Seahaven
Silhouette (Latin Skin)


2.5
average

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
January 28th, 2014 | 26 replies


Release Date: 01/21/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sound of paper plates and plastic cutlery.

Seahaven are an enigma when it comes to the current scene of slightly sadder than normal indie-tinged punk ala Tigers Jaw and Pity Sex. From vocalist Kyle Soto's Jesse Lacey-influenced wail on their debut to his Madonna-while-she-was-fuckng Guy Ritchie fake British drawl on Winter Forever, to his now-I-wish-I-was-in-Belle & Sebastian middle ground on their newest EP Silhouette (Latin Skin), the band has followed suit in style in a never ending game of musical Guess Who. While still heavily indebted to the slower songs on the first two Brand New albums -- just see the double tracked vocals in “Sleep Alone”, which sound pulled right off Your Favorite Weapon -- Seahaven have now added a small bit of sleepy, Oberstian nu-country sheen to their emo-pop misery. The only problem is that it doesn't bring much to the table other than another dimension that doesn't quite come together as it should, which rather aptly sums up Seahaven's career as a whole. All the pieces are there to make something great, but instead of leaping ahead of the pack, they rather aptly play second fiddle to their influences instead. Every one of their records has a good song or two, and Silhouette is no different. In fact, every one of the three tracks found on the EP are fun in their own little way, but upon hearing them you can't help to be reminded that everything that they bring to the table has been done before and done better. The hazy aches and twang of the title track fall flat when compared to Cassino, the sad song sing along of “Sleep Alone” was bested over a decade ago on “Soco Amaretto Lime”, and the straight ahead downer rock of “Phantom Family” was done better by Seahaven themselves on Ghost. Sure, it gets the job done, but there are better albums out there if all you're looking for is a second helping of regurgitated ideas served on a flimsy paper plate.



Recent reviews by this author
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
Owls TwoTaking Back Sunday Happiness Is
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
dimsim3478
January 28th 2014


5093 Comments


yeaaaaaaaaaa these guys have never really been that great. Still, I've seen a surprising amount of Seahaven shirt-wearers in my day...

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

robin
Emeritus
January 28th 2014


4249 Comments


seaheaven - beach house

snowbbird
January 28th 2014


213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually really enjoy the progression they've made on this 7". I used to only find these guys okay, but now I enjoy them more since they've kind of ditched their pop punk leanings. I'll be looking out for the full length.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


3459 Comments


few typos:

Jesse Lacey influenced wail


(obv arguable but I'd say a hyphen might be useful)

Madonna-while-she-was-fuckng Guy Richie


(also it's spelled Ritchie)

never ending


(again arguable but most dictionaries have a hyphen between the two)

While still heavily indebted to the slower songs on the first two Brand New albums, just see the double tracked vocals in “Sleep Alone” which sound pulled right off Your Favorite Weapon, Seahaven have now


(commas here look hella weird)

second half of your review is fucking amazing though so pree sweet job overall

Mort.
January 28th 2014


3683 Comments


yeah good review

Digging: Altar of Plagues - Teethed Glory and Injury

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


17215 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

changed some things. how's it now?

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


16089 Comments


Still terrible you're a horrible person Adam.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


17215 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Look, you have to get over the fact that Josh is mine now. He doesnt love you anymore. He loves me. You're yesterday's news, bro.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


3459 Comments


way better but "fucking" is still misspelled (unless it's intentional)

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2014


15741 Comments


i'm swimming
is it cold?
it's like a dream
i want to dream

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

taxidermist
January 28th 2014


7203 Comments


My gf likes this band. I'm eh about them (from what I've heard).

ShitsofRain
January 29th 2014


5899 Comments


they were so boring live zzz

Digging: Anthony Shakir - Frictionalism 1994-2009

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


17215 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That's because they're all on heroin and are all sorts of strung out. The stories you hear talking to people who have toured with them are pretty depressing.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


3459 Comments


holy crap USERNAME CHANGE UP IN THIS BITCH

Mort.
January 29th 2014


3683 Comments


I prefered redskyformiles

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


17215 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't like Thrice or the album Vheissu much at all anymore. I'm not a fan of being associated with something I think is bad.

XingKing
January 29th 2014


10726 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"That's because they're all on heroin and are all sorts of strung out. The stories you hear talking to people who have toured with them are pretty depressing."

Hm never heard these stories but now I need to hear them.

I liked the first EP they did but I can only assume this is worse than Winter Forever

XingKing
January 29th 2014


10726 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well this was indeed shitty

whatshisname
January 29th 2014


179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Link to any of the stories Athom? From everything I've heard they're pretty cool

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014


17215 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nope. I just hear shit from friends and other musicians.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy