Trophy Eyes
Everything Goes Away


4.5
superb

Review

by William Lim USER (23 Reviews)
January 14th, 2014 | 20 replies


Release Date: 11/11/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Trophy Eyes are a five-piece pop punk/hardcore group from Australia who are gonna blow a hole in your face.

You've heard it before: “hardcore crossed with pop punk”. Such Gold, Set Your Goals…y'know, that stuff. But wow, “Warpedcore” has never been this intense, brutal, passionate, or even this good. Everything Goes Away is the debut five-song effort from the Australian five-piece Trophy Eyes who take The Story So Far and combine it with the hardcore edge that bands like Kid Dynamite, Strung Out and Title Fight thrived upon, only with sharp, crystal clear production and aggression turned up to “LIMP BIZKIT MOSHPIT ON FIRE” for maximum cutting effect. It's essentially a more sincere, focused, and fresh version of what Such Gold has been doing for years, though this is actually much more impressive than it sounds. Formed only nine months prior to the release of this EP, Trophy Eyes manage to take the fairly homogenous pop punk/hardcore hybrid and tame it as unquestionably their own. All five tracks and all five members reveal incredible songwriting talents and technical proficiency: the palm-mute riffage; the Elliot Babin never-let-up brand of drumming; the perfectly complementing vocal shifts between frontman John and bassist Jeremy; the way “Bandaid” decompresses into sparse, melodic singalongs between devastating beatdowns; Everything Goes Away is packed with styles, moments, and intricacies that never fail to drop jaws. It's almost impossible that such a young band could have singlehandedly breathed this much life into a genre hybrid that’s really been nothing more than a periodical blip on the radar of punk music, but Trophy Eyes do exactly that and so much more in the space of just under fifteen minutes. To answer the plea raised in the lyrics of “Hourglass”, I sure as hell have faith in these guys.



Recent reviews by this author
The Smith Street Band Throw Me in the RiverThe Wonder Years Suburbia I've Given You All and Now...
The World is a Beautiful Place... Audiotree Live 3.1.2014Troubled Medium WHAT ARE YOU DOING
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureWaxahatchee American Weekend
user ratings (50)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
AugustAir (4.5)
Bleeding potential, Trophy Eyes prove in 5 songs that they could be the next big thing....

lucasjcockcroft (4.5)
Trophy Eyes soak in potential, and show heaps of it here....


Comments:Add a Comment 
dimsim3478
January 14th 2014


5327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://trophyeyes.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Owen - Other People's Songs

Skoj
January 14th 2014


1247 Comments


Came here hoping for new Trophy Scars. Disappointed.



Digging: Deathspell Omega - Paracletus

pedro70512
January 14th 2014


3495 Comments


Woah, slow down. What a paragraph. There are some good descriptions here but maybe divide this into some separate thoughts. I don't usually like rant reviews but this got my attention anyway, so good job.

Digging: Gris - Il Etait une Foret...

joshieboy12345
January 14th 2014


5371 Comments


Not really a fan of the vocals tbh.

Lefondre
January 19th 2014


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best thing to ever come out of newy.

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me in the River

joshieboy12345
February 14th 2014


5371 Comments


Nothing good comes out of Newy lol

fromrows
March 12th 2014


160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This EP murders the competition!!! Cant believe how good these five songs are! A full lenght will probably steal away my life, since all other bands in this genre all of a sudden seem less significant, vital and just flat out worse.

The shit is even free on their bandcamp, so there`s no excuse peeps for not checking this out!

Digging: Hatesphere - Serpent Smiles And Killer Eyes

dimsim3478
April 29th 2014


5327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These guys just signed to Hopeless Records. So stoked to finally see another Aussie band go international.

Lefondre
April 29th 2014


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These dudes just announced they signed with hopeless records. Super stoked for them.

ConorIsNotHere
July 8th 2014


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has seriously grown on me big time

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

dimsim3478
July 9th 2014


5327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yeah, these guys finished recording their new album

ConorIsNotHere
July 9th 2014


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HYPEHYPEHYPEHYPEHYPE

Lefondre
August 12th 2014


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album out November, single released next month.

Much hype. Many anticipation.

ConorIsNotHere
August 12th 2014


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow

Lefondre
August 13th 2014


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Went to a 21st a few weeks ago that they were performing at and they played a new track, sounded very solid. Cant wait to hear what the album sounds like.

dimsim3478
August 16th 2014


5327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i would love to go see this band live but all the other bands they play with (when they come to my city) are shit

Lefondre
August 17th 2014


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You could always just leave after their set? Most of their shows are pretty cheap too..

dimsim3478
August 17th 2014


5327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They're always the support band. If they were headlining and playing for a good 45 minutes, I'd probably come down, but a 15-30 minute set followed by/in between a bunch of shitty bands ain't worth $15-20 and a trip down to the other side of my city.

jacobdaquioag
August 28th 2014


60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Second the hype

24gadjet
September 7th 2014


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

newcastle pride



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy