For Today
Fight the Silence


2.5
average

Review

by Matt Harrison CONTRIBUTOR (20 Reviews)
February 3rd, 2014 | 64 replies


Release Date: 02/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Fight the Mediocrity.

For Today have always been a band in need of a preface, and it’s a simple one at that. If you are to enjoy their music, you either have to agree with their aggressively Christian message, or just ignore it entirely because it certainly isn’t easily palatable, nor is it an aspect of the band that sits on the wayside. Indeed, vocalist Mattie Montgomery’s words are arguably more a signature feature of For Today than the metalcore music chugging behind him, and whether you love the band or hate them is largely going to depend on how you receive the band's religious stance more than anything else.

Keeping that in mind, you can approach their music with an objective criticism – for as we all know quite well, their past public words, particularly on the subject of homosexuality, have made discrediting them as a band especially appealing for many, yet it would be the mark of a poor critic to dock their music for their personal beliefs.

Therefore, if I may review Fight The Silence in an approach which leaves out the lyrical aspects of the album, as they are essentially the same as they’ve always been (with an added focus on bringing awareness to human trafficking), and commenting on the effectiveness or quality of them would be unlikely to change anyone's opinion of the band at this point anyway, I can instead comment on the quality of Fight The Silence’s songwriting, and it’s not too great.

Whereas Portraits and Breaker explored interesting and unconventional song formulas (look no further than “Isaiah, The Willing,” “Seraphim,” "White Flag," and "Talmidim” for great examples of this), and maintained easily distinguishable tracks, Immortal, and especially Fight The Silence, are plagued by your generic, repetitive breakdown + bass drop + shredding agendas, with little to no variation from track to track. It’s as if the band had finally found a niche sound, but weren’t conscious of the fact that evolving and experimenting are exactly what musicians need to do if they are to remain relevant and interesting.

Now, of course when a particularly sound, no matter how rigid and monotonous, is what you enjoy playing the most, it’s an admirable thing – writing music that is fun to play will translate to an energetic and inspiring live show, after all – but that degree of repetition isn’t what we as listeners can find exciting on a band’s fifth album, and that’s the biggest problem with Fight The Silence. You have tracks “Molotov,” Fight the Silence,” “Break the Cycle,” “For the Fallen,” “Fatherless,” and “Dead to Rights” doing absolutely nothing better or different than what the band has done on past LPs, other than implementing an overabundance of clean choruses from guitarist Ryan Leitru, which frankly are boring, uninspiring, and somehow more generic than anything else about the band's music. Yet, if there is anything Fight the Silence proudly displays it’s Mattie’s vocals, which based on their clarity and power, are still some of the best in the genre.

While many disciples of For Today will surely enjoy Fight The Silence just as they’ve enjoyed everything else the band has put out, the band’s latest LP is simply a weak release and one that makes the future of For Today look irrelevant, which is a shame because when the band does stretch their creative limbs, they can create some truly enjoyable songs.



Recent reviews by this author
My Brightest Diamond None More Than YouKishi Bashi Lighght
Laurel Halo Chance of RainHe Is Legend I Am Hollywood
Noah Gundersen LedgesSon Lux Lanterns
user ratings (85)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheDarkestNight
February 3rd 2014


174 Comments


Rating's too high.

weedblunt
February 3rd 2014


558 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yeah

someguest
February 3rd 2014


21390 Comments


0/5 for picking a few lines they want to follow out of a two thousand year old book.

Digging: Pet Shop Boys - Please

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah, my review probably reads more like a 2.

DatsNotDaMetulz
February 3rd 2014


1918 Comments


Bleh, I'll look for something else to create a balance when I go get Behemoth's new album then. Otherwise I might step outside and the Archbishop of Canterbury (I live in Canterbury btw) might show up and try to perform an exorcism on me.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2014


10383 Comments


Wonderful work, man.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thank you sir.

SnakeDelilah
February 3rd 2014


9108 Comments


bound 4

Digging: Foxing - The Albatross

titanslayer
February 3rd 2014


2117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I can't listen to this

titanslayer
February 3rd 2014


2117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The only thing I could tolerate was the track featuring matty
I wonder why they even featured him, he added nothing to the track.

Hopelust
February 3rd 2014


1129 Comments


Track listing reads like it was taken straight off the back of a Staind album.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Even though "Pariah" is still well within the standard For Today formula, it does sound pretty sweet through good speakers.

paradox1216
February 4th 2014


521 Comments


Amazing review, you're doing...Satan's work? Maybe?

BillClinton
February 4th 2014


125 Comments


Run on sentences like crazy. Regardless, rating is on point.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think you need to re-read it dude. There's a difference between run-on sentences (sentences with independent clauses
not properly separated by commas) and simply long sentences.

NoSons
February 4th 2014


91 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

First song said it all to me. Cool intro, then everything else just seemed to fade in memorability.

Oh well.

Digging: A Lot Like Birds - No Place

TenSecondsToThink
February 4th 2014


1249 Comments


I enjoy your style of writing but it seems like the review isn't finished.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Can people who neg'd give a reason why so I can improve?

Funeralopolis
February 4th 2014


11893 Comments


This review isn't very good. I feel like this review is too focused on addressing current fans of the bands, if I didn't know anything about this band this review would make little sense.

A lot of the phrasing is awkward, it is like I can hear stuttering and fumbling to come up with something to say and you're having a hard time articulating yourself.

This paragraph in particular is a trainwreck:

"Therefore, if I may review Fight The Silence in an approach which leaves out the lyrical aspects of the album, as they are essentially the same as they’ve always been (with an added focus on bringing awareness to human trafficking), and commenting on the effectiveness or quality of them would be unlikely to change anyone's opinion of the band at this point anyway, I can instead comment on the quality of Fight The Silence’s songwriting, and it’s not too great. "

ever heard of a period, jesus?

This whole paragraph is awful as well:

"Whereas Portraits and Breaker explored interesting and unconventional song formulas (look no further than “Isaiah, The Willing,” “Seraphim,” "White Flag," and "Talmidim” for great examples of this), and maintained easily distinguishable tracks, Immortal, and especially Fight The Silence, are plagued by your generic, repetitive breakdown + bass drop + shredding agendas, with little to no variation from track to track. It’s as if the band had finally found a niche sound, but weren’t conscious of the fact that evolving and experimenting are exactly what musicians need to do if they are to remain relevant and interesting. "

What exactly are the unconventional song formulas? If they found a niche sound then are all the songs the same formula on their last album? What does it even sound like? What is their niche sound?

"and maintained easily distinguishable tracks, Immortal, and especially Fight The Silence, are plagued by your generic, repetitive breakdown + bass drop + shredding agendas, with little to no variation from track to track"

The way this is worded I have no idea if these songs are from this album or their last one. Not to mention immediately after this you mention they have a niche sound even though in the last sentence you called them generic(?)

Digging: Owen Pallett - In Conflict

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2014


1687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for the feedback



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy