer and his great ideas were expanded, I would give it a higher score.

Thanks Fives! It's pretty sweet music for the most part.

Mad.
February 11th 2014



3586 Comments


Can't believe you didn't get contrib mahn :/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy