Against Me!
Transgender Dysphoria Blues


4.0
excellent

Review

by BigHans USER (108 Reviews)
January 16th, 2014 | 99 replies | 2,669 views


Release Date: 01/21/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sure, lines like “You’ve got no c*nt in your strut” are pretty rad, but all of the ballyhoo around this release doesn’t matter at all if this album sounded like sh*t.

14 of 20 thought this review was well written

For me, jamming punk has never been about a statement. For about 10 years my favorite punk album was Dookie, which is almost exclusively about jerking off in the California Suburbs. I loved that album because it was loaded with 3 minute bombs that jammed hard and its production was tighter than Hawks' weed budget. I’ve always thought that OMG STATEMENT punk was written by suburban white dudes trying really hard to be disenfranchised with suburban life and going for a HOLY SH*T TASTE MY CRED angle anyway. The only thing that matters in punk, and in life for that matter, is whether or not it rocks. Or rawks. Does it jam. Does it snare you. Does it make you want to pound stuff (like beer).

I still feel that way. I’m not qualified to wax poetic about the socio-political ramifications about the new Against Me! record, and even if I was, I don’t care enough about it to do so (I guess you could say if I was aksed how many f*cks are given, the answer would be zero). So Tom is now Laura. That’s fine. What’s important is whether or not the person who wrote “Cliché Guevara” and the all-time classic “Thrash Unreal” can still jam. Sure, lines like “You’ve got no c*nt in your strut” are pretty rad, but all of the ballyhoo around this release doesn’t matter at all if this album sounded like sh*t.

And damn it if I'm not bigtime impressed, because this album goes hard. It’s absolutely bursting with hook-laden, driving, melodic, cohesive, tasty jams. The entire exercise is a 29 minute clinic on what Upping-the-Goddamn-Punx is supposed to sound like. The subject matter is dirty, but the production is clean, and the sonic atmosphere is engaging, almost euphoric. With a few exceptions, this album passes the 6 beer test (meaning it sounds just as good sober as it does after 6 beers, which is a rarity in the genre). The bottom line is if you are hesitant to jam this hard because you don’t want to support the trans cause or you think it’s going to be lame because Tom isn’t a dude anymore or some other retarded reason, then you’re missing out. It’s probably the album Laura has been waiting her whole life to write, and if rocking a skirt is what it took to drag it out of her, then so be it.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hold Steady Teeth DreamsPaw Dragline
Drive-by Truckers English OceansRanger Knights of Darkness
Grim Reaper Rock You To HellMachine Head Machine Fucking Head Live
user ratings (379)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2014



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

only one more to 100 wow congrats dude

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

BigHans
January 16th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wanted to talk about the actual most important part about this album, which is the fact that it sounds awesome.

BigHans
January 16th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah my 100th will actually be a well-written one (I hope).

Kris.
January 16th 2014



12152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

" I was aksed how many f*cks"

should be axed

Kris.
January 16th 2014



12152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ps welcome back hans bro

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2014



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

Yeah dude idk about this review

BigHans
January 16th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude it sucks but my point is made

Kris.
January 16th 2014



12152 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also i need to try this 6 beer test on some shit

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2014



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"So Tom doesn’t want to be a dude anymore. That’s nice."

I don't know man this is kinda ignorant still

BigHans
January 16th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wasnt being sarcastic Treb.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2014



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No but like transgender isn't about not wanting to be...goddamnit I don't want to get into this fuck it this album RAWKS

Jom
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2014



2634 Comments


greenlinkinmuse has officially relinquished his throne of ignorance based on that middle paragraph alone.

(That said, it is nice to see you back around for a bit.)

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 16th 2014



12146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good review just change all the 'tom/laura' to 'laura' nd u will be ok i think (only skimmed tho

Digging: Secret Band - S/T

BigHans
January 16th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Guys, like I say, the only thing that matters is that it rawks.

BigHans
January 16th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not actually trying to be offensive by saying Tom/Laura. I mean Laura was Tom was 32 years and was Tom when writing the two old songs I mentioned.

ShitsofRain
January 16th 2014



5612 Comments


i like your reviews

Digging: Ben Sims - Fabric 73

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 16th 2014



12146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.posturally.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/do-you-adjust-your-own-neck1.jpg

johnnyblaze
January 16th 2014



2596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rawks hard indeed and i'm so happy for it.

BigHans
January 16th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Took out the bit about the estrogen pills because while it was meant to be a compliment, Im sure people will get offended, which isn't the intention of this.

SeaAnemone
January 16th 2014



19763 Comments


"the only thing that matters is that this rawks but here's a few incredibly dumb ignorant statements anyway!!"


on the other hand this does indeed rock (surprisingly?!)

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy