Birds And Buildings
Multipurpose Trap


4.5
superb

Review

by menawati CONTRIBUTOR (91 Reviews)
January 25th, 2014 | 29 replies


Release Date: 09/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An intense fusion of captivating but transient melodies, angular jazzy rhythms and dark eccentricity.

Insanity takes many forms. There's the sort of madness where you hear voices, the type where you believe you are Elvis, or an alien, or those rather more disturbing varieties where people do odd things like getting sexually aroused by well cultivated garden vegetables. I would certainly not propose that the members of Birds and Buildings are nursing any mental health issues in themselves but the music they make could easily be described as possessing unhinged, chaotic and indeed rather insane qualities. Multipurpose Trap is the second offering from this particular project which is driven by ex-Cerebus Effect guitarist Dan Britton. Dan has surrounded himself with some supremely gifted musicians for this deranged journey into prog rock eccentricity and the results are quite simply stunning.

To describe this album as 'busy' or 'dense' would not do justice to the sheer amount of ideas that seem to have been thrown into the mix on this album. The music seldom settles into any recognisable pattern. Lurches in meter, time signature and rhythm are thrown at the listener in such abundance and with such energy that the whole experience is one of unhinged delerium. But there is certainly method to the madness. Just as your senses start to struggle with the amount of musical information being thrown at you a haunting melody will build out of the morass or a solidly grounded 4/4 beat will anchor you in allowing you to re-orientate yourself before it launches off once more into another nightmare tinged breakneck skirmish.
The bedrock for the album could certainly be described as traditional progressive rock but there are large doses of frantic jazz-fusion and menacing zeuhl style passages. I've seen the music described as the mutant offspring of King Crimson, Gentle Giant and Magma and that is about as close as it gets.

You certainly won't be humming this stuff on your way to work in the morning. On first listen the music sounds rather impenetrable with the strong but fleeting melodies and more conventional rhythms occasionally peeping their heads above the clouds to ease your way in. Repeated listens are definitely needed to get a grip on this stuff but it is well worth the effort. Definitely one of the best progressive rock releases of 2013.



Recent reviews by this author
Motorpsycho Trust Usiamthemorning Belighted
Monty Python Monty Python SingsHominido Estirpe Litica
Disconnect Planned ObsolescenceSynaesthesia (UK) Synaesthesia
user ratings (8)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Streamable at :-

http://birdsandbuildings.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

manosg
January 25th 2014


6266 Comments


This seems very interesting. Great review too, pos.

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


7421 Comments


Cool. I need to listen to it. I dug their previous album.

Check out Flat Earth Society, menawati.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

don't know them, what sort of stuff is it ?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


7421 Comments


big band/jazz fusion, quite similar to this at points

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

looks intresting ill check it out

Jethro42
January 25th 2014


12491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm re-listening (after a pretty long while) to their previous album before taking a look at this one. Great review.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks, yes the first one was great but i really think i like this even more its gone from 4 to 5 for me. Slowly gets better more i play it

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


7421 Comments


Yeah. It seems better than the first one.

Also, give a spin to the new Strawberry Girls album. This one made the users' list.

Mad.
January 25th 2014


3981 Comments


I've seen this band somewhere on the web before, but never got round to checking them, with that 5 I definitely will!
Awesome review - short and to the point, Pos'd

I'm taking it this is a massive grower of an album?

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks Mad, yes its a real grower, a bit underwhelming at first

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


19933 Comments


very entertaining read...I laughed during dat first paragraph. Nice job

Also, I know you haven't been as active lately, but I'd encourage you to apply for contributor as well if you're interested. Pretty sure the requirement is just 1 review a month, and not being a jackass on the site obvs

Digging: Coldworld - Melancholie

Mad.
January 25th 2014


3981 Comments


menawati 4 contrib 2k14

Calc
January 25th 2014


12252 Comments


this is pretty cool actually

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


19933 Comments


i dig the album cover

Jethro42
January 25th 2014


12491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm half my way through the album. East is Fort Orthodox is a really enjoyable track.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best stuff is the second half jethro (the last 3 long tracks).

Very kind of you to say that Mad and Atari but I hardly ever do reviews of new stuff so it's not really appropriate for me to apply.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014


19933 Comments


I review more old stuff than new lol. pretty sure that's more of a requirement for staff but i could be wrong

Jethro42
January 25th 2014


12491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The ending of the album (catapult included) is really epic. Do you know Wobbler, another eclectic band that is reminiscent of these guys (just more focused if anything)?
Here's an example (sonic quality is quite poor, sorry);
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwY_O4eN93s

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes i heard of them Jethro, heard an album of theirs that was very good, seemed a lot like Yes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy