Periphery
Clear


3.0
good

Review

by HeavyReviews USER (3 Reviews)
February 1st, 2014 | 18 replies | 880 views


Release Date: 01/28/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's not that the songs are bad. The music sounds very well produced and methodical. But the originallity seen in previous releases is nowhere to be found, and It stayed back there with the 2012 LP.

1 of 5 thought this review was well written

What happens when each member of the band writes their own song? Something great? Not necessarily. Something varied? Absolutely.

Periphery are a "prog driven" band. Althought the term is often seen with distrust by avid metal fans, this band deserves to be trusted. After all, they brought their own version of the style onto the table, and became, in little less than three years, one of the most known bands of the subgenre.

With "clear" the idea was to create a variety album and they almost acomplished that desired goal, because something was off. That something seemed to be the message they transmited to the listeners. It was more or less the same they sent with "periphery II".


The composition by their bass player was by far the best song on this EP: a four minute deathcore inspired song. It has an incredibly tasty breakdown, and it left me gasping for air. I usually despise "breakdowns" for their predictablity, yet here, I found something eerie and wonderful. The polyrthms the song is built on makes unpredictability its surname.

The rest of the music on this EP, as mentioned earlier on, is nothing worth of extraordinary mention: it's decent and enjoyable, for the most part.

With that being said, I eagerly wait for the next full-lenght release and I cross my fingers strongly. Hopefully, it will be something original.


user ratings (291)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
NarlusKing123 (3)
An average release coming from an experienced band...

Daniel Davis (3.5)
Clear ends up sounding more like a mixtape than a proper EP, but Periphery are having as much fun as...

Alex Beebe (2.5)
Like most experiments of its ilk, the Clear EP is too hit-or-miss to be ultimately satisfying to eve...


Comments:Add a Comment 
YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2014



1631 Comments


Only one review a day sir.

Digging: Sallie - Moonlight Detective

MeatSalad
February 1st 2014



14190 Comments


Wow ur reviews r so h34vy xdd

Digging: Love - Forever Changes

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2014



20632 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The composition by their bass player was by far the best song on this EP: a four minute deathcore inspired song.


so much wrong with this sentence

its a cool song but its literally just meshuggah worship

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

climactic
February 1st 2014



18339 Comments


that breakdown in nollys song oh maaaan

CutMan
February 1st 2014



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, uh, I can't take this review seriously with a statement like that.

Digging: Boy Hits Car - All That Led Us Here

intotheshit
February 1st 2014



3639 Comments


Stop using the word "tasty" to describe riffs. You're not Jack Black, and it sounds pathetic even coming from him.

HeavyReviews
February 1st 2014



26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sure, it was a messhugah rip off song. But breakdowns are often associated with core music.
Yes, now I know I shouldn t spam the site with my shit xd

Kalopsia
February 1st 2014



926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

intothepwnd

LordePots
February 1st 2014



6518 Comments


pretty sure thats the cover of kanye's latest album

Digging: B-Ju - Merianplatz

SitarHero
February 2nd 2014



4602 Comments


"You're not Jack Black"

No bro, it's Grohl/Satan.

Check this riff it's fucking tasty!

CutMan
February 2nd 2014



1766 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nothing wrong with describing a riff as tasty.

SitarHero
February 2nd 2014



4602 Comments


Intro riff to Pale Aura IS fucking tasty. Damn.

HeavyReviews
February 2nd 2014



26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

starhero, stop the snobish lingo. That wasn't constructive criticism, in my opinion.

Calc
February 2nd 2014



11984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Stop using the word "tasty" to describe riffs."

honestly anyone who uses the word tasty to describe anything but food should be slapped, and even describing food with the word is kind of dumb sounding.

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

cinaedus
February 2nd 2014



26298 Comments


calc your wife is tasty

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

bach
February 2nd 2014



11955 Comments


Delicious

Digging: Walknut - Graveforests And Their Shadows

Calc
February 2nd 2014



11984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

lol you wouldn't know how to act around a black woman lakes

HeavyReviews
February 2nd 2014



26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tasty criticism




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy