The Gaslight Anthem
The B-Sides


1.5
very poor

Review

by Josh Fountain CONTRIBUTOR (63 Reviews)
January 28th, 2014 | 64 replies | 5,198 views


Release Date: 01/28/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A blatant cash grab and worthless release

When most people put up money to buy a B-sides album, they expect a few things. First and foremost, they expect to hear songs that were left off previous albums. Granted, in the present day, deluxe editions of albums tend to have most of those songs, as record companies are trying to use anything and everything they have to get a person to actually buy a record. The Gaslight Anthem have failed to follow through with that most basic principle of a B-sides album. There is only one original song on B-Sides, that being “She Loves You”, which was previously released on the deluxe edition of “American Slang”. “She Loves You” is a fantastic and heart-wrenching song, showing The Gaslight Anthem at their sincere best. It also happens to be the only song worth hearing on this pointless release. There are five acoustic versions of Gaslight songs, during which Brian Fallon mostly seems either bored or entirely out of his range. The worst offender is “The 59 Sound”, in which Fallon sounds almost like he is just telling someone the lyrics at a bar, not putting much inflection or passion into the song.

The other half of the album is covers. The Pearl Jam cover, “State Of Love And Trust”, is the most confusing, since it is a live recording where Fallon sounds completely burnt out vocally. “Songs For Teenagers” is probably the best cover here, being an acoustic adaptation of the Fake Problems cut. Another thing that pops up pretty consistently is that Gaslight changes the lyrics to the songs they're covering in order to avoid any mention of drugs or sex, which seems unnecessary and curious. Gaslight is known for being earnest and sincere (to a fault in the eyes of many), so to change the honest lyrics of other bands seems cheap. These guys aren’t the Jonas Brothers, most of their fans are adults and can handle the word “drugs” or the phrase “let’s get it on”.

B-sides is one of the more worthless releases in recent memory, as all the songs have either been released previously or are just flat out worse versions of songs by other bands. This was released by SideOneDummy, no doubt to squeeze a little extra money from The Gaslight Anthem, who have since moved on to Mercury Records. Other than “She Loves You”, the entire album can be skipped. Few cash grabs have felt more cheap and insincere, especially when attached to the name of a band known for overbearing sincerity. Avoid this release unless there is a need to own every song ever performed by Gaslight, even half-assed ones.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park The Hunting PartyPowerman 5000 Builders of the Future
Lord Mantis Death MaskChuck Ragan Till Midnight
Perfect Pussy Say Yes to LoveTwin Forks Twin Forks
user ratings (24)
Chart.
2
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



49788 Comments


Damn

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I really like Gaslight, but everything on this is either really bad or previously released

spookynewghostfriend
January 28th 2014



3297 Comments


damn [2]

NightProwler
January 28th 2014



6322 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wow, Josh. Harsh. But a great review, still, so I'll pos!

So saddened to see this review as TGA is pretty much my favorite band. Had planned to buy this.

Say, those live- and acoustic-versions of certain songs, are those the ones off the iTunes-sessions, or...?

Digging: Neil Young - American Stars 'N Bars

Cygnatti
January 28th 2014



21349 Comments


shit band

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

State of Love And Trust is, Prowler

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014



5983 Comments


hmm

NightProwler
January 28th 2014



6322 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ok, thanks. Will have to give this a few spins myself soon enough, hopefully I'll enjoy this more than you did.

Also, they should have added Baba O'Riley on this. Or Blood Bank

theacademy
January 28th 2014



28238 Comments


good review, except you used curious one time too many in the second paragraph... which i found... curious...

pos

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

good catch

Kris.
January 28th 2014



12150 Comments


josh hates this? probably a 4/5

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Pop punk Kris likes? prob a 1.5

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



23798 Comments


congrats on yer promotion

Green Baron
January 28th 2014



18052 Comments


damn i like these guys sad to see this

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Cygnatti
January 28th 2014



21349 Comments


"good review, except you used curious one time too many in the second paragraph... which i found... curious..."

hehe :]

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I never count my chickens before they hatch








because owning chickens is stupid

Kris.
January 28th 2014



12150 Comments


"Pop punk Kris likes? prob a 1.5"

ooof, low blow fountain

Pheromone
January 28th 2014



3403 Comments


Damn though I was kind of hyping this one, I'll probably give it a miss then.

Digging: Mission of Burma - Signals, Calls, and Marches

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2014



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I was excited until I saw the tracklist

BigHans
January 28th 2014



26455 Comments


She Loves YOu rules



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy