Corrosion of Conformity
In The Arms of God


3.0
good

Review

by deathscreamingsheep USER (6 Reviews)
April 7th, 2006 | 17 replies | 7,348 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

What can I say about Corrosion of Conformity? One. They're Southern. Two. They're loud.

The New Orleans four piece started off as a hardcore band, but soon (possibly influenced by the music of their home town) they crossed into the boundries of southern hard rock, metal and blues.

In The Arms of God is their latest offering and to many a return to form for Corrosion of Conformity. With guitarist/singer Pepper once again back at the helm it boasts a collection of passionate and powerful hard rock songs. Low on intelligence but High on power and delivery.

The album opens solidly with a heavy stomper in the name of Stone Breaker (officially one of the most hard rock song names ever). It begins with a some guitar wailing over keys but rather than being cheesy it builds tension before breaking into an identikit COC/blues rock riff that lets everyone know that COC are back on form. It's loud, powerful and with that beat that makes you want to stomp around the room.

The album continues in much the same theme. Each song progressing through riff upon riff of southern fury but each song still catchy and with the ability to make the listener become drawn in. You are no longer some sad schmo sitting in a bedroom, you're in some bar along a dusty strip of desert sipping a freezing pint and standing on a floor covered in sawdust.

COC don't really go in for many leads despite having two guitars. They generally prefer the approach of cramming a song full of varying leads and riffs. Guitarwise the SG sound is very strong and Sabbath-esque. The bass has some interesting riffs, but COC's previous efforts for bass writing are better. Drumming is sparse and steady but again there are some alright fills. Vocal-wise Pepper is powerful and strong with that sort of roar that James Hetfield wannabes will cream themselves over, though he is also more obviously southern and overall a better singer.

The album is 12 tracks long which is a fair length. However, it can drag somewhat. The endless riffs one after the other, which, let's face it have all been done to death since Sabbath can grate after a time and the random spacey mystical samples that play throughout do nothing to alleviate this. COC are not a band that will remain on your playlist forever though I find that I tend to dig them out whenever I just want to grab a beer and chill. They're simplicity, loud songs and New Orleans rock really is perfect for such situations.

Standout tracks are Stone Breakers. Paranoid Opoid (which features an insanely catchy riff), Rise River Rise (which features a nice Raga style riff and some nice melodies), Crown of Thorns and finally closer and title track In the Arms of God. It is interesting to note the world music influences in this album, one of the main most pleasing features.

So to sum up:

Good-

The riffs.
General sound.
Southerness.
Catchy songs.
World music influences.

Bad-

Too much filler
Not much originality


Ugly-

Pepper Keenan



Recent reviews by this author
Bruce Springsteen The Ghost of Tom JoadSway This Is My Demo
Thrice The Artist in the AmbulanceInMe White Butterfly
Dogs Turn Against This Land
user ratings (105)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kyle
April 7th 2006



667 Comments


This is a decent review, could have done with a touch more depth, but the point you get accross is exactly how I feel. If you get a chance to read my review of wiseblood you'll see that alot of the same sentiments are shared.

deathscreamingsheep
April 8th 2006



86 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers. I'll probably edit my review a bit later as I didn't really proof-read it before posting so I'll take in what you've said.

Kyle
April 9th 2006



667 Comments


^^That song was soo amazing when they finished with it live. for that reason alone, I'd say it's a better closer.

edit: Spat I think there is a chance you will like them, you should at least check out a few tracks. I'd reccomend;
Albatross
Wiseblood
In the Arms of god
This Message Edited On 04.09.06

f_u_c_t
July 30th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ in the arms of god is def. a must. But this whole album grows on me more and more with every listen. And I cant help to think that there is some old rock influences, like Pink Floyd and/or Led Zeppelin. For ex. in the starter song Stone Breaker. But it appears all throughout the album.

6810
February 4th 2007



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't know what you mean about the drums. Have another listen. They are liquid, circular and all over the place and far less 4/4 than previous albums.

You spent almost no time reviewing the more melodic tracks such as Never Turns to More.

Finally, how about the lyrics? You talk about little originality on this LP but don't mention lyrics. In the context of this genre, Pepper's lyrics are awesome. Evocative, non-cryptic yet with literary depth. Want to know more? Go read Flannery O'connor's "Wiseblood" and then go listen to that same album again. It adds whole new strata of meaning!

I love this album, especially the loose guitar solos, the "so swinging drums that almost lose it in the curve because they are galloping behind and ahead of the beat because of Jazz man Stanton Moore" and the brilliant lyrics.

As for solos - How about the two in "Dirty Hands/Empty Pockets"? Or the outro to "World on Fire"? Talk about an Eagles-esque harmonised lead passage.

Unreal
June 11th 2007



229 Comments


this album still need to grow on me,
This Message Edited On 08.14.07

Bassplayer101
March 11th 2008



34 Comments


In the Arms of God (song) is the best song off of this album.

SteelErectedb4you8er
January 8th 2010



2612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree Bassplayer101, I thought this was a great comeback. Just the southern jam of Stonebreaker gets me kicking. I think this was a good comeback record, but they really need a new album now.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2010



7762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album should be talked about more

Digging: The Menzingers - Rented World

BrineBe
September 17th 2010



35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kick ass album no doubt. I listened to this one repeatedly when it came out. This review (pretty good....by the way) has gotten me fired up for it all over. Again....this is a damn fine album. Will be spinning it again shortly....

kangaroopoo
September 17th 2010



3175 Comments


It's a pretty good, consistent album. Like the opener + 'It is that way.' Just doesn't resonate like their 90's era.

mark7477
November 17th 2010



389 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album kicks extreme ass it's got the raw balls out approach of deliverance and wise blood with great diversity including great heavy riffing.This just may be the pinnacle of what is great about coc

BigHans
November 17th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I downloaded this and only listened to it once, should probably give it another chance.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2012



1777 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The band's best album in my opinion, although I've only heard four of their albums so far. In particular the guitar work here is performed really well, as on the last two tracks, the mellow 'Crown of Thorns' and absolutely furious title track, ending the album in excellent fashion.

spatter
November 6th 2012



15 Comments


3? Are you kidding me. The opening track alone is worth a 5 for the whole album.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2012



7762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The title track is God status



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy