The Vines
Vision Valley


3.0
good

Review

by USER (11 Reviews)
April 6th, 2006 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


The more Vision Valley is listened to, the more the listener is forced to realize the one word that describes it oh so well: Average. Nothing more, nothing less. The Vines have created a half-hour of pure, distorted mediocrity with a few swear words thrown in for good measure. Paling in comparison to their previous albums, Vision Valley takes everything that was good about The Vines, backs it down a couple of notches, cleans it up with ultra-clear production, and packages it in a tidy black CD case.

With all but one of the songs on it lasting for less than three minutes, Vision Valley needed every single track to be powerful, to be the perfect song. The Vines just weren’t capable of writing thirteen ideal mainstream rock songs, and it shows through on this disc. Nichol’s vocals have become even more Cobain-like, as has everything else about The Vines. The quiet, clean guitar verses that lead into loud, distorted choruses and a bridge here and there all scream Nirvana, so much so that it gets annoying after a few listens.

The only songs that stray away from the Nirvana style are a handful of country ballads. Though one has a guitar going in the background that sounds eerily similar to “Boulevard Of Broken Dreams" by Green Day, the other two bring back the odd, almost ethereal vibe The Vines have had on their slow songs in the past. They also bring a nice change from the songs that you listen to and think, “Are they joking?" Songs like Candy Daze, which sounds like The Vines listened to every Beatles CD and then tried to write a Beatles song, but still had Nirvana in the back of their minds. The song called Futuretarded speaks for itself.

The thing that is most upsetting about this album is that some of the songs on it sound like they have the potential to be great, but end barely before they begin. Gross Out is a prime example of this. Just as you start to get into it, it’s over, and leads right into another painfully undeveloped song. It seems like The Vines are giving up, just putting out albums to make money instead of for the music itself. Almost all of the songs seem forced, as well, like they were in the studio and told they had a day to write an album, and out came Vision Valley.

However, when The Vines get it right, they exceed expectations by far. F*k Yeh is two minutes of pure anger, a rare time when Craig actually sounds upset as he screams out the lyrics. The country ballads are all laid back and well written, a nice change of pace from, say, Candy Daze. Don’t Listen To The Radio is the only time when the quiet-loud method works perfectly on the entire album, and is the best track on Vision Valley.

If this album is evident of anything it’s that The Vines are falling apart. As a whole, this is so far below their other two albums that it shouldn’t even be talked about in the same breath as them. The lack of interesting songs, the fact that it is only half an hour, and that every song seems a little underdeveloped makes Vision Valley worth just a 3. Definitely not bad, but just not as great as Winning Days and Highly Evolved.



Recent reviews by this author
Ted Leo And The Pharmacists Shake The SheetsThe Soundtrack Of Our Lives Origin, Vol. 1
The Black Keys The Big Come UpThe Flaming Sideburns Sky Pilots
The Mooney Suzuki Electric SweatThe Greenhornes East Grand Blues (EP)
user ratings (120)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Two-Headed Boy
April 6th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just go to "Edit Reviews" in the User CP thing. I can't help you.. :thumb:This Message Edited On 04.06.06

thebacks
April 6th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thats bull shit dood. the vines kick ass and this cd kicks ass too. the ramones wrote short songs and still kicked ass. the guy who wrote that review is an idiot. dont listen to him. this cd is great. especially the song spaceship. the vines deserve a better written review than that so...screw that guy.

Two-Headed Boy
April 6th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

way to get banned on your first comment.

thebacks
April 6th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i dont care dood that guys retarded. its an awesome cd.

Two-Headed Boy
April 6th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But you're rating is only 1/5 higher than his. Calling him retarded is really extreme.

thebacks
April 6th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

k fine. hes stupid. there. yuh happy? and im new to the rating thing so...iono. its a ten. or a 100! what did u rate it?

thebacks
April 6th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

there. now its a five. ha!

Two-Headed Boy
April 6th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol you're quite the character.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2006


16089 Comments


Fanboy 1 album commenters ftw

I always kind of liked the Vines, I'll have to pick this up to give it a listen. This Message Edited On 04.06.06

thebacks
April 6th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yea its worth it dood.

thebacks
April 6th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

like if u have itunes u can check some of the songs out on there. only 30 sec but still....or actually just go to the vines site and u can listen to a few songs. oooooky doky. ive spoken my part. farewell.

pattern_recognition
April 6th 2006


950 Comments


I don't like The Vines at all.
Pointless, annoying music. Pointless, annoying band members.
Good review though.

sgrevs
April 7th 2006


698 Comments


I like the vines, but I've only heard one new song, and it didn't strike me as fantastic.

I doubt I'll get this, maybe download it.

Jim
April 8th 2006


5110 Comments


Yeah, I once considered buying their first album, but then they started acting like wankers and it sort of put me off.

I do like some of their songs though. Pop-rock with a bit of mongrel.

Brohedia
April 8th 2006


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its The Vines most unique CD yet. I dont like this review.

Jim
April 8th 2006


5110 Comments


This review doesn't seem to be getting much kudos from the Vines faithful. I thought it wasn't that bad. You did good, Dylan!

/votes

Aeaon
April 8th 2006


188 Comments


I'd be much more interested in their music if it wasn't so awful while it tries to copy other bands such as nirvana and the beatles and if they weren't such assholes. But unfortunately, I'm not.

Two-Headed Boy
April 8th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just got this today.

Though the CD may not be that complex, it is a good listen for chilling out.



Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2006


16089 Comments


This is a good review, dont see why it only got a 60% approval mark. Silly fanboys.
This is probably their best album after the first listen. Not saying much, but meh.

FrankieFiasco
April 10th 2006


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

30mins into this site and already I’m annoyed. The Vines are one of my favorite bands, and I think their latest album is incredible. Personally I think you have over-reviewed it, in fact you’ve over exaggerated it with all the criticism. Maybe you should look beyond comparison to other bands and review the album for how it is. Yes, I do agree that The Vines put this album out for a profit and not the music itself, but that doesn’t change the fact that this is a great album. Vision Valley is a fun album that lives up to their previous, perhaps not there best, although tracks like ‘F*k Yeh’ ‘Don't Listen to the Radio’ and ‘Spaceship' can easily leave a true Vines fan satisfied… sorry but your review was pretty sh*t.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy