Against Me!
Transgender Dysphoria Blues


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
January 15th, 2014 | 22 replies | 2,756 views


Release Date: 01/21/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hope never dies.

I'm going to try something a little bit different with this. Since John already covered the musical spectrum of Transgender Dysphoria Blues, I'm going to look at the album in a more personal way. It's not that the music itself isn't important, but the weight of this record – in both its emotional heft and storytelling – rests solely on the shoulders of Laura Jane Grace's testimonials in her journey of becoming herself. Yeah, it helps that she's tied it together with the best songs she's written since Searching for a Former Clarity almost a decade ago, but her fears, her self-loathing, and her perseverance is the real power here. But where one might think that such a singular experience would be a dividing wall for empathy, it's not. It's a rallying cry. Every single one of us has at one time or another felt like a stranger was looking back at us when we glanced at the mirror. Every single one of us has felt lost within our own shoes. It's all part of finding who we really are. While the journeys that we embark on are our own, the experience is universal. This is what Laura's lyrics tap into so effortlessly. She offers a biting and visceral testimonial about the power of self discovery, and learning how to be honest with ones self. It's that power in knowing that however much we try to acquiesce to our surrounding environments, whether you're begging for acceptance in high school, opening up your worldviews in college, or struggling to piece together how you became the person that you have become as an adult that there's a peace to be found in doing it on your own terms. We all crave love, we all crave companionship, and we all crave to see a smile projecting at us from across the room – and sometimes we just crave that smile to be our own as we catch but a glimpse of that reflection staring back at us. This is why Transgender Dysphoria Blues is so important. It is built on the very essence of humanity; the desire to be free. It doesn't matter what circumstances you happen to find yourself in, because even in our deepest, darkest depths there is always a ray of hope shining through to lead us home.




Recent reviews by this author
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
user ratings (394)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hope you don't mind that it's not so much a review than an extended thought.

BigHans
January 15th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Adam you are one soul searching son of a bitch. Nice essay. Album rules.

breakingthefragile
January 15th 2014



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool, I didn't know the soundcloud player could be incorporated into the review. This a new feature?

Digging: The Blood of Heroes - The Blood Of Heroes

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For now it's just a staff thing. It got added yesterday I believe.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014



7983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This review has no cunt in its strut

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 15th 2014



12950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

I'm glad you did this, I was kind of sad that I didn't go more in depth. This album is important and kick ass and deserves all the praise it gets
btw can you give me the streaming code? I couldn't get the share button to work on spotify for me

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's 128847927

Kris.
January 15th 2014



12262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this isn't on the front page like every other staff review what gives

Green Baron
January 15th 2014



19406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

neither was John's

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

Mine was/is. It's apparently a conscious decision for layout reasons that this doesn't show up

Green Baron
January 15th 2014



19406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh i thought he meant featured

LilLioness
January 15th 2014



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wait..... There have been plenty boobs in the featured section before. I mean, it really isn't that grisly (especially given that there is a genuine message behind it that isn't insidious in any way).

Green Baron
January 15th 2014



19406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lioness, I'm pretty sure he means that there can't be 2 reviews for the same album in the staff section

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

the design decision is based off Jeremy not wanting the same album to show up twice in the staff review box

LilLioness
January 15th 2014



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, I mean (unless I am mistaken), none of the four reviews of this album showed up in that top four slot, not the staff box.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2014



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

Those are manually placed. This album will be up there closer to the release date

LilLioness
January 15th 2014



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huh. I didn't know that. Then again, I still know practically nothing about how this site is run.

Green Baron
January 15th 2014



19406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reviews only get featured the week the album is released

plane
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2014



6093 Comments


there is always a ray of hope shining through to lead us home.

95% of the time this is delusional, but it helps the soul



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy