Avenged Sevenfold
Hail to the King


1.5
very poor

Review

by dismember55 USER (4 Reviews)
January 28th, 2014 | 26 replies | 1,256 views


Release Date: 08/27/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A painful reminder of what losing a creative force can do to a band.

8 of 9 thought this review was well written

Avenged Sevenfold is caught in a rut. The album Hail to the King sought to top its predecessor, Nightmare, without any contributions from deceased drummer James Sullivan. By the sound of this album, it is only showing that they are caught in a downward spiral.

With Hail to the King, Avenged Sevenfold attempted to capture a classic rock sound, inspired by the likes of their influences (Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden, Metallica, etc.). In an unfortunate way, they managed to achieve their goal.

The album starts with Shepherd of Fire, and the lead single Hail to the King. Both songs sound promising at first listen, but the flaws almost immediately show. Shepherd of Fire kicks off with a riff that bears quite a resemblance to Metallica's Enter Sandman. The lead single's verse vocals are overwhelmingly similar to that of Enter Sandman's as well. Clearly originality isn't a big part of this album.

Many of the songs on this album rehash older metal songs. This Means War is nearly identical to Sad But True by Metallica. Listening to the two back to back, it is nearly impossible to tell them apart. Heretic sounds similar to Symphony of Destruction by Megadeth, although the former's guitar riff is only a higher pitch of the latter's. And finally, Coming Home starts off as if it were Number of the Beast by Iron Maiden.

Unoriginality aside, there is another major flaw in this album. The album doesn't pick up until the eighth track. The first seven seem to follow a similar slow to mid-tempo beat. The songs sound nearly identical, with the only way to tell them apart being the pauses between songs.

It is only the last two tracks that come close to saving the album: Planets and Acid Rain. The former is the only song that had anything near excitement, and the latter is an exceptional ballad that crushes the monotony of the first ballad, Crimson Day. Besides this, they are the only two tracks that seem not to rip off anything and/or make you want to fall asleep.

Although some herald this as Avenged Sevenfold's "best work," it is safe to say that this album is avoidable, and almost as forgettable as their debut album.


user ratings (604)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
dismember55
January 27th 2014



43 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thanks for reading! Hopefully better than my Reinventing the Steel review if you read it. *shudders*

Ending
January 27th 2014



1861 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Not bad, but I would add quotation marks or something to separate song titles from the text. Just me personally though.

And yeah this album sucks.

dismember55
January 27th 2014



43 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I might as well do that from here on out. But indeed, album is terrible.

Spec
January 27th 2014



26836 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

When Jimmy died so did the band.

TPM731
January 27th 2014



169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great job on the review. Have a pos'.

ConorIsNotHere
January 27th 2014



913 Comments


Have another pos my good sir

Spec
January 27th 2014



26836 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah. Pos.

dismember55
January 27th 2014



43 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thanks guys! I appreciate your poses.

SnakeDelilah
January 27th 2014



3512 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nah, the band died after the self-titled.

Green Baron
January 27th 2014



11156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

self-titled wasn't even that good man

almost easy was ok (rock band 2 man)

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

dismember55
January 27th 2014



43 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Self titled showed some experimentation, just mostly poor execution.

Ending
January 27th 2014



1861 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Only two songs are worth listening to on the self-titled: Afterlife and A Little Piece of Heaven. Afterlife is like a tolerable jam and A Little Piece of Heaven is catchy despite repping some of the worst lyrics I've ever had the pleasure of hearing.

Since I gave this album the same rating I guess I should be able to pick two songs that are worth listening to as well, but really the album is just less bad overall with lower high points.

dmp3131
January 27th 2014



506 Comments


Self titled had a few good songs, and Nightmare did as well. Nothing will beat City of Evil of WtF though, Haven't heard this yet.

dismember55
January 27th 2014



43 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Eyes over easy- eat it! Eat it! Eat it!"
I know what you mean by bad lyrics.

I don't believe there's a true high point in this... The last two songs are decent, but there's no wow-factor.

Judio!
January 27th 2014



3135 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

When Jimmy died so did the band.


Are you implying they were ever alive?

Digging: Brand New - Deja Entendu

titanslayer
January 27th 2014



867 Comments


pos'd I haven't heard this and I don't intend to

titanslayer
January 27th 2014



867 Comments


"with the only way to tell them apart being the pauses isn't between songs."
I don't think you want the "isn't" in there.

dismember55
January 27th 2014



43 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

You're right... Let me do that.

SnakeDelilah
January 27th 2014



3512 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

A Little Piece of Heaven is just a massive failure.

titanslayer
January 27th 2014



867 Comments


it's easy to miss little things like that when you're editing, still a solid review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy