Actress
Ghettoville


4.0
excellent

Review

by Olivier De Clercq CONTRIBUTOR (40 Reviews)
January 25th, 2014 | 80 replies | 6,045 views


Release Date: 01/27/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't stop the music.

If the rumours are to be believed, Ghettoville is supposed to be the swan song of Actress. This is unfortunate for electronic enthousiasts around the globe, because Darren Cunningham's alter ego has throughout the years carved his own strange, unique signature deep in the annals of modern-day experimental music. If his debut Hazyville was still characterized by well-recognizable influences, then the follow-ups Splazsh and R.I.P reconfigured techno and house for the future. Ghettoville, on the other hand, is marked as the sequel to his 2008 debut, and, as such, again hosts a myriad of styles under its guise. The whole record acts as a summary of what's brewing in the contemporary UK underground, with a hefty dose of the Berlin-Detroit axis sprinkled in between. The result is that the album is very scatterbrained, with no real logical progression or flow between the tracks. This makes Ghettoville a difficult but engaging listen, as you're constantly on your toes, wondering what will come next.

The only real misstep comes right at the very end: 'Rule' is an unnecessary footwork excursion that's only there to show that Cunningham is still down with what's hot at the moment. Just take the needle off or press pauze right before it starts, and you won't get your Ghettoville experience tainted by it. The fifteen other tracks, however, definitely live up to the high standards Actress has come known for throughout the years. Eery, intimate sketches like 'Our' are followed by abstract, glitchy sound collages such as 'Time', the desolated broken garage beats of 'Street Corp', the sensual R&B of 'Rap' and the hooky one-two punch of 'Skyline' and 'Image'. As always, Cunningham hides his well-constructed and moving melodies behind a thick layer of reverberating fog, but his compositions do seem more upfront this time around. This all makes Ghettoville an oddly accessible, but at the same time uncompromising piece of work.

And you'd be a fool to miss it, because it's frankly already destined to be one of the most diverse and unique albums of the year. By harking back to the elegant simplicity of Hazyville's sound, instead of further developing the sprawling nature of R.I.P, Cunningham has crafted possibly his tightest effort yet, without needlessly reiterating himself. Hopefully the "R.I.P. music 2014" statement will turn out to be spoken prematurely. But if it rings true, Ghettoville will remain a fitting end to one of the most curious, challenging and engaging discographies in electronic music today.



Recent reviews by this author
Voices From The Lake Velo Di MayaAmatorski From Clay To Figures
Ben Frost A U R O R AThe Notwist Close to the Glass
The Men Tomorrow's HitsValentin Stip Sigh
user ratings (84)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
MisterTornado CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Capturing the darkness of human nature...


Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014



6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Officially out Monday, but can already be found in your local record shop.

Rap: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5ERDAI5Iww
Grey Over Blue: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VR4bd3akgAE (not on album)

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

sniper
January 25th 2014



19048 Comments


good review, pos'd. gonna have to check this out, although i haven't heard much of his stuff other than hazyville.

there are some spelling errors here and there.

ShitsofRain
January 25th 2014



5890 Comments


good album

Digging: Anthony Shakir - Frictionalism 1994-2009

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014



31146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

"Deep", not "deeply" in the first paragraph man. Also:

Was his debut Hazyville still characterized by well-recognizable influences, then the follow-ups Splazsh and R.I.P reconfigured techno and house for the future.


You begin this sentence with an unanswered question, though any question would kind of derail the flow of the sentence

And where in 'Rule' are you hearing any footwork man? There's some old ghetto house vocal loops sure, but other than that... that beat is just really plodding



Digging: Banks - Goddess

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't get enough of this album

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014



6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You begin this sentence with an unanswered question, though any question would kind of derail the flow of the sentence

Fair point. This sort of sentence structure works in Dutch (believe me, it does), but I guess in English it's confusing. I edited it, let me know if it's still iffy.

And I stand by my footwork statement. It's not a literal implementation, but I feel there's an influence. It's indeed mostly the sample I'm referring to, but I believe he wouldn't have included it if the genre wasn't so hot, these days.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

footwork is so hot right now

good review man

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014



3449 Comments


ooh, getting a dl of this album so soon and I'm super pumped

ShitsofRain
January 25th 2014



5890 Comments


that 1.0 lol

Typhoner
January 25th 2014



849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

still don't know to much about this guy and I never finished listening to this because then I remember I have to study and it really isn't study music.

Anyway: nice, to the point, review (once again). Pozzled

Digging: Banks - Goddess

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014



6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd say Splazsh is my favorite album of his, but if you're digging Rap, maybe give Hazyville a chance first. That one's more varied as opposed to really house and techno-minded.

Rev
January 25th 2014



9422 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great write up man. I've never been too huge on his past releases but I'm still looking forward to hearing this

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

undeniable: darren cunningham is the coolest lookin' in the electronix game

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014



31146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

http://www.factmag.com/2014/01/22/bubble-butts-and-equations-inside-actresss-career-album-by-album/

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2014



7105 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review man, I agree more w/ you than the avg.

WashboardSuds
January 25th 2014



5005 Comments


Actress and album kick luscious amounts of booty

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

WashboardSuds
January 25th 2014



5005 Comments


pos'd

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014



6108 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

still haven't listened to this it's so long i really don't want to bother but your review tells me i should so i'm caught in a pickle

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2014



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nobody makes better cumulative 3 and 1/2 star albums

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2014



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"RIP music 2014 indeed, your career is over Cunninghack" - aritzb



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy